We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Purple Valley Yoga Retreat
Nearby Hotels
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$99
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Spazio Leisure Resort(Anjuna)(Great Value!)
$31
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$58
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santana Beach Resort(Candolim)(Great Value!)
$52
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$97
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$122
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$221
$215
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveler rating
20
9
4
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
9
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjohn scottlaundry serviceashtangashalapetriteacherayurvedicmapusapillowsaccommodationtaxisindiaprivacybeaches
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 34 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2010

2 weeks at Purple Valley is a great way to combine best ashtanga yoga teachers, wonderful location, (the place has a beautiful decoration that make us feel relax and alive at the same time, clean and with an unique style) super delicious meals! and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank yogamigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

I spent nearly three weeks in Goa and the majority of the time I spent at Purple Valley doing a Yoga retreat there. I had never been to India before so spent a lot of time researching where I wanted to stay. I was looking for a fun, relaxed, healing place with good people and at Purple Valley I found it. The retreat offers various Yoga courses with world renowned teachers. The staff there are some of the most pleasant people I had come to know on my trip. Helpful, understanding, and overall just great people to get to know. You don't really feel like they're there to be of service (which isn't a bad thing) but to make you feel at home and part of the Purple Valley family. The rooms there were very clean. If you want all the modern amenities of TV, fridge, coffee pot, hairdryer in a room then you may want to stay at a much pricier resort... just don't expect the same great experience you'd have at Purple Valley. The food there was great! I'm not Vegetarian but would gladly change my diet if I could get food cooked for me like this at home. Not once did I get sick from it, not once did I hear of another person getting sick from it. They even offered cooking courses, Veg and Raw food from two great chefs. Whether it be the candlelit morning yoga class in the beautiful Shala, the healing treatments at the Ayurvedic hut, the fresh juices by the pool, or movie night on a projector after a superb supper, I'm sure Purple Valley will leave you wanting to stay for more.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ItISbetterinGoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

Purple Valley has it all: Great international teachers, great location away from the madding crowd, lovely staff and terrific food. There is a pool and privacy, or lovely people to socialise with. Although it is not near the beaches (the nearest is 10 minutes away) this is good because the beaches are rather mad. There are also parties nearby for those who want, and lots of backwaters and markets to explore. I found it a brilliant cross between Westernised India and the full Hindi experience. Best of all, the yoga is truly excellent: they are able to provide for all levels from complete beginners, who are never made to feel over-challenged, to experienced Ashtangis. The days start with class in the divine shala followed by breakfast, then its up to you how you fill the day until afternoon class or dinner. There are massages on site, and a camp counsellor for those who need someone to talk to. All in all, I strongly recommend Purple Valley for an all-round holiday with excellent yoga. Its serious, but they don't take it too seriously.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AnnieG45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2010

We did a one-week yoga retreat here as part of our family holiday in India.

pros:
- great yoga studio and yoga classes from famous teachers
- lovely setting - lush green garden (but need to get a taxi if you want to go to the beach)

cons:
- food looked good on the face of it, but most of the guests (including my sister) ended up with severe stomach problems
- rooms have character but are very cramped and don’t have much furniture which does make it quite inconvenient
- poor hygiene standards generally, and staff are badly trained re hygiene
- grimy bathrooms
- Ayurvedic Hut was a rip-off - expensive treatments but not great service

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Inspiring-journeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews