We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep going back for more...”
Review of Taj Exotica Goa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Exotica Goa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Benaulim
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
112 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Keep going back for more...”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My 6th visit? Maybe more? Would go back again in a heartbeat. Though the villa rooms may require an upgrade, the service and food is top notch. And the 'campus' is beautiful, the beach clean (though no beach umbrellas or sun beds due to some idiotic local government ruling. Hope it's been repealed) and the staff very friendly and accommodating. Excellent breakfast too.

And my 3 yr old loves the pool. Reason enough to keep going back.

Been there so often, everyone knows our name. Literally.

Room Tip: Try and get a villa in the 3 or 4 series as those are closest to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,311
    497
    90
    35
    23
See reviews for
1,229
974
76
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hyderabad, india
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed with my wife and daughter for 4 days in this property - totally awesome. The staff and the hotel are sensational and the food is delicious. The sunset villa is highly recommended and we had an absolutely amazing time unwinding in this property. Don't miss out a dinner at Lobster Shack! The beach is well maintained and the weather gods were kind on us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prapaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The stay was amazing and the hospitality great. Definitely recommend a private pool villa for the stay. The rooms are very dated.Taj is the best in hospitality.The staff are very attentive,helpful,willing and keen to know that everything Wah ! Taj

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calculator123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have just returned home today after an excellent two week stay at the Taj Exotica.The hotel is not new and the rooms could do with redecorating but our deluxe sea view accomodation was spacious,comfortable and ideally situated.The staff are very attentive,helpful,willing and keen to know that everything is to one's satisfaction.The food is delicious - the buffet dinner we attended on our second night had every aspect of Indian cuisine you could have wished for with sufficient choice to eat for hours.We had to restrain ourselves to avoid completely overindulging.We ate in three restaurants and the quality was excellent and it was impossible to pick one as superior to the others interms of quality,service etc.You don't come to the Taj for lavish entertainment and a high night life;with around 120 rooms with up to 250 guests ,apart from breakfast and the area around the pool and surrounding quiet spot,you scarcely saw any of the other guests which we thought was brilliant.This is a perfect hotel for doing absolutely nothing if that is your choice however you can play a little golf,swim,bike ride or walk around the 50+ acres of garden but to be honest we couldn't be bothered.Chill out was our theme for the two weeks and that is exactly what we did and we enjoyed every minute.The 5 star restaurants have 5 star prices and to see how the other half lives you must eat at the beach shacks which we did on several occasions.The food was delicious and a meal for two with beers cost similar to a single main course in the hotel.Overall we had an excellent two weeks and are considering a similar visit next year.One major downside however was Thomas Cook with whom we booked the holiday.Our outgoing flight was 25 hours late and 5 hours late returning home today.As yet no offers on the table for our missed day at the Taj...... Other people we met came with Thomsons and suffered minimal problems - a thought for our next visit perhaps? We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to completely relax during their stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are well situated but we enjoyed our deluxe sea view where you could watch the sun set fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THORPER121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

My husband, daughter and I went for a 5 day at the taj exotica during the week of 15th October with an intention of having a relaxed holiday. The stay was amazing and the hospitality great. Definitely recommend a private pool villa for the stay. Taj still retains the upper hand when it comes to hospitality

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesikadalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I just returned from 5 days at the Taj Exotica ....had a very very good time. I will start with the negative...Far away from anything, The rooms are very dated. The curtain/sheers,furniture, and bathroom are tired lost in grandeur of years gone by. You can see paint over paint over paint in areas. The paintings on wall were stained and the frames were chipped. The linens on bed were "pilling",. Couch upholstery was also old and out dated. In the very lovely and large lobby - the couches were a tad dirty and again dated...Taking down the curtains and old cornice in rooms would have made an amazing difference...There is no beach sitting, no palm tress on beach etc..The golf course is a very small par 3 and can be played in an hour - but fun nevertheless. Reminds me of a 3 start Mexican all inclusive resort. The pool area was good. The lawn by the sea is okay to sit but, cannot really see water due to hedge and fence. The LeaLea may be a better bet as, the rooms have been redone, you can sit on beach with palm trees.

The positive is the service was top notch, the food was excellent in ALL restaurants, buffet breakfast was excellent, the grounds were well maintained, the spa was very nice, the employees and management team was top notch and attentive as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindasm1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Got to stay a few nights at the Taj Exotica property south of the airport late November, 2012. Hotel is gorgeous with big pool, golf course, restaurants and ocean beach property. Had lobster at the Lobster Shack one night overlooking the ocean. Cooked over the fire to perfection with melted garlic butter I was in heaven. Weather was in low 80's ( 31-33 C ) with a lot of humidity. Makes for soft skin and easy relaxation. Quiet night life. If you want more active and not so tranquil, I hear the northern Goan beach properties would be for you. Tropical paradise, warm, lovely, friendly people.

Room Tip: If you want romantic and very quiet, here's your place. Looked like any room would deliver.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drtike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benaulim
6.1 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,216 reviews
20.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
18.4 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 2 in Bambolim
2,178 reviews
21.5 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 64 in Candolim
242 reviews
18.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Exotica Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Exotica Goa

Property: Taj Exotica Goa
Address: Benaulim 403 716, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Salcette > Benaulim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Benaulim
#1 Romantic Hotel in Benaulim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Exotica Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the south coast of Goa on the Benaulim beach, a mere 27 km from the airport, this 56 acre 140 room resort has a 700 meter beach frontage and a lovely view of the sea. With 3 specialty restaurants, a beach front seasonal seafood shack, a 24 hour all day diner, 2 bars, 2 spas and a seasonal outdoor spa pavilion, this resort is a popular haunt for the international as well as domestic travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Exotica Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Exotica Goa Benaulim
Taj Exotica Goa Hotel Benaulim
Taj Exotica Hotel Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing