We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Benaulim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have just returned home today after an excellent two week stay at the Taj Exotica.The hotel is not new and the rooms could do with redecorating but our deluxe sea view accomodation was spacious,comfortable and ideally situated.The staff are very attentive,helpful,willing and keen to know that everything is to one's satisfaction.The food is delicious - the buffet dinner we attended on our second night had every aspect of Indian cuisine you could have wished for with sufficient choice to eat for hours.We had to restrain ourselves to avoid completely overindulging.We ate in three restaurants and the quality was excellent and it was impossible to pick one as superior to the others interms of quality,service etc.You don't come to the Taj for lavish entertainment and a high night life;with around 120 rooms with up to 250 guests ,apart from breakfast and the area around the pool and surrounding quiet spot,you scarcely saw any of the other guests which we thought was brilliant.This is a perfect hotel for doing absolutely nothing if that is your choice however you can play a little golf,swim,bike ride or walk around the 50+ acres of garden but to be honest we couldn't be bothered.Chill out was our theme for the two weeks and that is exactly what we did and we enjoyed every minute.The 5 star restaurants have 5 star prices and to see how the other half lives you must eat at the beach shacks which we did on several occasions.The food was delicious and a meal for two with beers cost similar to a single main course in the hotel.Overall we had an excellent two weeks and are considering a similar visit next year.One major downside however was Thomas Cook with whom we booked the holiday.Our outgoing flight was 25 hours late and 5 hours late returning home today.As yet no offers on the table for our missed day at the Taj...... Other people we met came with Thomsons and suffered minimal problems - a thought for our next visit perhaps? We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to completely relax during their stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are well situated but we enjoyed our deluxe sea view where you could watch the sun set fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THORPER121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,359 - 2,365 of 3,178 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

My husband, daughter and I went for a 5 day at the taj exotica during the week of 15th October with an intention of having a relaxed holiday. The stay was amazing and the hospitality great. Definitely recommend a private pool villa for the stay. Taj still retains the upper hand when it comes to hospitality

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesikadalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I just returned from 5 days at the Taj Exotica ....had a very very good time. I will start with the negative...Far away from anything, The rooms are very dated. The curtain/sheers,furniture, and bathroom are tired lost in grandeur of years gone by. You can see paint over paint over paint in areas. The paintings on wall were stained and the frames were chipped. The linens on bed were "pilling",. Couch upholstery was also old and out dated. In the very lovely and large lobby - the couches were a tad dirty and again dated...Taking down the curtains and old cornice in rooms would have made an amazing difference...There is no beach sitting, no palm tress on beach etc..The golf course is a very small par 3 and can be played in an hour - but fun nevertheless. Reminds me of a 3 start Mexican all inclusive resort. The pool area was good. The lawn by the sea is okay to sit but, cannot really see water due to hedge and fence. The LeaLea may be a better bet as, the rooms have been redone, you can sit on beach with palm trees.

The positive is the service was top notch, the food was excellent in ALL restaurants, buffet breakfast was excellent, the grounds were well maintained, the spa was very nice, the employees and management team was top notch and attentive as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindasm1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Got to stay a few nights at the Taj Exotica property south of the airport late November, 2012. Hotel is gorgeous with big pool, golf course, restaurants and ocean beach property. Had lobster at the Lobster Shack one night overlooking the ocean. Cooked over the fire to perfection with melted garlic butter I was in heaven. Weather was in low 80's ( 31-33 C ) with a lot of humidity. Makes for soft skin and easy relaxation. Quiet night life. If you want more active and not so tranquil, I hear the northern Goan beach properties would be for you. Tropical paradise, warm, lovely, friendly people.

Room Tip: If you want romantic and very quiet, here's your place. Looked like any room would deliver.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drtike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had three nights at this hotel in November 2012, and very much enjoyed our stay! The check-in experience was superb, they made you feel like king and queen. We had our choice of delicious welcoming drink, and I was presented with a rose. We were introduced to contact person who could help us with everything during our stay. Our buggy ride to the hotel room showed us just how beautifully manicured the massive hotel grounds were. There was sheer beauty everywhere you set your eyes. Our room was massive, with a huge balcony overlooking the property and two shuttered windows that opened to let in more light and view of the tropical gardens. Every day, there was fresh fruit provided. The bathroom was gorgeously tiled, with lovely soaps. The water pressure was amazing. The staffs went out of their way to please, and the laundry came back beautifully wrapped. The beach was clean, but because there were no chairs directly on the beach we spent most of our time by the pool. There are a lot of Indian crows in residence, but we also spotted some lovely smaller birds as well. The buffet breakfast provided a large selection of Western and Indian foods. We had a fantastic chicken kathi kebab roll poolside. The restaurants were not overcrowded at night. We tried the Allegra (Goa) restaurant. The staffs were very friendly, and we were provided with dessert free of charge because I did not care for the Pork Vindaloo, but the atmosphere was fantastic. We enjoyed our tandoori fish and grilled prawns the next night at the Lobster Shack. The oriental food at the Li Bai was not completely authentic, but again, the atmosphere was wonderful. All in all, we were sorry to leave the Taj so soon, and would definitely return on our next stay. Upon leaving, there was another rose and a chocolate bon bon.........

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eramakri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

From the entry at security all the way through check in we were made to feel unbelievably welcome. I have never received service like this will excellent attention to detail throughout.

Great staff, lovely lobby and beach side restaurant. Plenty of little activities to do and trips outside. Excellent throughout.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Although this hotel recieved a lot amazing reviews, I was a bit concerned about the comments about the dated/ tired nature of the rooms, from less enthusiastic reviewers. However I am happy to say that the Taj Exotica totally exceeded our expectations in every way. We stayed for 4 nights in November 2012.The hotel was fully booked and I was only able to reserve a King Garden Villa room, an although I recieved a reasonable rate on the ' extended stay with breakfast deal' on their own website. The welcome and check in was fabulous and made an excellent impression, with cold drinks and towels and 2 singers which made us giggle. Our first glimpse of the beautiful grounds was in the club car that took us from reception to our room, via some perfectly kept lawns, ponds, trees and paths. There was no branch out of place! We had a little tour and saw the golf course and pool and the direct entrance to the beach. The room was a great size, which was traditionally furnished with a very comfortable king size bed. The bathroom had a large bath and separate shower. We needed a cot for the baby and this was delivered but was rather old. ( Had it replaced the following day with no problem) All of The staff were so friendly, considerate and genuinely wanted to make our stay as wonderful as possible. We were travelling with our 3 month old baby and we had prompt help with our bottle sterilising requests, extra drinking water to make his formula with and one of the housekeepers, Subin, arranged a stroller for us when we mentioned we wanted to go out for a walk with the baby. The breakfast was fantastic and they kindly let us take a goody bag back to our rooms, when the baby was unhappy and we had to get back pronto! The waiting staff at the restaurants were also amazing professional but managed to deliver a personal touch with friendly banter and a very 'can do' attitude. For example, we wanted dessert from the Miguel Arcanjo restaurant one evening, although we were dining in their Alegria restaurant. But at theTaj Exotica, no problem! It's done ( and they gave it on the house, bless!). All the restaurants served top notch food, ( we were expecting at least one to be disappointing) but the setting of the Lobster Shack on the beach front was very special.
The facial I had at the Jiva spa was excellent but I enjoyed my ayurvedic treatment even more as they Ayurveda centre is set apart in the grounds, a beautiful serene place for meditation and calm. Must try it out!
It was a very special vacation for us, and I would wholeheartedly recommend this place, I honestly am confused by the negative reviews.
We were so impressed with the whole resort, we just cant wait to go back again and we were missing it as soon as we left.

Room Tip: Garden view villas are spacious and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hotbid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benaulim
6.1 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,315 reviews
18.4 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
15.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Taj Holiday Village Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
21.5 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 67 in Candolim
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa

Address: Benaulim 403 716, India (Formerly Taj Exotica Goa)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Salcette > Benaulim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Benaulim
#1 Romantic Hotel in Benaulim
#1 Spa Hotel in Benaulim
Price Range: $295 - $1,157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the south coast of Goa on the Benaulim beach, a mere 27 km from the airport, this 56 acre 140 room resort has a 700 meter beach frontage and a lovely view of the sea. With 3 specialty restaurants, a beach front seasonal seafood shack, a 24 hour all day diner, 2 bars, 2 spas and a seasonal outdoor spa pavilion, this resort is a popular haunt for the international as well as domestic travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Exotica Goa Benaulim
Taj Exotica Goa Hotel Benaulim
Taj Exotica Hotel Goa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa Benaulim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing