We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as crowded as Calungute or dirty as Baga beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vagator Beach

Vagator Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Private Tour: Fort Aguada, Reis Magos, Calangute Beach, Anjuna Beach, and...
Ranked #2 of 44 things to do in Bardez
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A clean, quiet beach with good value restaurants and close to a flea market selling local souvenirs.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not as crowded as Calungute or dirty as Baga beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

This beach is just right for my taste. Perfect for sitting on the rocks/sand and enjoying the breezy sunset

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ImmortalHoneyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    439
    122
    22
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good scenic beauty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

one should visit this beach. second bes in north goa from scenic point of view. Not that much crowded

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank menti17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The beach is quite clean and the water is shallow for a nice distance...you can really enjoy a nice long time here...there are life guards around round the clock and thus its quite safe..the crowd is good..but it can become a bit rushy in the evening... But on the whole nice beach

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vineeth2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Better than other North Goa Beaches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Vagator Beach is somewhat better choice unlike other dirty and crowdy beaches of North Goa.
I have visited Goa in month of February which is high season time Nov-Feb. Beaches full of people, lots of activities such as water sports are offered during this time.

Of course Goa nightlife is the lifeline of season, Other North Beaches offers life size fun till late night - parties, music, food & drinks. but unlike this vagator is rather quiet place with less crowd with a nice view.

Beach is surrounded by green palm tree arrays and other side is surrounded by remains of Chapora fort atop hill. Hill gives access to amazing view of Chapora river and little vagator (another beach) at other side which is real treat to eyes.

Water is cleaner than other North Goa beach, A little swimming wouldn't hurt.

If you are expecting crystal blue water with quiet fresh breeze with no crowd then Goa is not the place for you.
but if you enjoy some of chaotic fun (which is good to have in a while), nightlife, dance, music and drinks - You have come to the right place!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rajesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ozran - Cool place to hang out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I visited this wonderful, pleasant and less crowded beach next to Anjuna Beach first time in Jan. 2011 after recommendations in Chapora. I arrived here after a quite long and hot walk from Chapora. Afterwards I have been here several times and latest in Feb. 2013 mostly due to its beautiful and secluded setting, the relaxing and peaceful atmosphere and the friendly and hospitable locals and travellers.

The beach is surrounded by hills, rocks, boulders and swaying coconut palm trees. When you arrive on the Hill top, there is a scenic view overlooking the beach and a lot of quite steep but well maintained stairs leading down to the beach which is known for its famous rock carving of Lord Shiva.

I did not stay or had any lodging in Ozran, but used to arrive late in the morning to enjoy the first dive followed by a few cups of coffee or tea in one of the attractive shacks. Late afternoon, I left again.

During my first visits, I always stayed in a shack called Kumars Restaurant as they served tasty lassis and played some very striking and relaxing eastern music.

When I was here last time, I arrived by walking along the beach from the northern to the southern part. The beach was totally empty, but suddenly a person appeared in the distance who walked towards me. When I came to realize that it was one of the shack owners who just wanted to say good morning with an invitation to his place, I appreciated his warm welcome. Hereafter I stayed most of the time in his Shiva shack and had a lot of funny and interesting conversations with many of the international guests mainly European backpackers especially from Italy. It is not for nothing that the beach is also called The Spaghetti Beach.

In the middle of the day around lunch time when we got hungry, it was a nice experience to be served some Italian delicacies made by experienced people in a clay oven just next to the shack. But it was also interesting to listen to their different and professional ideas and knowledge about how e.g. a real pizza has to be prepared.

In spite of an increasing number of charter tourists from Russia, most of the travelllers were still backpackers. Sometimes there were many people on the beach, but never too many like in Calangute, Baga or Candolim. Most of the time this small beach was calm.

It was a fabulous place to spend some quality time of the day and to enjoy a nice and comfortable shack time with the cooling and refreshing breeze from the Arabian sea just outside the shadow of the shack, the relaxing atmosphere on the lounges, the music and the reasonable priced food and drinks.

Sooner or later, I will be back again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kokomo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vagator Beach also viewed

 

Been to Vagator Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing