We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as we feared”
Review of Karma Royal Palms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Karma Royal Palms
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Benaulim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Having read reviews of Royal Palms on TA and elsewhere, we were wondering what on earth we were letting ourselves in for. To our relief, it was OK. Definitely no more than 3-star, but clean and well maintained, with staff who were helpful and efficient when needed and a pleasant pool area. There do seem to be different standards of apartment at Royal Palms. We had one painted blue (which most of them are) and it was fine, if a bit basic in furnishings and equipment. However, the ones painted red looked to be less well maintained, while a few painted green were downright shabby. Benaulim beach is a pleasant 15-20 minute stroll away, through the village and between fields, and there are several decent places to eat right on their doorstep. All in all - not great, but perfectly OK if you're going to be out and about, using it mainly as a place to rest your head or cool off.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ptk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

698 - 704 of 760 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2010

The holiday started by us travelling to goa by road. We reached the resort late by 7.30pm by which all the good apartments were given out . We had no choice but to take second floor apartments inspite of requests put in for lower floors since we had our parents staying with us who r senor citizens. The service is ok but the furniture in the room is all old and broken. We had to clean the fans, repair the ACs and rethread the window blinds to get to open them. rest all was ok only all the floor dinner plates in the room were of different sizes. They forgot to change the linen on the third day as promised saying that they don t do that for people on promotion. Promotuion is ok as long as u dont buy it because their base is around about 2,10,000/-. add to that 8000 maintenance. which works out to be around be totalof rs 30,000/-(interst of 210000+8000) in which amount uu can stay in any of medium quality resorts like royal palms. Royal Karma groups claim to have resorts of 5 star quality but let me assure u after having visited their properties that they r not. They themselves should visit a 5 star to understand the quality and ambience and compare themselves. Entertainment was good, pool is clean.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skylight873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2009

I stayed at the Royal Goa Beach Club proprty called 'Royal Palms' which is situated in Benaulim, near the famous Colva beach in Goa. I had been there with my spouse and another couple (our friends) who were on their honeymoon after wedding. I booked for the accommodation directly from the hotel website.

The hotel is not far from the nearest railway station of Margoa. We had asked the travel desk at the hotel to send us a cab for pick up and we found the driver at the railway station looking for us with a placard of my name in his hand.

A beautiful, exotic resort located at walking distance from the Colva beach which offers many water sports and activities. The hotel provides for bicycles to ride to the beach. We stayed in a 2 bed room apartment which had a very nice furnished kitchen with all utensils. The hotel had a nice grocery shop where we bought food as we stayed there for a week, although the hotel food rates were not very exorbitant as usual. The hotel also had quite a nice swimming pool and an activity centre where every evening they arrange for different programs.One day they got traditional goan dancers and another they bought the very famous snake catcher ‘Alvares’ who got many varieties of live snakes to demonstrate. We also enjoyed the ayurvedic massage at the Hotel spa which was quite rejuvenating.

A nice place by the sea to get a taste of Goa.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank kunjanjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

hey guys..

well,after reading the reviews here,we r kinda apprehensive about the place..but we had a wonderful time at royal palms..good facilities..amazing food at the rest..nice bar..staff were friendly..
and the best part was that the Beach is at a walkable distance..
Rooms were good..But frankly,we spend most of our time visiting different places in Goa..n thats what U guys need to do!..come on!..u cannot spend ur entire time stuck up in the Hotel when IN GOA!::)...loads of good restaurants near by too..

OVERALL a wonderful EXP!:)

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aditya_p_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

My husband and I stayed here in December of 2007 and we still have nightmares of the horrible customer service and the way we were treated. The sales people from the resort were constantly trying to sell us timeshares and the moment they found out we were not interested, they got rude, and insulting with us. They started saying things like "you white people must not have the money to spend on a facility like ours" and they also made a comment about us perhaps not making enough money to afford vacations. A very cunning man named Mati did most of the smooth talking which later turned to outright insults. I cannot believe places like this exist. We will never stay in a timeshare property again, even if it were free. I hope the Royal Resorts people learn their lesson and go out of business soon.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeenAroundTheWorld88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2009

Stayed at the Royal Palms in October on a promotion programme.They did not charge much and the stay was good for the very low price that we paid. We were a group of 8 and had booked two 1 bedroom villas. The lving room and the bedrooms were a little on the smaller side. The kitchen had all the basic vessels including all the cutlery and tea /coffee maker.

They had a nice swimming pool which the kids thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel is about a kilometer away from the beach. Good restaurants close to the hotel.

It was not a luxurious 4 star stay but for the price paid I feel I can say that it was a good 3 star stay.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank nattyjazz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

We went to this resort on a promotional offer which was offered to us for USD 200 / week, For us the deal was simple, it was a dirt cheap accomodation in south goa and we expected nothing much than a clean room and a average room service... and well it did exceed our expectations... it has a good pool and a decent pool side bar.... for families with children they organize a lot of games which most of the people staying there miss on but i would recommend you to be a part of it it is fun.... After 3 day stay at Palm Beach we were shifted to Hathi Mahal which is a members only property of Royal Goan Beach club... and the place is fantastic... I must say a very good room... great pool... very well equipped kitchen and the interiors of the rooms are also very great... only thing that you might get disappointed is the Resturant... but when you are in Goa you will want to go out and enjoy the local flavours rather than restricting yourself to a resort ....

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jiten_Parrikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benaulim
1 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
0.9 mi away
Joecons Beach Resort
Joecons Beach Resort
#3 of 15 in Benaulim
619 reviews
5.9 mi away
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Grace Resort
La Grace Resort
#4 of 15 in Benaulim
186 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
411 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#1 of 5 in Betalbatim
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Royal Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Royal Palms

Address: Vasvado, Benaulim 403716, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Salcette > Benaulim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Benaulim
#2 Spa Hotel in Benaulim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Benaulim
Price Range: $78 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karma Royal Palms 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Karma Royal Palms is a beautiful time share resort with a selection of studios, one and two bedroom apartments. Landscaped with lovely gardens that also feature the palm trees that give the resort its name, this resort is just a ten minute walk to Benaulim beach. The Karma Royal Palms offers you the whole range of holiday amenities to help you have that complete vacation that you deserve. The 24 hour reception, gymnasium and children's activity programme all contribute to making your holiday as comfortable as possible while giving you the opportunity to discover the joys of Goan culture. Margao city the commercial hub of South Goa is just a 10 minute drive away if you like bustling markets and a spot of bargaining. You can also liven up your holiday with water sports, excursions and trips all organized by the travel desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Karma Royal Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Goan Beach Club At Royal Palms Hotel Benaulim
Royal Goan Beach Hotel
Royal Goan Beach Resort
Royal Goan Beach Benaulim
Karma Royal Palms Goa/Benaulim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing