We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some rooms Dirty & Disgusting, Definitely not 2 star Hotel.”
Review of Don Joao Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Don Joao Resort
Ranked #40 of 66 Anjuna B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Some rooms Dirty & Disgusting, Definitely not 2 star Hotel.”
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Some rooms Dirty & Disgusting, Definitely not 2 star Hotel.

All I can say about Don Joao is avoid at all costs.
After 3 nights staying in Don Joao, we found alternative accommodation in Candolim.
We have now stayed at four different 2 star Hotels in India and they were all far superior to Don Joao.

On arrival at the Don Joao resort, we were taken to room 703, which was filthy and disgusting. Squalor is the only way to describe it.
We have itemised the problems with our room.
There was an ant’s nest inside our room, between the bed and the main door. Which was not removed, it was swept up each day and the ant’s nest spread over night and the next day to form a nest over 6 inches wide. See photo.
2 The wardrobe was dirty and without washing down it was imposable to use without ruining our clothes. We never used it!
3 The washbasin in the shower room was badly damaged; it had a crack the size of a cricket ball. See photo.
4 The breakfast bar work top in the bed room, was made of marble. The work surface had been hand painted with water-based paint, which came off when anything slightly damp was placed on it. Before I noticed this, I washed fruit and the back paint stuck to the fruit, resulting in having to dispose of the fruit, for fear of ingesting toxic paint. This is a serious health hazard. See photo.
5 The washbasin which was an integral part of the above worktop was black and ingrained with dirt and must have been harbouring vast numbers of germs and bacteria, another health hazard. See photo.
6 The plastic toilet seat was breaking down and had become porous, which was another health hazard.
7 The bed mattress was filthy and had a number of dried bloodstains. See photo.

We complained repeatedly about the state of the room, but the hotel manager refused to move us for 1 week. So we gave up complaining and moved out and found alternative accommodation at our own expense.
I would also like to add, the so-called free breakfast was presented grudgingly and we had to ask for it every morning. The portions of spread and jams were not enough to cover 1 slice of bread and they refused to supply additional free of charge.
We met regular visitors to this Hotel and they seemed happy but their rooms were probably of better standard, (it would take much).

If you are lucky enough to get a reasonable room when checked in, you might be ok for very basic accommodation, with a very stingy breakfast. But if you are not happy forget it. Move out like we did, or better still stay away, there is a lot better accommodation for the same money.

The Hotel location was ok; it was approx 20 minutes walk from the hotel to the nearest beach.
Anjuna is a fairly quite resort, with a limited choice of restaurants and hotels, however that is down to personal choice.

Room Tip: Stay at a different Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoeAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starnge, Owner at Don Joao Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Much before this Review, i personally visited the room - 703. For long i had not been happy with it. The French doors had wooden panes that allowed no sun light in the room unless opened. I had them replaced with glass panes and rearranged the furniture including two additional chairs for the open terrace and a new mirror, a bigger TV because i knew though it was our cheapest room; it had to be made better.
The room is large (not as large as our apartments) about 30 sq.m. with a Balcony, Fridge, attached toilet shower and TV and Intercom. Though it has no view, being on the ground floor and facing the rear garden. Some people prefer it for solitude and quiet.
Allow me to answer to the other flaws pointed out:
1) The Reviewer was a Guest sent by an Agency which pays us 5 pounds per person for bed breakfast taxes service charges. It is the cheapest package possible and the Guest was allotted this particular room.
2)The Room could not be Dirty as it is cleaned everyday as attested to by all the other reviewers. The poor Room boys do work hard to please the guest for when the guest is pleased they tip them. They are honest and personally picked by me.
2) The Reviewer is wrong to say the wash basin has a cricket size hole. He has penciled the circle to highlight the enamel crack due to hot weather. The wash basin does not leak a single drop as it is only a surface crack.
3) There are comfortable chairs for the centre table on which the Guest should cut his fruit or whatever, using a plate. Or else he should ask the boys at the poolside restaurant to cut his fruit or ask for a plate ad knife for the same. It will not be refused but done smilingly. Instead the guest has gone to cut his fruit on the kitchen pantry top which is not the done thing even in our homes, but placing a plate below. it is possible there was a layer of dust on the kitchen counter top as this is a dusty country. Did he point it out to the Room boy? who would dare not leave it dirty when asked? We would ask Guests to write their complaint anytime to the Manager, so that the same actually goes to him for prompt action which we can promise.
4) The room is on the ground floor so it is possible there was a ant nest at the foot of the door frame which the Guest has highlighted by using his sandals. The above guideline should be followed and complaint written out so it actually reaches the manager.
5) Our mattresses are covered and not naked as in the picture. The Reviewer has gone about ripping things, and a magnifying glass to manufacture as much damaging evidence against our Hotel.
6) It is true that the Guest had asked for room change because he wanted a higher and better room, but the Hotel in January was completely full and he was told he can be given another room only after a week.
7) The Guest did come back and was given another room key by the Manager himself but the Guest declined to stay. (he had not come with his Luggage but only to take Photos.) Besides he wanted rooms in the apartment side which was not available.
8) The Hotel rating of 2 star is given on the facilities provided by the Hotel such as Swimming pool, 24 hour Reception, Restaurant and Bar, apart from the room amenities like attached toilet, Minibar, TV and balcony etc. We have these facilities with a clean pool and sun deck with pool towels and open air Restaurant and Bar and Ayurvedic Massage Parlour etc. apart from a Parking Lot.
9) I personally upbraided Gabriel the Receptionist when he told me the Guest went away. A strong memo was given to him for not volunteering to return the Guest's Locker charges. The guest should have been returned his Locker charges though he had gone away without informing about the locker. DJR owes the Guest 4 pounds if he wishes to take it. We go out of our way to be considerate and kind to the Guest even if he is technically at fault. We take pride in not throwing the book at the guest but be kind to him. I deeply regret the error (Gabriel is a new person)
10) Though this Review hurts because it is vindictive in nature and not accurate; this is the only 'Terrible' review we have received and there is not even a 'poor' review before this.However it is also a very important wake up call for us to do better. For that we thank the Reviewer.
11) Yes, DJR has Guests who come for many years here and many personally known to me, and they are happy as the Reviewer mentions.
12) The Breakfast served for Package Guest is the Continental breakfast of Tea/coffee, Two Toast with butter/Jam and Juice. There are many things the Guest could order and pay for to be satisfied. The Reviewer does not realize that other places the minimum he will pay for Continental/English breakfast is 2/3 pounds per person wherever he stayed. Our Breakfast is not given grudgingly but openly because it is in the package and we have been doing it for the last 15 years! All 2 star Hotels serve similar breakfast as us. I know it as we cross deal with them.
Our Restaurant and bar Prices including Mini Bar is the lowest on the entire coast for a similar establishment. Water bottle charges are lower than the street price bcos we believe water should not be costly.
13) I would ask the Guest to always give a complaint in writing addressed to the Manager and it will be promptly attended to or they will get in touch with me and i can also be contacted directly at Hotel email (djrgoa@gmail.com) I guarantee reply within 24 hours of your complaint.

I am sorry if the Guest did not have a good time and apologize for the same, for the Guest is always right. I only wish he had brought the complaint to the Manager or me in writing and then perhaps he would have been attended to, and not be so vindictive and inaccurate and does not help matters for anyone.
Check in as Guests - Check out as friends. we aim to keep to our Motto. You as the Guest should also help us do that.
Reiner Luz de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    28
    18
    5
    6
See reviews for
7
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Stayed here for 2 weeks with my daughter and we both agreed this is a very good value budget hotel. The rooms are spacious and cleaned regularly and staff are helpful. Our flight was early and we arrived before 6.30 am and our room was not ready but the room boys hurried to clean our room, while we relaxed on the balcony watching the sun rise. The beds do have firm mattresses but as we both prefer this it was a plus for us. The pool area was clean & relaxing and although the pool was rather shaded the cool water was lovely after the heat of the sun. The rooms could do with a lick of paint as they were scruffy and the bathroom door had seen better days, the room fridge was a bit grotty and my daughter gave it a clean out herself ! But hey ho, this is a cheap and cheerful place to stay and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonJanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starnge, Owner at Don Joao Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Hello,
I have been searching all over for a long time, how to write to Tripadvisor. It is very complicated to just write an email to you.
Your email comes with set fields.
So i am forced to write here to you, where it is not the proper format.

Don Joao Resort wishes to deregister and discontinue with Trip advisor with immediate effect.
Kindly remove Don Joao Resort from your listing of Hotels/accomodation and sever our relationship/affiliation with Trip advisor.
This is our decision and it has nothing to do with negative customer reviews.
Thanks and regards

Reiner Luz de Souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

My wife and stopped here over the Christmas period and New Year. The apartment was large and cleaned on a daily basis. The grounds and mature and cleaned of leaves etc daily. The staff were all very helpful and good humored. The only small faults was that whilst the Christmas Day and New Years Eve buffet was excellent the price was a little higher than expected. But the food kept coming. The other small fault was that the pool was "freezing" All in all we enjoyed our two weeks plus here and would certainly return and would recommend it as a clean, comfortable budget B & B.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dezzagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk,england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2010

used this hotel as a base hotel while staying in Goa for 2 weeks. Very basic hotel and the beds were hard! Rooms had large living area with a kitchen and fridge. Breakfast was just toast and jam, juice, tea/coffee. changed up money a few times and twice got 100 rupees taken more then was meant to, probably our own fault for not counting it as soon as the money was changed up, but still wasn't very nice. anjuna beach is about a good 20min walk away, taxi drivers are on the side of the hotel always wanting business which is good. hotel also has a swimming pool but is quite cold as its not in the sun and in the shade.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiruppur, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We a group of 8 friends stayed in Goa from 3rd Nov to 7th Nov 2010 in Don Joao Resort Anjuna.Its very near from Beach about 1km jus walkable distance.

We booked 2 rooms for Rs1000 / room with Ac , TV,Fridge awesome.
Its has good swimming pool rooms are good and super value for our money.

All staffs are good and helping.Its located in main street of Anjuna near by tshirts shops,Hotels,Liquor shops,general stores and taxi,bikes rental available.


Definitely we will go there again and recommend for our friends too and also who read this review.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SelvakumarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyd
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2010

very good resort with excellent rooms...it also has a swimming pool and a pool side restaurent..very near to anjuna beach..

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dheerajpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Stayed here in April 2010. Rooms are cleaned daily, very spacious (kitchen, bathroom, bedroom, balcony and living room), hot water and A/C. Bus stop outside the door to take you to the beach or the cities. You can walk to Anjuna Beach. Food Ok and nice pool. Internet across the road. Lots of good shops nearby. Friendly staff. Its no frills, but good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SATCSydneyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
0.0 mi away
Casa De Royale
Casa De Royale
#26 of 32 in Vagator
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Poonam Village Resort
Poonam Village Resort
#54 of 66 in Anjuna
74 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Conceicao Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Inn Anjuna
Inn Anjuna
#29 of 66 in Anjuna
37 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Nifa
Hotel Nifa
#29 of 42 in Morjim
37 reviews
6.5 mi away
Arambol Plaza Beach Resort
Arambol Plaza Beach Resort
#17 of 36 in Arambol
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Joao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Joao Resort

Property: Don Joao Resort
Address: Sorranto, Anjuna, Bardez 403025, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Anjuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Don Joao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Joao Hotel Anjuna
Don Joao Resort Anjuna, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing