We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely.x”
Review of Don Joao Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Don Joao Resort
Ranked #45 of 66 Anjuna B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 19, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 weeks last March. We had such a nice time. We had a small apartment on the first floor, with a balcony and a little kitchen. The room was spotlessly clean, and was serviced everyday when we went to the beach. The manager and all the staff were very nice, friendly and ever so helpful. We had a lovely breakfast every morning next to the pool, or sometimes on our balcony.
Thanks to the manager and all the staff, we had such a great holiday. I hope to book another holiday at this hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 65 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2011

Stayed there with my wife late November 2011. We had a pleasant "mini apartment" with a double bedroom, bathroom & sitting room with a balcony (I think that all rooms have them).
It is certainly further than 500 metres from the beach though, but it is a pleasant enough walk.
Barking dogs round the back were something of an annoyance at night and early mornings though.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billybean31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Recommended to the couple we were travelling with as they have stayed here before. On arrival at 1am we woke the staff in reception as they were sleeping (this is normal) and the hotel also has a security guard at night. We were allocated temp rooms in the large block, these were large a bedroom leading to a wetroom bathroom, a sitting area with large ceiling fan plus balcony and a small kitchen area with sink and fridge. We moved to different rooms the following morning with air con which is payable locally around 3000 rupees (£42) for a 2 week stay. These rooms were smaller but suited us better, a large studio with balcony (dont expect much of a view from either side of the block) one is roadside and one is the garden and other local housing) 2 single beds, a tv with sky/english channels, dressing table and wardrobe, large fridge and sink/sideboard but no self catering facilities plus a large wetroom with toilet, sink and shower. All were old fashioned but very clean.
The rooms were cleaned daily, new sheets and towels (i think is due to the amount of dust you attract from the roads) you will soon see you go home with orange feet! You can order room service and this is prompt and very reasonable. We had b&b so we got tea and toast/jam for free each morning, we usually paid 50r for a portion of scrambled egg to go with it. The staff are very helpful, we tipped the guys 200r to get us an extra matress each for our beds as they are quiet thin, this made the bed comfortable for our stay. We also hired a moped from a guy from the hotel for around 200r per day, these had insurance and didnt let us down over the 2 weeks, fuel can be fetched from any roadside shack/shop. All in all for the money a great stay and i will be going back next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in the block numbered 701-712, the rooms are large studios with bathroom but it means if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kel1042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

After reading good reviews on this hotel my partner and i decided to stay there for our 2 week holiday, this being our third stay in Goa. From the beginning it wasn't good, room was shabby , no curtains, had to pin a sarong in the window, electric wires sticking out from where appliances should have been, our balcony over looked where people threw their rubbish but worse of all is the drug addict in the room beneath us who we found out lives there 6 months of the year who ranted most of the night, that is if he wasn't supplying drugs or entertaing prostitutes. Asked a number of times to be moved but no help from the Hotel Manager or our rep who also was more interested in dating the Russian girls who told us not to bother him after 6pm as he will be out having fun. We love Goa but would deffinatley not stay here again this was our first bad stay , would we go back to Goa deffinatley would we stay at this hotel deffinatley not.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank purplepirahna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starnge, Owner at Don Joao Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

First of all let me clarify this is not a direct guest of Hotel but agency guest on the cheapest package possible. This operator Pays DJR five pounds per person including bed and breakfast, taxes, service charges etc complete and is allotted economic studio room.
How was the room shabby? Be specific. The room is painted afresh every new season in september/Oct.
The large french door curtain was very much there. The small window curtain was missing because the previous guest had it removed saying he wanted more light. We regret this error and readily accept our mistake. The Room is on the first floor with no immediate neighbors. However there are no wires hanging and taped casing for Intercom phone except for he last 30 Cms. We are not the Ritz to have wood paneling.
The Reviewer sees everything outside his room except what is in his room. The management is not responsible for people doing something BEYOND their premises. Next time the reviewer should take a room at the Taj or 5 star Hotel with sea view. It is not the Reviewers Problem what other people do in their rooms. How does he know about the Prostitutes? Prostitution at least in the open or thriving, does not exist in Goa. Or does the reviewer who does not even write his proper name except he is 'purple Piranha' thinks all women in the other room are Prostitutes? Why is the Reviewer worried about how long the other guest stays? or what are his habits? what's his concern? We don't have any six month guests staying with us. Why is the Reviewer using this format to criticize his Tour company Rep. as running after Russian Girls? Complain to your operator, not here and receive compensation of you can.
How does the Reviewer know a particular guest supplies drugs? did he buy them from him? Please answer here. Trip advisor is irresponsible to print all these allegations! Nonsense!
The Reviewer does not see the Room has Health faucet in attached toilet, the plumbing works properly, the hot water is always available. He does not see the room cleaned everyday. He does not see the Fridge/minibar at low prices in the room. He does not see the TV and the Balcony/open terrace. His only grouse is to complain to get a huge Apartment room. Nothing else.
THE GUEST DOES NOT SEE THE LARGE ORIGINAL OIL PAINTINGS ON HIS STAIRCASE. Such beauty escapes him. He can only see the dirt, not the sky. He cannot see the original paintings throughout the Hotel which is a veritable art gallery.
The reviewer was on first floor. How could he hear the person in the room below unless he had his ear to the floor? The next he will complain the adjacent room guest were making love all the time!
This reviewer says he has been to Goa before and was satisfied. The reviewer suffers from Amnesia. Yet he mentions in his review posted earlier of a property in Candolim, Goa, that he was double charged. Dishonesty is not acceptable, i say. Then he says there was no Fridge. Can he see the fridge here? Then he says a mobile phone was stolen. Nothing is worse than Theft and if theft took place in guest room, i will personally make good the same. None of these really ugly things happened to the guest like Theft, dishonesty etc.
The Guest is simply trashing the Hotel with his 5 pounds. You get what you pay for. Any complaint maybe sent to our website email. You shall receive a response within 24 hours. www.donjoaoresorgoa.com . Book directly with DJR and be satisfied. VIVA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Some rooms Dirty & Disgusting, Definitely not 2 star Hotel.

All I can say about Don Joao is avoid at all costs.
After 3 nights staying in Don Joao, we found alternative accommodation in Candolim.
We have now stayed at four different 2 star Hotels in India and they were all far superior to Don Joao.

On arrival at the Don Joao resort, we were taken to room 703, which was filthy and disgusting. Squalor is the only way to describe it.
We have itemised the problems with our room.
There was an ant’s nest inside our room, between the bed and the main door. Which was not removed, it was swept up each day and the ant’s nest spread over night and the next day to form a nest over 6 inches wide. See photo.
2 The wardrobe was dirty and without washing down it was imposable to use without ruining our clothes. We never used it!
3 The washbasin in the shower room was badly damaged; it had a crack the size of a cricket ball. See photo.
4 The breakfast bar work top in the bed room, was made of marble. The work surface had been hand painted with water-based paint, which came off when anything slightly damp was placed on it. Before I noticed this, I washed fruit and the back paint stuck to the fruit, resulting in having to dispose of the fruit, for fear of ingesting toxic paint. This is a serious health hazard. See photo.
5 The washbasin which was an integral part of the above worktop was black and ingrained with dirt and must have been harbouring vast numbers of germs and bacteria, another health hazard. See photo.
6 The plastic toilet seat was breaking down and had become porous, which was another health hazard.
7 The bed mattress was filthy and had a number of dried bloodstains. See photo.

We complained repeatedly about the state of the room, but the hotel manager refused to move us for 1 week. So we gave up complaining and moved out and found alternative accommodation at our own expense.
I would also like to add, the so-called free breakfast was presented grudgingly and we had to ask for it every morning. The portions of spread and jams were not enough to cover 1 slice of bread and they refused to supply additional free of charge.
We met regular visitors to this Hotel and they seemed happy but their rooms were probably of better standard, (it would take much).

If you are lucky enough to get a reasonable room when checked in, you might be ok for very basic accommodation, with a very stingy breakfast. But if you are not happy forget it. Move out like we did, or better still stay away, there is a lot better accommodation for the same money.

The Hotel location was ok; it was approx 20 minutes walk from the hotel to the nearest beach.
Anjuna is a fairly quite resort, with a limited choice of restaurants and hotels, however that is down to personal choice.

Room Tip: Stay at a different Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZoeAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starnge, Owner at Don Joao Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Much before this Review, i personally visited the room - 703. For long i had not been happy with it. The French doors had wooden panes that allowed no sun light in the room unless opened. I had them replaced with glass panes and rearranged the furniture including two additional chairs for the open terrace and a new mirror, a bigger TV because i knew though it was our cheapest room; it had to be made better.
The room is large (not as large as our apartments) about 30 sq.m. with a Balcony, Fridge, attached toilet shower and TV and Intercom. Though it has no view, being on the ground floor and facing the rear garden. Some people prefer it for solitude and quiet.
Allow me to answer to the other flaws pointed out:
1) The Reviewer was a Guest sent by an Agency which pays us 5 pounds per person for bed breakfast taxes service charges. It is the cheapest package possible and the Guest was allotted this particular room.
2)The Room could not be Dirty as it is cleaned everyday as attested to by all the other reviewers. The poor Room boys do work hard to please the guest for when the guest is pleased they tip them. They are honest and personally picked by me.
2) The Reviewer is wrong to say the wash basin has a cricket size hole. He has penciled the circle to highlight the enamel crack due to hot weather. The wash basin does not leak a single drop as it is only a surface crack.
3) There are comfortable chairs for the centre table on which the Guest should cut his fruit or whatever, using a plate. Or else he should ask the boys at the poolside restaurant to cut his fruit or ask for a plate ad knife for the same. It will not be refused but done smilingly. Instead the guest has gone to cut his fruit on the kitchen pantry top which is not the done thing even in our homes, but placing a plate below. it is possible there was a layer of dust on the kitchen counter top as this is a dusty country. Did he point it out to the Room boy? who would dare not leave it dirty when asked? We would ask Guests to write their complaint anytime to the Manager, so that the same actually goes to him for prompt action which we can promise.
4) The room is on the ground floor so it is possible there was a ant nest at the foot of the door frame which the Guest has highlighted by using his sandals. The above guideline should be followed and complaint written out so it actually reaches the manager.
5) Our mattresses are covered and not naked as in the picture. The Reviewer has gone about ripping things, and a magnifying glass to manufacture as much damaging evidence against our Hotel.
6) It is true that the Guest had asked for room change because he wanted a higher and better room, but the Hotel in January was completely full and he was told he can be given another room only after a week.
7) The Guest did come back and was given another room key by the Manager himself but the Guest declined to stay. (he had not come with his Luggage but only to take Photos.) Besides he wanted rooms in the apartment side which was not available.
8) The Hotel rating of 2 star is given on the facilities provided by the Hotel such as Swimming pool, 24 hour Reception, Restaurant and Bar, apart from the room amenities like attached toilet, Minibar, TV and balcony etc. We have these facilities with a clean pool and sun deck with pool towels and open air Restaurant and Bar and Ayurvedic Massage Parlour etc. apart from a Parking Lot.
9) I personally upbraided Gabriel the Receptionist when he told me the Guest went away. A strong memo was given to him for not volunteering to return the Guest's Locker charges. The guest should have been returned his Locker charges though he had gone away without informing about the locker. DJR owes the Guest 4 pounds if he wishes to take it. We go out of our way to be considerate and kind to the Guest even if he is technically at fault. We take pride in not throwing the book at the guest but be kind to him. I deeply regret the error (Gabriel is a new person)
10) Though this Review hurts because it is vindictive in nature and not accurate; this is the only 'Terrible' review we have received and there is not even a 'poor' review before this.However it is also a very important wake up call for us to do better. For that we thank the Reviewer.
11) Yes, DJR has Guests who come for many years here and many personally known to me, and they are happy as the Reviewer mentions.
12) The Breakfast served for Package Guest is the Continental breakfast of Tea/coffee, Two Toast with butter/Jam and Juice. There are many things the Guest could order and pay for to be satisfied. The Reviewer does not realize that other places the minimum he will pay for Continental/English breakfast is 2/3 pounds per person wherever he stayed. Our Breakfast is not given grudgingly but openly because it is in the package and we have been doing it for the last 15 years! All 2 star Hotels serve similar breakfast as us. I know it as we cross deal with them.
Our Restaurant and bar Prices including Mini Bar is the lowest on the entire coast for a similar establishment. Water bottle charges are lower than the street price bcos we believe water should not be costly.
13) I would ask the Guest to always give a complaint in writing addressed to the Manager and it will be promptly attended to or they will get in touch with me and i can also be contacted directly at Hotel email (djrgoa@gmail.com) I guarantee reply within 24 hours of your complaint.

I am sorry if the Guest did not have a good time and apologize for the same, for the Guest is always right. I only wish he had brought the complaint to the Manager or me in writing and then perhaps he would have been attended to, and not be so vindictive and inaccurate and does not help matters for anyone.
Check in as Guests - Check out as friends. we aim to keep to our Motto. You as the Guest should also help us do that.
Reiner Luz de Sousa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Stayed here for 2 weeks with my daughter and we both agreed this is a very good value budget hotel. The rooms are spacious and cleaned regularly and staff are helpful. Our flight was early and we arrived before 6.30 am and our room was not ready but the room boys hurried to clean our room, while we relaxed on the balcony watching the sun rise. The beds do have firm mattresses but as we both prefer this it was a plus for us. The pool area was clean & relaxing and although the pool was rather shaded the cool water was lovely after the heat of the sun. The rooms could do with a lick of paint as they were scruffy and the bathroom door had seen better days, the room fridge was a bit grotty and my daughter gave it a clean out herself ! But hey ho, this is a cheap and cheerful place to stay and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonJanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starnge, Owner at Don Joao Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2011

Hello,
I have been searching all over for a long time, how to write to Tripadvisor. It is very complicated to just write an email to you.
Your email comes with set fields.
So i am forced to write here to you, where it is not the proper format.

Don Joao Resort wishes to deregister and discontinue with Trip advisor with immediate effect.
Kindly remove Don Joao Resort from your listing of Hotels/accomodation and sever our relationship/affiliation with Trip advisor.
This is our decision and it has nothing to do with negative customer reviews.
Thanks and regards

Reiner Luz de Souza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

My wife and stopped here over the Christmas period and New Year. The apartment was large and cleaned on a daily basis. The grounds and mature and cleaned of leaves etc daily. The staff were all very helpful and good humored. The only small faults was that whilst the Christmas Day and New Years Eve buffet was excellent the price was a little higher than expected. But the food kept coming. The other small fault was that the pool was "freezing" All in all we enjoyed our two weeks plus here and would certainly return and would recommend it as a clean, comfortable budget B & B.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dezzagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
0.1 mi away
Villa Anjuna
Villa Anjuna
#5 of 16 in Anjuna
137 reviews
3.2 mi away
Majhi Hotel
Majhi Hotel
#18 of 55 in Morjim
3 reviews
1.4 mi away
Resort Maximum Holiday Inn, Anjuna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
PerAvel Beach Holiday Home
PerAvel Beach Holiday Home
#66 of 87 in Candolim
60 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn Anjuna
Inn Anjuna
#28 of 66 in Anjuna
37 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Orange House
The Orange House
#15 of 66 in Anjuna
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Joao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Joao Resort

Address: Sorranto, Anjuna, Bardez 403025, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Anjuna
Price Range: $20 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Don Joao Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Don Joao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Joao Hotel Anjuna
Don Joao Resort Anjuna, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing