We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWFUL!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castellos Tourist Nest
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Benaulim
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“AWFUL!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Absolutely awful manager, he tried to cheat us out of the room we booked. He has a temper and no people skills whatsoever. VERY disappointing. Rooms are small, dingey and dirty and the toilets are shared with the whole resort and are dirty. Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Megan E A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    0
    0
    12
See reviews for
2
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

After booking two seaside rooms the owner tried to move us to the most dreadful room in the town. He wanted four of us to share one room (after we booked 2) with 2 mattresses on the floor that had come from outside. We refused and said we wanted to stay where we had booked. He took us back and again tried to make us share one room with 2 mattresses on the floor one of which he said we had top take off the beach every night and put it back every morning! After speaking to guests currently there we found out it had happened to them too. We insisted on the rooms we had booked, and he screamed at us and locked us out of the room. Most awful person and horrible, horrible experience. DO NOT STAY HERE!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank meggieMoo_222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Benaulim hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Basic beach huts right on the beach. Spotlessly clean with Mosquito nets, washing lines, plenty of water and a table and chair for inside or out.
Despite only paying 400 Rupees for the room, we even got a free pick up from the train station at 8pm saving us 200 rupees.
The staff were very friendly and the restaurant right outside the huts does good food.
We liked it so much we went decided to return for Christmas.

Room Tip: If you book through hostel world you actually book a room at the guest house in town. However, emai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madogsandenglishmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We booked this place through Hostel World,it had actually had a really terrible review (which has now been removed,too much swearing in it)but out of desperation and possibly morbid curiousity we booked it. Idiots!
We turned up at the beach shacks instead of the guest house,the owner met us and tried to palm us off with one of his tin shacks for the same price as a room.He was rude,abrupt and really unhelpful,we were having a really stressful day and he was no help at all.
We decided against the huts and made our own way up to the hotel.
From the outside it looked like we had arrived at the house in the Texas chainsaw massacre. The rooms were bearly clean,dingy and depressing. I have never complained in a hotel/restaurant etc in my life but I just had to say something to the owner about his complete lack of help and his rudeness. He went nuts at us!!Screaming and shouting,he lost it. He is the most unpleasant man we have come across in India. He ended up telling us to get lost and stormed off. Don't stay here!
By the way,if you are reading this Mr Castillo or "Tanya from london",you should be a little more subtle when writing your own reviews on trip advisor.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AmesNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2010

The write up for this hostel/guesthouse was extensive and promised much ... and it could have potential, with a lick of paint and a bit of a clean ... he could be on to something!! However ... Castello clearly is not enjoying his work within the tourist industry ... and indeed does not appear to like having guests at all!! We were treated to a succession of rants about his past and present guests and the "dirty" money that is presently in Goa and now heads to Gokarna. He questioned why people stay just for Xmas and New Year? ... however Benaulim would seem to be a long stay destination ... if you get it right ofcourse!!
We did not expect a high standard room ... but service with a genuine smile,kind heart and lack of resentment goes a long way regards positive word of mouth!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wanderingwillerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benaulim
0.8 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
2,959 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Amour Beach Resort
L'Amour Beach Resort
#12 of 14 in Benaulim
58 reviews
0.9 mi away
Joecons Beach Resort
Joecons Beach Resort
#3 of 14 in Benaulim
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Dona Sa Maria
Dona Sa Maria
#6 of 10 in Cavelossim
209 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Failaka
Hotel Failaka
#7 of 14 in Benaulim
83 reviews
1.4 mi away
William's Beach Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castellos Tourist Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castellos Tourist Nest

Property: Castellos Tourist Nest
Address: Benauiim Magir Vaddo, Benaulim 403716, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Salcette > Benaulim
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Benaulim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Castellos Tourist Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castellos Tourist Nest Goa/Benaulim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing