We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Were we in Goa?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Benaulim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Wife, kid and me just came back from an amazing 4 day trip to Taj Exotica. There is nothing more to a write about this magnificent property than what has been already written here by other fellow reviewers, 54 acres filled with lush greenery, range of resort activities, nice pool and of course the deal sealer the (almost private) beach. Of course the Taj hospitality is in full work at points of interactions, right from checkin to pool to dining, people are always around to help but never intruding in your vacation or time. There are a few beach shacks that have fresh sea food at very reasonable rates, our special shout out to Zumbrai.
We went with our fodors guide and plans to see the city at least for a day or so in the full 4 days, enjoy the sites of Goa but never stepped out of this wonderful resort and the great feeling of doing nothing that it casually rubbed onto us. At times sitting on the hammock we did observe how the surroundings were like our experiences in Cabo or Tahiti or Big Island (and in this case not having to fly that far). So fellow traveller if you want peace, quite and luxury of a do nothing vacation then head over to Taj Exotica, if however you want the crowded beaches and loud music and beach vendors then perhaps you should consider looking elsewhere.
As for us and sights of Goa, perhaps another time, and for this time we will try (yes try) to break away from the enchanting spell of Taj Exotica.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IITK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,301 - 2,307 of 3,201 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Taj Exotica has all the ingredients of an excellent resort: beautiful gardens, good facilities (especially the spa and gym), great staff, pretty good food. Overall, we enjoyed our holiday. Our Garden Room was lovely - we could lounge in peace and quiet by our own little pool all day rather than being bothered by noisy children and smokers by the main pool.
However, there was one flaw from our perspective: all the restaurants have inexplicable supplements on many of the dishes for those guests on a meal plan, which means you are paying twice for many options. Two dishes might be priced at 975 rupees but one would have a 600 rupee supplement, seemingly unrelated to the cost of the ingredients or any extra effort required in the preparation. Many guests stay on a B&B basis so they have the flexibility to dine at the hotel or at one of the many local restaurants that are much cheaper.
The cost of alcohol is also high, even the local Indian wine is way overpriced and is more expensive than cocktails. We expect to pay 5 star prices, but we don't want to be fleeced. As a result the bars are empty and the restaurants are barely half full, so there is little atmosphere. The other reviews suggest that this is not noticed by those travelling with their families. It is, however, less fun for couples. Just a few minor tweaks could make this a really excellent resort for all types of guests, eg: sunset happy hour, weekly cocktail party for guests to mingle.

Room Tip: Try to get a garden room with a pool. Avoid row 6 as it is on the outer edge of the property and ano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walker064_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Lovely resort. Staff were brilliant. Beach was excellent, though its not a private beach, never had any problems with anything or anyone. Beach and water very clean. Good choice of restaurants within the resort but pricey. . . as expected from this kind of resort. Went for long walks on the beach in the evenings with no problems or worries. If using taxis then haggle with them as you have a choice to use taxis based in the resort or use ones waiting outside. There are various activities such as football, tennis, nine hole golf course and gym but we just went there to relax only. Only downside is Goa's various taxes, there is liquor tax, luxury tax, some kind of education tax. E.g. Used wifi for 30 minutes for which the cost was 125 rupees. However when all various taxes are added total was around 169 rupees.

Room Tip: Had a top floor room with garden view near to the swimming pool. This made it easier to get to the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

An awesome place to holiday with family and friends. Great property, private beach, private pool… friendly staff, huge spread of good food. Chef would love to personalize the dishes all you have to do is ask. Loved the game of football with other guests, activities for grown up, family friendly dance floor… Wonderful staff at kids care, kids loved spending time with activities so much that they did not want to explore rest of Goa and even we were out they would look forward to get back to the resort ASAP.

Room Tip: If you can choose rooms with private pool and beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SANIIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here for a week in March and really enjoyed our holiday. We had a top floor garden room which was lovely with fresh fruit daily. The grounds of the hotel are stunning and the gardens were immaculate. The staff are what make this hotel so good..they were always ready to help with anything at all. The breakfast buffet was excellent with lots of choice and we ate in all the restaurants except the Italian and that was only because we ran out of days. The food was excellent in every one. We had the half board and although lots of things incurred a supplement we managed to find things that did not and it was still amazing. The wine is expensive (same as in Dubai) but we stuck to the Indian wine list which was less so and the white was surprisingly good at £32 a bottle. All the drinks are expensive but it's a 5 star hotel so expected I suppose. We thought the hotel was very quiet but it was near the end of the season but once we were the only people in the restaurant and we would have liked to have a drink in the hotel bar as it was very nice but there was never anyone in it so it lacked a bit of atmosphere. We particularly liked sitting at the Lobster Shack as it was such a lovely setting. The pool area was very nice ( a few loose tiles to repair) and the garden area was so relaxing. We sat in the Quiet Area on the grass and had a lovely view of the croquet, archery and cricket!
The only thing I would say is that the pool staff do not come and ask if you want any water or drinks - you have to go to the bar and ask for food and drinks and water. Whether this is because they don't want to disturb guests I'm not sure but I think it would be nice to be offered water. We did not sit on the beach mainly because it was very hot but also there are only 20 beds because of some sort of restriction imposed by the authorities. The beach is fantastic and mostly very clean and we walked every day stopping at a beach shack for a drink and sometimes some lunch (fraction of the hotel prices!) but it was always nice to step back into the Taj. Special thanks to Lobster Shack staff Ashley, Mason, Sukhveer and Sonali. Cleto on Reception and Krishna and Niranjan at Eugenia. We had a lovely relaxing holiday here with our daughter and would love to return one day.

Room Tip: We chose a top floor room as it is sometimes quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

we had gone for a family wedding and it was great. the staff was very helpful and the food was excellent The hospitality of the hotel staff was remarkable. the rooms are well lit and spacious. the pool is a great delight to be in it and enjoy. the spa wasvery nice and great place to relax your body with its ambience....loved it

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anugoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel,we previously stayed in 2004.
The hotel and gardens still looked great but on closer inspection things needed to be done.
There were loose tiles as you entered the swimming pool which could be dangerous ,particularly for children. Our room was on the ground floor and had a nice view over the gardens to the sea,however the room itself was in need of an update. The bathroom was awful we had problems with the shower and the bathroom was very old fashioned. You had to be careful in the shower as the floor got very slippy.
The breakfasts were great with lots of choice of Indian or European food,the service on the other hand could be erratic.
We had dinner on a couple of occasions at the hotel which were just ok and very expensive.
In the evening there was no entertainment and even the bar was shut one night we walked by.
For a 5 star hotel this was very disappointing indeed.
On our next visit to Goa we will try the Leela Hotel

Room Tip: choose a room close to the main part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ayr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benaulim
6.1 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,325 reviews
18.4 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
15.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Taj Holiday Village Resort & Spa
5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
2.4 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa

Address: Benaulim 403 716, India (Formerly Taj Exotica Goa)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Salcette > Benaulim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Benaulim
#1 Spa Hotel in Benaulim
#1 Romantic Hotel in Benaulim
Price Range: $336 - $1,321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the south coast of Goa on the Benaulim beach, a mere 27 km from the airport, this 56 acre 140 room resort has a 700 meter beach frontage and a lovely view of the sea. With 3 specialty restaurants, a beach front seasonal seafood shack, a 24 hour all day diner, 2 bars, 2 spas and a seasonal outdoor spa pavilion, this resort is a popular haunt for the international as well as domestic travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Exotica Goa Benaulim
Taj Exotica Goa Hotel Benaulim
Taj Exotica Hotel Goa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa Benaulim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing