We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Budget Hotel”
Review of Don Joao Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Don Joao Resort
Ranked #45 of 66 Anjuna B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Stayed here for 2 weeks with my daughter and we both agreed this is a very good value budget hotel. The rooms are spacious and cleaned regularly and staff are helpful. Our flight was early and we arrived before 6.30 am and our room was not ready but the room boys hurried to clean our room, while we relaxed on the balcony watching the sun rise. The beds do have firm mattresses but as we both prefer this it was a plus for us. The pool area was clean & relaxing and although the pool was rather shaded the cool water was lovely after the heat of the sun. The rooms could do with a lick of paint as they were scruffy and the bathroom door had seen better days, the room fridge was a bit grotty and my daughter gave it a clean out herself ! But hey ho, this is a cheap and cheerful place to stay and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonJanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starnge, Owner at Don Joao Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2011

Hello,
I have been searching all over for a long time, how to write to Tripadvisor. It is very complicated to just write an email to you.
Your email comes with set fields.
So i am forced to write here to you, where it is not the proper format.

Don Joao Resort wishes to deregister and discontinue with Trip advisor with immediate effect.
Kindly remove Don Joao Resort from your listing of Hotels/accomodation and sever our relationship/affiliation with Trip advisor.
This is our decision and it has nothing to do with negative customer reviews.
Thanks and regards

Reiner Luz de Souza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Don Joao Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 65 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2011

My wife and stopped here over the Christmas period and New Year. The apartment was large and cleaned on a daily basis. The grounds and mature and cleaned of leaves etc daily. The staff were all very helpful and good humored. The only small faults was that whilst the Christmas Day and New Years Eve buffet was excellent the price was a little higher than expected. But the food kept coming. The other small fault was that the pool was "freezing" All in all we enjoyed our two weeks plus here and would certainly return and would recommend it as a clean, comfortable budget B & B.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dezzagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

used this hotel as a base hotel while staying in Goa for 2 weeks. Very basic hotel and the beds were hard! Rooms had large living area with a kitchen and fridge. Breakfast was just toast and jam, juice, tea/coffee. changed up money a few times and twice got 100 rupees taken more then was meant to, probably our own fault for not counting it as soon as the money was changed up, but still wasn't very nice. anjuna beach is about a good 20min walk away, taxi drivers are on the side of the hotel always wanting business which is good. hotel also has a swimming pool but is quite cold as its not in the sun and in the shade.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We a group of 8 friends stayed in Goa from 3rd Nov to 7th Nov 2010 in Don Joao Resort Anjuna.Its very near from Beach about 1km jus walkable distance.

We booked 2 rooms for Rs1000 / room with Ac , TV,Fridge awesome.
Its has good swimming pool rooms are good and super value for our money.

All staffs are good and helping.Its located in main street of Anjuna near by tshirts shops,Hotels,Liquor shops,general stores and taxi,bikes rental available.


Definitely we will go there again and recommend for our friends too and also who read this review.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SelvakumarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

very good resort with excellent rooms...it also has a swimming pool and a pool side restaurent..very near to anjuna beach..

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dheerajpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Stayed here in April 2010. Rooms are cleaned daily, very spacious (kitchen, bathroom, bedroom, balcony and living room), hot water and A/C. Bus stop outside the door to take you to the beach or the cities. You can walk to Anjuna Beach. Food Ok and nice pool. Internet across the road. Lots of good shops nearby. Friendly staff. Its no frills, but good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SATCSydneyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We stayed at Don Joao in Anjuna for 2 weeks at the end of March. It's a great little hotel although the setup is more like apartments than a traditional hotel. The room space is massive with a large bedroom, front room with seating area and fridge (stocked with beers), wet room with shower and a nice balcony overlooking the coconut trees.

There was also a separate room which seemed like it was for doing laundry, but this we barely used this. As most accommodation in India it was fairly basic but it was clean, and to be honest, you don't spend that much time there.

The only downside was due to the heat we had to have the fan on all night, which was quite noisy. There were quite a few powercuts during our stay but as long as you've got a torch it's fine. Also, we only had 2 clothes hangers in the wardrobe, so most of our clothes stayed in our suitcases for 2 weeks.

The pool is great, lovely and shaded by a mango tree and palm trees so even when it's the hottest part of the day you can cool down. Nice food in the bar and friendly staff.

There is also a taxi point just next to the hotel which is great for going to the night markets.

Anjuna is a great town, not too big or too small with plenty of places to eat. The beach was a 15 minute walk away through some side roads and tracks, but easy on foot, although you were quite hot when you got there. From going to the other resorts such as Calangute, Baga and Candolim, i would definately say Anjuna is the nicest place as it's got some great places to eat (German Bakery) and has the Wednesday flea market, but doesn't have the feel of the Spanish costas which some of the other places seemed.

Overall i'd recommend Don Joao. Sitting on our balcony in the early evening sharing a Kingfisher watching the palm squirrels playing in the coconut trees was perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Applebanana23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
0.1 mi away
Villa Anjuna
Villa Anjuna
#5 of 16 in Anjuna
136 reviews
3.9 mi away
White Pearl Guest House
White Pearl Guest House
#33 of 44 in Morjim
9 reviews
3.2 mi away
Majhi Hotel
Majhi Hotel
#17 of 54 in Morjim
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Resort Maximum Holiday Inn, Anjuna
5.7 mi away
PerAvel Beach Holiday Home
PerAvel Beach Holiday Home
#61 of 87 in Candolim
59 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coco Resort Morjim
Coco Resort Morjim
#24 of 44 in Morjim
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Joao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Joao Resort

Address: Sorranto, Anjuna, Bardez 403025, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Anjuna
Price Range: $14 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Don Joao Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Don Joao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Joao Hotel Anjuna
Don Joao Resort Anjuna, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing