We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very average cafe”
Review of German Bakery

German Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Benaulim
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Kardamili, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very average cafe”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The food at this place is nothing to write home about.
Full of ex pats. Who looked as they were waiting for opening time

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 192coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    74
    20
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Breads, Cakes and Staff”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

German Baker is the go-to place for breakfast, coffee, tea-time, snacks, midnight munchies, or just about anytime when you want to sit peacefully with a good cup of Italian coffee or tea with cakes and watch the world go by.

Located right on the corner of main and central street in Benaulim village, this is the cafe that has been my staple source of good bread and cakes when I am staying at Costa's. Just four tables next the sidewalk, this I think is perhaps the busiest cafe in a 10sq/km radius.

Cake slices are huge, and the breads are all consistently good. The prices are very reasonable. The staff can whip up a sandwich for you in minutes, and are always more than happy to customise your sandwich just the way you like it. Though I do find that the portions are too big to eat at one time, I usually have them wrap the remaining so I can take it to the room for eating later.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronniejacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great place for bread and cakes”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I love india but not the bread -- too sweet for me -- this place was our saviour. My husband loved the cakes that they made there -- just a small place but well worth a visit

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank eledanorthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We love just dropping in and getting cakes, pies and peanut cookies.
The bread is also very good. we have not stopped to have coffee but the people sat around appeared to be enjoying the food and coffee.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ishiarusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“For Coffee and Cake!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This bakery is just a small shop with couple of tables outside. Tables are meant to be shared with other tourists so there are many opportunities to strike interesting conversations. Apple and Banana Cakes are quite tasty. Great place for Afternoon tea / coffee.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aviln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed German Bakery also viewed

Margao, South Goa District
Panjim, North Goa District
 
Benaulim, Salcette
 

Been to German Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing