We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly family run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bougainvillea - Granpa's Inn
Ranked #2 of 65 Anjuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly family run hotel”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I returned to Granpa's Inn in March, having originally stayed there in 2011. The great thing was the fact that, apart from some cosmetic changes, the hotel was the same! This is why I like it. The hotel management and the owner, are unchanged, and extremely helpful and friendly. You feel as though you are returning to stay with old friends. There is nothing impersonal about Granpas's Inn, which is unusual in this world of globalisation! I am already planning my return visit!

Room Tip: Next time I think I will opt for a poolside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank advanced49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    71
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
39
87
27
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2013

From year to year Goa is getting more crowdy. That makes it hard to find a place to stay, if you are in search for real relaxation with nice ambience and atmosphere (without relinquishing of a good location from where you can easily arrive all the places to go).

Thank God - there is Granpa´s Inn (Hotel Bougainvillea) at the borders of Anjuna, near Assagao. From here you´ll reach the quieter northern beaches (Morjim, Aswem, Arambol) very good per bike. The Anjuna nightlife and restaurants are around the corner and even a tour down to Candolim takes less thand 30 minutes. If you are looking for a perfect location to reach everything important in North Goa : This is it.

The nice little facility is like a calm oasis with a gorgeous pool at their center, surrounded by beautiful trees and plants. Granpa´s Inn offers rooms in various types. From basic cabinets to spacious pool appartements. The roomrates appear a little high at first, compared to the usual Goa´n middleclass standards, but it´s worth every penny of it because of the unique atmosphere and the friendliness around the whole staff, who really is helping you to make your stay a joyful experience. The pool is open to everybody (Guests have to pay a small ammount of rupees indeed). This is nice if you like to invite friends but could get a little bit disturbing sometimes, when there is suddenly a bunch of noisy people in the otherwise totally quiet and nice poolside-area. In our opinion it would be better to offer the Pool exclusively to guests of the hotel - BUT - this is only complaining on a high level, because BOTTOM LINE you´ll love it there.

We have to thank everybody at Granpa´s Inn for unforgettable (in a good way!) holydays.

This is the Place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex-and-Oliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I spent 4 nights at Granpa's Inn and I found it very charming. In fact, it is a bit on the expensive side but it's worth it if you are looking for a comfy experience. I would recommend it to seniors and people travelling with children, too. The swimming pool is very nice and unexpectedly clean. But do go for one of the rooms close to the swimming pool (the most expensive ones). We spent two nights in the cheaper rooms and two in the more expensive. The more expensive one are much nicer, newer, lighter and bigger. And they have an amazing porch where you can sit in the evening or have breakfast in the morning. Also, the cheaper room didn't always have hot water. The location is fine, just 5 minutes from Anjuna beach (by taxi/scooter I mean). The staff is really friendly and the owner is great!

Room Tip: As I said in the review, go for the more expensive rooms by the swimming pool. The cheaper rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saralusini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We've been travelling to Goa at least twice a year for nearly 20 years now and since we discovered Granpa's Inn, five years ago, we have returned every year. We have three children, 11, 7 and 2 and find their rooms very, very comfortable.
The balconies are a great place to hang out, the massive outdoor shower area (plus a handy clothes-drying rack in the sun for the usual kid laundry, swim suits and towels) at the back and the spacious rooms themselves are lovely. (We ask for a couple of mattresses for the children which fold away during the day.)
If you rent a car or bike, their location is very accessible to some excellent restaurants like Thalassa, Fusion (both at Vagator) Baba Au Rhum, Lila Cafe, Le Poisson Rouge and the rest of the Baga River places. It's also very handy if you want to go to the Arpora Saturday Night Market.
Bettina and her husband are accessible and attentive. They respond to emails promptly and always organise pick-ups and transport to and from the airport and otherwise.
The best part about Granpa's Inn is the pool. Meticulously cleaned every day, large enough to host happy bands of kids (who all end up playing together) and sun-soaked adults, it is the real draw.
Most of all, Granpa's Inn, despite its central location, is peaceful and quiet. We're torn between telling people about this place and keeping it our secret. :o))

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genesia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were there in February for a couple of beautifull days. The Hotel is really very nice, has comfortable and clean rooms a nice pool - side and very good food. The staff was always very friendly and helpfull. To go from the Hotel to one of the beaches - with public bus - is very easy and a great fun (all for 5 Rps. - oneway). We did see many other accomidations in Anjuna, but we are convinced that we made the right joice with "Granpas Inn"! By the way: The staff made the transport arrangement to go to Panjim - for a fair(!) price! Thanks all! Hubert and Karin (Germany).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hubert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilmark, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I spent three days at Granpas with my wife. The location was fine, an easy scooter ride to the beach.age hotel in Panjim, The grounds are cooled by the abundance of shade trees. The pool is clean and refreshing. We had a poolside suite, very quiet, with a large outside shower as well as inside. The open air restaurant was good as was the complimentary breakfast. the management was helpful and friendly and recommended an excellent heritage inn at our next stop, Panjim.

Room Tip: Poolside suites are far from the road, quiet and spacious. Worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimw5246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuvicq, Poitou-Charentes, France
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I spent a week here with my family and we really enjoyed it. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable, with a terrace at the front and a small private open air shower at the rear. The swimming pool was really clean and in a beautiful setting, with most of the bedrooms surrounding it. As it only has about 20 rooms, the service is much more personal than a larger hotel. The staff were excellent, and really friendly and efficient. The breakfasts included in the price were a bit basic (eggs, toast, juice, tea or coffee) and we would have liked to have had an Indian breakfast option, but you could pay for other items from the menu. Their lunch / evening meal menu was small, but the food was exceptionally good, all cooked fresh to order. There were plenty of vegetarian options. This was our sixth visit to Goa, and Granpa's Inn was the best Goan hotel we have stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
0.4 mi away
The Tamarind Hotel
The Tamarind Hotel
#2 of 15 in Anjuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
1.0 mi away
Laguna Anjuna
Laguna Anjuna
#6 of 15 in Anjuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.1 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#3 of 15 in Anjuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Bougainvillea Guest House Goa
1.2 mi away
Jacks Resort
Jacks Resort
#2 of 14 in Vagator
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
3.5 mi away
Shanti Morada
Shanti Morada
#1 of 2 in Saligao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bougainvillea - Granpa's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bougainvillea - Granpa's Inn

Property: Hotel Bougainvillea - Granpa's Inn
Address: Gaunwaddi, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Anjuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bougainvillea - Granpa's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Granpa's Inn, also known as Hotel Bougainvillea, was renovated from a 200 year old Portuguese - styled Goan mansion, with a pleasant blend of old world charm & modern comforts. You will enjoy the expanse of our quiet & cool natural age old gardens which conveys an aura of serenity & tranquility. It's a perfect place for a Goan holiday not too far away from the beaches but an oasis of calm from the busy nightlife of Goa. Granpa’s Inn is a family run business since 1988. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bougainvillea - Granpa's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bougainvillea - Granpa`s Anjuna
Hotel Bougainvillea - Granpa's Inn Anjuna, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing