We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vagator Beach

Vagator Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Private Tour: Fort Aguada, Reis Magos, Calangute Beach, Anjuna Beach, and...
Ranked #2 of 44 things to do in Bardez
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A clean, quiet beach with good value restaurants and close to a flea market selling local souvenirs.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
98 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“beautiful beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

beautiful it is,you have to climb down a small hillock/rock through a fleet of stairs to vagator beach,onlooking the chhapora fort ,with a few protruding rocks to sit back and relax,this is the beach that can be visited with family,friends,gf,wife ,children,,,a beach for all ages ,i must say

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank happyaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    439
    122
    22
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Level Contributor
189 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“fantastic sunset views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

full courting couples or honeymooners being photographed in front of the sunset despite that it's still worth going for the sunset

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bettystaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Goa - Beautiful Beaches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

It will be a brief writeup. Some key points:

1. If you are travelling from Mumbai to Goa -- Choose NH 4 over NH 17, if you prefer safety. NH 17 passes through Ghats.

2. When you approach Goa from Mumbai, no need to go upto Belgam. There is a cut at a place called Nipani. Do not miss it. You will save 30 km.

3. Try to reach Nipani during day. After Nipani, SH begins and then route upto Amboli passes through Ghats. Better to go during day. Also in this stretch, very few milestones/ route signs are there, so day time is better.


4. At Goa, best beaches are: Vagator, Bagha and Anjuna. Vagataor in particular is really good. Most guided tours go to Calangute which is also good but crowded. Sequirem beach is also nice.Tour operators deliberately leave Vagator / Anjuna as it is far away. But insist on going to these two beaches.

5. We stayed at Ginger Hotel. Value for money. Book early.

6. I took my car. Journey took 10 hrs. Now I enjoy driving, but 10 hrs does become exhausting. Next time I would go by train and take a two-wheeler/ car at Goa. I think it is a better option.

7. Those fond of Casino: Our experience at Casino Royale was quite reasonable. Now they do not allow kids inside Casino. Kids have a TV zone, but they get bored there. Further one feels bad, if kids are getting bored. In our case this was one reason that we decided to leave early. So Plan accordingly.

8. No dearth of decent restaurants. I prefer north Indian food. Moti Mahal, Sher E Panjab, Kamat (for light snacks/ south Indian) were good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Adiagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very good place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Sunset at Vagator Beach is beautiful. You can sit at shacks and enjoy the view.

Shacks at Vagator Beach is one of the best that we have seen in Goa.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Aditya2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
98 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 565 helpful votes
“Vagator Beach, the best beach in North Goa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Vagator Beach is the best beach in North Goa if you are looking for a tranquil and serene beach. Less people travel to this beach as this located a bit away from the popular beach destinations in north Goa. The best option to visit this beach is hiring a vehicle for a day and take the car to this location and spend some quality time there. You won't find anyone disturbing you, there are no hawkers. I would suggest you to visit the Chapora Fort which gives a aerial and panoramic view of the beach and then go down to the beach from there. Coconut trees by the beach make it more attractive and you get lovely view all around. This beach is not for those who are looking for happenings because it is serene. The tourist traffic is predominantly western backpackers but it is also popular with Indian tourists, who particularly come to watch the sunset from the rocks and those who come to visit the famous Chapora fort. Chapora fort has become famous to Indians after the shooting of "Dil Chahta Hai", "Masti" etc. movies.

We hired a vehicle to visit the north beach circuit and we stopped here for more than 3 hours, we didn't know when the time passed by. We came down to the beach and it was a superb experience being there and witness the mind blowing view of the sea there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank Abhijit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vagator Beach also viewed

 

Been to Vagator Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing