We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Super value for Money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Joao Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Don Joao Resort
Ranked #37 of 63 Anjuna B&B and Inns
Tirupur, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Super Super value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

We a group of 8 friends stayed in Goa from 3rd Nov to 7th Nov 2010 in Don Joao Resort Anjuna.Its very near from Beach about 1km jus walkable distance.

We booked 2 rooms for Rs1000 / room with Ac , TV,Fridge awesome.
Its has good swimming pool rooms are good and super value for our money.

All staffs are good and helping.Its located in main street of Anjuna near by tshirts shops,Hotels,Liquor shops,general stores and taxi,bikes rental available.


Definitely we will go there again and recommend for our friends too and also who read this review.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SelvakumarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    28
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
6
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hyd
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2010

very good resort with excellent rooms...it also has a swimming pool and a pool side restaurent..very near to anjuna beach..

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dheerajpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

Stayed here in April 2010. Rooms are cleaned daily, very spacious (kitchen, bathroom, bedroom, balcony and living room), hot water and A/C. Bus stop outside the door to take you to the beach or the cities. You can walk to Anjuna Beach. Food Ok and nice pool. Internet across the road. Lots of good shops nearby. Friendly staff. Its no frills, but good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SATCSydneyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

We stayed at Don Joao in Anjuna for 2 weeks at the end of March. It's a great little hotel although the setup is more like apartments than a traditional hotel. The room space is massive with a large bedroom, front room with seating area and fridge (stocked with beers), wet room with shower and a nice balcony overlooking the coconut trees.

There was also a separate room which seemed like it was for doing laundry, but this we barely used this. As most accommodation in India it was fairly basic but it was clean, and to be honest, you don't spend that much time there.

The only downside was due to the heat we had to have the fan on all night, which was quite noisy. There were quite a few powercuts during our stay but as long as you've got a torch it's fine. Also, we only had 2 clothes hangers in the wardrobe, so most of our clothes stayed in our suitcases for 2 weeks.

The pool is great, lovely and shaded by a mango tree and palm trees so even when it's the hottest part of the day you can cool down. Nice food in the bar and friendly staff.

There is also a taxi point just next to the hotel which is great for going to the night markets.

Anjuna is a great town, not too big or too small with plenty of places to eat. The beach was a 15 minute walk away through some side roads and tracks, but easy on foot, although you were quite hot when you got there. From going to the other resorts such as Calangute, Baga and Candolim, i would definately say Anjuna is the nicest place as it's got some great places to eat (German Bakery) and has the Wednesday flea market, but doesn't have the feel of the Spanish costas which some of the other places seemed.

Overall i'd recommend Don Joao. Sitting on our balcony in the early evening sharing a Kingfisher watching the palm squirrels playing in the coconut trees was perfect!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Applebanana23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

Stayed for a month if Feb, really enjoyed my stay here. Location in Anjuna was good for us, although we hired a scooter it was walking distance to the beach aprox (10 -15 mins). Rooms were good size we had a lounge with sofa two chairs kitchen area (unfurnished) bedroom with sky TV 2 single beds pushed together. Sheets were replaced daily and a cleaner also came in in the mornings. Pillows were VERY hard!! A smal bathroom/wetroom with shower. We also had a nice balcony at the front.

Swimming pool area is very nice, and kept clean. There are sunbeds and some shaded area. A small outside bar area/restaurant by the pool offering a good range of food. This area always seemed quiet and I only had one snack here. Breakfast was simple but adequate toast tea and juice. All in all a good budget hotel in a good location. And I shall be returning!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallycinnamon68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2009

A nice little resort in north Goa, not far away from Anjuna cliffs (500 m). Very clean with a nice littel pool. Kind and helpful staff. Even food is o.k. and the pool is really nice and clean. I really can recommend this resort, coz of cleanless and kindness. Rooms are very spacious, with or without A.C. I think it is one of the best and cleanless places to stay in Goa. Price is about 1150 rupees not A.C. If you want sightseeing, call taxi! LAXMI TAXI SERVICE mobile: 09822249166,Mr. Krishna brings you everywhere for a right price and comfortable- enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

It was a good stay at this place .we got a nice clean room.pool was good.overall verry good place to stay.


Beware: not to eat any food from there,,too costly.you will get good food with less amount ouside the place

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nova_bluein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
0.1 mi away
Villa Anjuna
Villa Anjuna
#5 of 15 in Anjuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
5.2 mi away
Prazeres Resorts
Prazeres Resorts
#51 of 64 in Candolim
3.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.4 mi away
Maximum Holiday Inn, Anjuna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa De Royale
Casa De Royale
#24 of 31 in Vagator
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.4 mi away
Poonam Village Resort
Poonam Village Resort
#53 of 63 in Anjuna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
5.6 mi away
Royal Mirage Beach Resort
Royal Mirage Beach Resort
#69 of 82 in Candolim
2.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Joao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Joao Resort

Property: Don Joao Resort
Address: Sorranto, Anjuna, Bardez 403025, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Anjuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Don Joao Hotel Anjuna
Don Joao Resort Anjuna, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing