We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large rooms but not very inviting” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Joao Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Don Joao Resort
Ranked #36 of 63 Anjuna B&B and Inns
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Large rooms but not very inviting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed here 3 nights. The outside does not look that inviting. The rooms are divided over several buildings. I had a groundfloor room and had 2 huge cockroaches in my room and a lot of frogs at nights. The rooms however are large and clean, but it could not prevent the roommates.
Scooters are for rent at the reception. The Wifi was not working very well, but next door there is a great café with free wifi (can't remember the name, something with Magic). I don't know honestly if there are better options in Anjuna. The price is OK, but the place looked a little shabby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ira1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    28
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
6
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days and paid only 700 Per Room per day. (Note : We stayed here during off season). The rooms are clean with hot water geysers in the bath. It is a proper 1 Bedroom apartment with a hall bedroom and balcony. No Wifi in rooms but only in the reception. Affordable place, very close to the beach and about 7 minutes ride from curlies shack. Friendly staff and a quiet location. Breakfast was toast and omlette. Plenty of bars and street shacks around. Will definitely come back

Room Tip: Room 303 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicks2kool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for just over a week at the start of April. It's in a good location in anjuna beah close to everything you want or need by a quick motorbike ride with motorbikes that the hotel can arrange for you. The hotel pool is pleasant, as is the restaurant. Only the reception has wifi which is a bit annoying but you should be doing other things rather than surfing the net. Rooms were clean and spacious enough even if they were very basic. Overall a good stay

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for a week and paid 7,000 Rupees. Our room had a two beds in the bedroom, a separate living room/hangout room and a private bathroom. You have to ask the front desk if you want them to clean your room and there are also daily blackouts that may last anywhere from 5 to 20 minutes but you are in Goa so the point is that you shouldn't be spending your time in the hotel anyways. It's super close to the beach and the guys at the front desk will rent out scooters to you for 200 Rupees a day. The laundry service was also quite good because my clothes came back cleaner than ever. If you are looking for a cheap place to stay in Anjuna I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingahm
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 7 nights. rooms were clean and very spacious. Staff very friendly and helpful. breakfast was toast jam tea/coffee. Plenty of bars and restaurants very close by. beach 15 walk. Will definatly return

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackieferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel, spacious clean rooms, friendly helpful staff. Swam in the beautiful quiet pool every day (alittle chilly in Feb) Even the location was good, nice restaurants close by. Thankyou! See you next year x

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Varkala E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had booked in advanced a an air-con superior double and were pleasantly surprised to have not only a bedroom but also a sitting room and even a kitchen (without equipment) that was handy to store our stuff. The room was cleaned daily, there was hot water, and in all it was okay.

--Location on a busy road
- Internet access was only in the reception (though we managed to get online from our room via the cafe in front of the hotel.
- Breakfast was not usually available at 8 (advertised time). It was just toast and tea/coffee
- Pool was not exactly inviting though it appeared clean
- Air con unit was very noisy, making sleep less comfortable
- If you're going for the beach, then it's quite a walk though you can take a taxi if you want.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
0.1 mi away
Villa Anjuna
Villa Anjuna
#5 of 15 in Anjuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
5.2 mi away
Prazeres Resorts
Prazeres Resorts
#51 of 64 in Candolim
3.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.4 mi away
Maximum Holiday Inn, Anjuna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa De Royale
Casa De Royale
#24 of 31 in Vagator
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.4 mi away
Poonam Village Resort
Poonam Village Resort
#53 of 63 in Anjuna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
5.6 mi away
Royal Mirage Beach Resort
Royal Mirage Beach Resort
#69 of 82 in Candolim
2.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Joao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Joao Resort

Property: Don Joao Resort
Address: Sorranto, Anjuna, Bardez 403025, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Anjuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Don Joao Hotel Anjuna
Don Joao Resort Anjuna, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing