We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“satisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Joecons Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Benaulim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

we stayed at joecons for 2N/3days.the stay was quiet peaceful and relaxing.the rooms were quiet good along with good service, thus my experience was quiet pleasant.employess are well mannered......the manager of the garden cafe was very much interactive.the hotel was clean...the pool area was well maintained. lots of mosquitoes though in the garden cafe.

Room Tip: deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anindya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joecons, General Manager at Joecons Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking out your valuable time and write a review. we are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. we thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcome you back for your next holidays with us.
best regards
Som Parkash Malik
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 656 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

Well, based on the TripAdvisor ratings and reviews, we had booked this hotel. When we reached to Joecons, I thought I had made a correct choice by looking at grand entrance.
Probably many people must have commented/ complimented on the infrastructure and facilities this Hotel has and I would not waste time reiterating same thing.
We encountered many disappointing situations as below-
1. Our Welcome to the hotel was so cold, it did not feel welcoming at all
2. When we asked about extending our stay by 5 hours, the staff said it would cost half a day charge. OK, acceptable when rooms are full. However, month of August in Goa was not particularly crowd puller and Joecon was nothing but empty place at that time. Further more, we paid what had been asked for and in return no service had been given to us. Room was not cleaned for the extended stay. Even we had to asked for complimentary water bottles which are included in the rent. Sharp at 5 PM staff called us to check out (Logically we could have stayed in the hotel till late night with half the rent). Such calls were received twice making us even more annoyed.
3. Restaurant- It took them precisely 40 minutes to provide us pot tea and bread butter. Surprisingly after we placed the order while sitting in restaurant, two different waiters came (expect the one to whom we placed the order) and asked whether we would like to order something. When we informed the restaurant manager about the issue, he apologized saying such thing will never happen again. Such thing happened again anyway during our dinner on the same day. This time a fruit salad took almost 35 mins.
4. Since any transportation means is not available near by Hotel, we opt to take a bike on rent from hotel itself instead of local bike renting shops. We had taken Bajaj Avenger on rent for Rs. 500 per day which was more than twice the market rate. Even after paying such price, the bike was in very a bad condition. I think the bike was never washed in ages (very dirty and various stains everywhere).
5. Lastly, at time of check out, we asked Hotel to arrange a cab to drop us near Margaon station which was 8 KM from hotel. The hotel quoted Rs. 800 for the cab. When we asked the staff saying is there any alternate option available, she said "yes, you can walk up to bus stop (which is nearly 20 mins walk and considering luggage 20 mins more), wait for the correct bus and can go". We paid Rs. 800.

I had been to Phuket 2 months back and had excellent stay at Pacific club resort (recommended by Tripadvisor). Probably my exceptions were high because of earlier experience and hence I was disappointed heavily. The issue is never about money but about the service and attitude. I would have paid happily even more had the service been up to the mark.
I would prefer less facilities but good service over poor service providing hotel.

Only for the infrastructure of the Joecons, two points from my end.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anand D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joecons, General Manager at Joecons Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time and put your feedback on trip advisor. We regret to not that our services were not up to your expectation. we have made note of your feedback about delays in service in Restaurant and your transportation requests were not handled in satisfactory level. the concerned HOD are notified of your concern and I will personally ensure that the service lapses pointed out by you are addressed immediately As this is not the true Joecons hospitality which has been experienced by you. i sincerely apologize on behalf of my team for the lapses in service. The areas pointed by you requires training and let me assure you the necessary steps has been taken and staff are being trained and will be fully equipped to handle such situation. I hope you will give us an opportunity in future to display the true spirit of Joecons.
Best regards
Som Parkash Malik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed in Joecons for 4N/5D. Excellent hotel in calm and beautiful location. Beach is just 10 mins walk away. Excellent food quality, should try specially goan sweet. Well mannered employees, enjoyed the hospitality and you will feel the real meaning of "Athiti Devo Bhava". Pool area was nice and well maintained.

On the whole "GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY"

Will plan to visit again with friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepakk240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joecons, General Manager at Joecons Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your valuable time and writing a review on trip advisor. we sincerely thank you for patronizing us and we are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us. we would look forward to welcome you back to Joecons for your next vacations in Goa.
best regards
Som Parkash Malik
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed in the Joecons Beach resort for a few days. The restaurant is simply great. As the time was in July 2013, it was rain only and the beach restaurant was closed. Rooms are nice but at night insects are there everywhere in the verandah due to its proximity to paddy fields. But they are not inside the rooms. Breakfast and lunch/ dinner are nice. A lovely small swimming pool is there for the enthusiastic swimmers. But the name and the location don't tally at all. On the lighter side the name jungle resort would have been more appropriate due to the nice greenery in the resort.

Room Tip: Go for the suits. Its not on the beach. You have to walk around 1 km to reach the beach and the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chukafa007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joecons, General Manager at Joecons Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking out your valuable time and writing a review on trip advisor. we are delighted to note that you had a good stay. the greenery in our resort is indeed a unique feature and we are trying our best to maintain the same. we once again thank you for patronizing Joecons. we look forward to welcome you back to Joecons Beach resort for your next vacation in Goa!!
best regards
Som Parkash Malik
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went to Joecons as part of our company trip. I must say they took care of each and everything they can while we stayed that.

- Food was awesome, I literally cried. Kudos to Chef and his team.
- Rooms - great, spacious, with all necessary amenities.
- Swimming pool - Awesome, the bar near pool was great. They have two huge swimming pools.
- Enjoyed DJ on last night, well planned.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tapanahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joecons, General Manager at Joecons Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us.it was indeed a pleasure to welcome your group to Joecons. Chef & his team are really encouraged with your kind words of appreciation for them. We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to welcome you back to Joecons.
Regards
Som Parkash Malik
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We went to Goa 2nd time in last 6 months and considering the excellent experience we had in earlier trip (we were in North Goa that time), the expectation this time were again high for South Goa tour and moreover we had our demanding daughter and son :) who does not compromise on mediocre things. We booked Joecons Resort after going thru their website and reading some reviews. Our first impression talking to them on phone was great when Maria from front office responded to all our queries and additional requirements favorably and courteously (demands related to kids like pool side room etc.). We were offered some proactive offseason discount and it was a great price for 4N/5D stay.

The front office team was very prompt in confirming the itinerary/bookings and they followed up very professionally for our timely and safe arrival. Maria’s customer service orientation was commendable. After arrival at resort, the explanation of facilities and rules were very professional and we moved in our room within 10 minutes of arrival. The resort location is outstanding and family friendly, very quiet and green. The property is spread across a large area with plenty of trees, plants and gardens inside that are well maintained. Even in peak summer season they were kept absolute green. The swimming pool was one of the best we have seen in recent time (appropriate for all age swimmers and water lovers) and the happiest things which happened due to this pool was that our Son (5 yrs) who was always scared of deep water, came out of his fear and became a water baby in this trip :-). The room was spacious with a very well maintained and large bathroom. Large cupboards, electronic safe, small fridge, large LCD screen TV, all possible electronic/electric items were present in the room (generally you don’t expect all such facility in one packet that too at such price).

We heard that their restaurant is very popular and even nearby 7 star and 5 star hotels/resorts customers also come there to eat and to be frank it lived to its expectations with us as well. Reasonably priced food, very humble staff, prompt table service, variety menu and delicious food were some of the notable points. The mix English Indian breakfast served in morning was awesome and we enjoyed it a lot with our kids in nice ambience of their dining hall. Rahul from Restaurant staff was our constant food server and he did an excellent job.

They have an in-house spa which is still being developed and ready with partial services. We took one spa session there and it was very relaxing and convenient.

There was a DJ show alongwith live singing on Saturday evening which helped in setting up a very romantic mood. The resort is 5 minutes’ walk from Benaulim beach and this particular stretch of beach is generally isolated where Taj Exotica also have their private shacks etc. It was convenient to go and come back on time with kids due to closeness of the beach and we thoroughly enjoyed it as if it is our private beach. The resort staff arranged for our daily ride two-wheeler as well as for a car during one day sightseeing to Old Goa, Panjim and Ponda. We roamed all the way upto Palolem beach on that scooter and thoroughly enjoyed it.

In the front office Saru and Site manager Sougata were always available to help us and to attend our queries/requests pateintly. During our 5 days stay we never felt that we are in commercially run resort and it felt more like a private facility with individual attention given to each guest and group. Truly amazing experience and great value for money. We have promised them to come back again there and looking fwd for our next vacation time alongwith kids. We thank entire staff of Joecons resort for making our family vacation memorable filled with so many happy memories. Three cheers to them for a great job (we all know that maintaining such large property and responding to each need of demanding guests like us is not easy) :). We wish them lots of success and happy time ahead.

Happy and satisfied guests :)
Yogesh, Alka, Aditi and Ayush

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yoshilka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joecons, General Manager at Joecons Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

I sincerely thank you for taking out time and putting your feedback on Trip advisor. I am overwhelmed to know that you had a wonderful holiday with us. Your this feedback will definitely encourage our staff to do even better . I will personally acknowledge and compliment Maria, Sougata, Saru & Rahul for taking good care of you. Thank you for patronizing us and look forward to welcome you back to Joecons for your next holidays in Goa.

Best regards
Som P Malik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Ok, so being a beach bum and liking the beach shack experience you get in Agonda or Patnem is south Goa, we decided to go a bit further north to see what it was like. Carefully considered the implication of changing from a very natural environment to a resort style hotel but thought we would give it a go. Things we found wrong;
* room keys - told can't have more than 1 - insisted upon it and wasted 10 minutes on this
* no hot water to shower - offered a bucket by reception
*airconditioning not working - maintenance man called in. He said handset needed new batteries so he went away and came back 15 mins later. That didn't fix it so he went away again and set it on a fixed temperature that we could not control.. all this whilst I was trying to get changed so had to keep hiding in the bathroom whilst he was there and nothing moves quickly in India
* shuttle bus to the beach never arrived - walked the 15 mins there and waited for return shuttle to arrive - it never did so paid for a taxi as it was late and can't easily walk with bad hip!
* service in bar restaurant - ignored by staff although there were about 10 men looking at videos on computer screen
* reception - staff cannot understand English very well AT ALL!
* wi-fi - no area where can get free wi-fi
* music in bar in the evening - so loud can't have a conversation
* Russians - I will talk to anyone but they won't talk to you - just ignore you but make a lot of noise and drink alcohol from breakfast to dinner (great you might think but they are rude to you!)
The location of the resort is poor - you are forced to walk or taxi to beach if no shuttle bus and even when you get there it has no character just a long strip of beach with no variation and a few carefully beach shacks that are linked to the hotels and are full of not very nice noisy Russians.

We put our grievances to the manager Mr Som Malik and after 1 night decided to check out. As we had paid for 3 nights, we wanted to get our money back for the other 2 nights. We had to spend about 3 hours the following morning being bounced between the assistant manager and Mr Malik general manager who begged us to give them another chance to upgrade us and put things right. I pointed out that the hotel needs to invest in the training of its staff firstly, and needs to urgently address the other issues it can control like hot water, air conditioning andwhere the driver was for the shuttle bus! He was very fair with us but it took up so much time and wasted energy and we wished we had never bothered to try the place out. We paid another £10 and headed back to Agonda where we had a truly wonderful last 2 nights - well worth the 1 hour car journey.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank likesblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joecons, General Manager at Joecons Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
We Thank you for taking out time and posting a review on Trip advisor, We are really sorry for the unpleasant experiences you have faced and can assure you this is not typical of our resort. we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our guests and realize have fallen short of the same on this occasion. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority.
we also look forward to welcoming you at our resorts for your next vacation and eager to create a positive experience for you.

Best regards
Som P Malik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benaulim
0.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
2.5 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
3.4 mi away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
6.2 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,378 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Grove Cottages
Palm Grove Cottages
#7 of 15 in Benaulim
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joecons Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joecons Beach Resort

Address: 1795 Calwaddo, Benaulim 403716, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Salcette > Benaulim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Benaulim
#3 Spa Hotel in Benaulim
#3 Romantic Hotel in Benaulim
Price Range: $71 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Joecons Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to beach - situated near the beach in Benaulim, this resort is close to Benaulim Beach, Varca Beach and Colva Beach. Nearby attractions also include Fatorda Stadium and Cavelossim Beach. Complimentary breakfast - Joecons Beach Resort offers a complimentary breakfast and reception to guests. The resort also features a restaurant and a swim-up bar. Balconies with views - guestrooms open to balconies with garden or pool views and feature beds with memory foam mattresses. Other amenities include LCD televisions with premium cable channels and washers/dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Joecons Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joecons Beach Hotel Benaulim
Joecons Beach Resort Goa/Benaulim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing