We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not up to the expectations” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Anjuna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Anjuna
Ranked #11 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Anjuna
expat in Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“not up to the expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

rooms are nice and staff is helpful but the rest is dissapointing. The beach is not really close and the track to go there is dirty and not really nice at all. It advertise as a boutique hotel and the atmosphere could be there but there is a real need for proper maintenance (rooms, towels, pool, sunbeds ...). Anjuna beach is ok but there are clearly much better places to stay in Goa. Unfortunately, we discovered this after staying there for a few days.

There is also a lack in the details for the guests. A detail: is the only hotel in India that charges you for water (no complimentary water in the room). Not crucial but a sign of what is missing. Overall, fine but wouldn't repeat it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misskeika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    46
    21
    9
    12
See reviews for
23
45
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

I traveled to India last year and for the most part really enjoyed my time in Goa. Compared to Mumbai, Delhi, and Kochi I found Goa to be the most relaxing.

I stayed at the Casa Anjuna for 4 days and the first 3 days were in line with my expectations.

The food was priced at a premium relative to some of the other places in Goa but I felt I was getting slightly better quality than most places. That said my travel partner did feel sick after our first meal here for about 24 hours.

The real negative was when I realized on the last day that money had been stolen from the wallet that I left in the room when I went to the pool. I felt betrayed, especially at a small boutique hotel where I had became familiar with almost all of the staff and actually felt very safe and secure.

I have rated the hotel 2 stars not 1 because if I hadn't been robbed I would have given the hotel a 4, and in case it was just one bad employee that has since left, or been delt with, I would recommend the hotel for it's location and quality.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Johnny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anjuna hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

While Casa Anjuna has all the charms and characteristics of a boutique hotel - they really need to sort out the basics. The room we were first checked into had stained bed sheets and quilts, which were replaced promptly when pointed out however. This should've have been checked beforehand. The bathroom was also dirty and had to request a clean up!
We changed rooms the next day, and there was a lot of power fluctuation - a problem typical to goa - however - all hotels are equipped with power back up. The airconditioning kept going off and on. Late night there was nobody available to sort the issue except a lone watchman who seemed very clueless. We were told the generator would work only for 1 hour - this was unacceptable considering they charged us a full rate which included an airconditioned room.
Finally the pool was super disgusting with a dead frog apart from assorted bugs floating around.
The plus is that its quiet, the garden is beautiful and rooms are done up tastefully. I don't think we'll be staying here again.

Room Tip: Pick one of the larger suites away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pearl s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
146 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Awesome Place to Stay. Beautiful Rooms with the real touch of Goa in each Room. Great Food. Overall, very good experience. The only negative is the distance from the most happening & nearest beach - Anjuna !

Room Tip: Check out the newly built suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darora123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Hi,
We went to the place on a recommendation by a friend. The website looked promising but on arrival we soon realized that the place is very poorly maintained.
The rooms were leaking and the place was damp. We switched two rooms and both had leakage problem. While the food is good, the options are very limited. (Esp if you are vegetarian , there is almost none)
The rooms were clean but the corridors and pathways were little dirty and disappointing.

The place is nicely done with antique furniture kind of feel but we feel that a lilttle maintanence can go long way. The staff was very helpful most of the times.

However, we couldnt stand the leakage and therefore shifted out to other hotel. We felt that there were better options avaliable at same price

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gestapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

We were booked in for a few weeks but after a visit to the place I opted for an alternate (and cheaper) location for the xmas period. While the residence is a spectacular bit of architecture, I found the place a little too stuffy & 'quiet'; nice if you want to sit down by a quiet pool & read the paper; not so good if you wouldn't mind a few beers & watch kids going crazy & having fun in the water. It's a matter of taste & their prices are questionable over xmas especially. We booked online & be warned about that. While I was within the refund period, the Casa Group first told me (early December) my refund would be "in a week"; two weeks later I was told someone was out of the office and it would be done when they return; then they stopped returning my emails; by january I had left goa & they still wouldn't reply to my emails; then I got a friend in Goa to ring them & they said they were processing it; a few weeks later he called again (no refund) & they said they were trying to contact me (a lie - they have my email address) & needed to check my credit card (a lie - I paid online with my credit card); I got my friend to call again & give my details again. It is now 3 months since they said I would be refunded & I finally got my cash back ($1000 AUD). I suspect if I didn't have locals calling them I would not have got anything back. So book online if you are absolutely sure you want to stay there, otherwise do so at your own risk. A better bet would be to visit the premises while you are there & if you like it, book & stay then.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank steve_king1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

I arrived on my own in Anjuna looking for an attractive quiet little hideaway close to the beach and that is exactly what I found when I stumbled across Casa Anjuna, The staff were so helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to make me feel welcome safe and comfortable. Rozer the manager is so lovely and helpful while Jaidau is very attentive and always smiling.

The hotel is very charming and well maintained. It's a five minute walk to the beach and 2 minutes to Anjuna Town.

The next time I am in Anjuna I will be staying here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cher37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
2.0 mi away
Casa Baga
Casa Baga
#15 of 25 in Baga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laguna Anjuna
Laguna Anjuna
#6 of 15 in Anjuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#2 of 15 in Anjuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Tamarind Hotel
The Tamarind Hotel
#1 of 15 in Anjuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#10 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
7.1 mi away
Casa Colvale
Casa Colvale
#1 of 1 in Colvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Anjuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Anjuna

Property: Casa Anjuna
Address: D'mello Vaddo 66 | Near Basilico Resteraunt, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Anjuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Anjuna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Anjuna is set amongst a tropical paradise of lush palms and flowers including the local alpino flower which we have used for our logo. The beautiful swimming pool is the perfect spot to relax and soak up the sunshine, or cool off after a trip to the famous flea market. It is walking distance to the beach and some of Anjuna's best eateries. For the convenience of our guests, we also have a Conference Room, Massage room, Badminton court, Pool Table and a very spacious private parking area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsClick, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Casa Anjuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Anjuna Hotel Anjuna
Casa Hotel Anjuna
Anjuna Casa Hotel
Casa Anjuna Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing