We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming little place ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tamarind Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Tamarind Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Anjuna
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming little place ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We loved the warmth radiated by this beautiful property hidden behind the greens in Anjuna. Awesome hospitality. When late at night we wanted to have some dessert they opened their dessert bar especially for us and also made us some tea. Hope to spend some time there again. :0)

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vinita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Public Relations Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us at The Tamarind and more so because you liked your stay so much. We would all gladly go out of our way for our guests and it is such a pleasure to know that you appreciated this.
Our Regards
The Tamarind Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    204
    44
    17
    29
See reviews for
131
227
23
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Service - Staff is very nice and happy to help BUT... service is way too slow because of less number of employees. Plus, no room service in the night.

Rooms - "52" LED TV is more than expectation, havn't even seen in TAJ Fort Aguada. House Keeping is very Good. BUT...Size of room is a big concern. Some lady manager of hotel confirmed over phone that its 350SqFt room, but actually it was not more than 200 SqFt which is very small.

Washroom - "POOR". I think Public toilets are also bigger than the hotel's*(photos attached). You cannot even open your arms fully while taking bath. Flush reminded me of "HOTEL DECENT"(courtesy: Jab We Met) as commode was not clean even after flushing twice and I had to put water in the commode using bucket. Roof and walls were full of dampness(Photos Attached).
Special Tip while using washroom: Watch your head while sitting on the commode as you can hit wash basin in front of you.
ALSO, I HAVE NEVER SEEN A "RAT" COMING OUT OF THE NAHANI TRAP OF WASHROOM IN A SO CALLED "BOUTIQUE HOTEL". (Photos Attached)

Location: It is good. Away from the hustle & bustle of crowded calangute and Baga beaches at the same time, only 2 KMs away from Anjuna beach. I liked it.

Food: Awesome food. It was my third visit to Goa and I had to survive only on beers in the last two visits. Authentic North Indian Taste. Choclate shake in the breakfast buffet and "Lasagne" was irresistible. Menu is small but taste is best in town. Rates are also reasonable

Overall, Stay is not a value for money at all. Consider it as an eating joint only.

Room Tip: 1. First floor rooms have private balcony. Room 201 has the biggest. 2. Ask for a "RAT" f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SandhuSaahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Public Relations Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
After repeatedly apologising we have to say this is really a one off case .The safety net in the bath should never be removed .Ofcoure this is freak case and the Pest Control Of India ,who looks after our hotel were immediately called to leave no stone unturned .The Bath in your room is being extended and done up and once its done ,we are going to request you to come and stay in the same room and enjoy the experience.
Really glad you loved the food at the Cotinga Cafe .
Regards
The Team@The Tamarind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Croatia, Croatia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Really nice hotel with big rooms, which were cleaned daily. Beautiful inside garden with clean swimming pool. Breakfast was also nice. The hotel has good location with the beaches of Anjuna, Baga and Vagator closeby. The prices for such type of hotel are also fine I guess.

What we didn't like about the hotel is the attitude of the staff and moreover the management, which we believe would treat us like guests when it comes to clearly non-hotel services. Instead we felt like the management really took advantage of us, when it comes to all those additional services. Don't really like to list all the cases, but at the third day of the stay I figured out that we have payed at least 40 euro extra for the same service we could easily get from outside, even though we were assured we are given the best rates. It kind of gives negative vibe when your host is making

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nuromir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Guest Relations Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are glad you liked our very clean rooms,our sparkling pool,our garden,and enjoyed the breakfast we serve.All this is very encouraging,but I could not understand why you were less than satisfied .Our rates are completely transparent and we are happy to share these with all our guests if they like ,even before they arrive .
Regards
The Tamarind Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

It's a very nice property with excellent service.The complementary break fast ,room service,lawn is very nice.If you rent a two wheeler then it was nice to visit anjuna beach(2.5km ) from the hotel but if not then they provide free drop facility to anjuna once in a day.They also provide pick up and drop facility to airport.I love this place and thanks to Sahil (our driver) who makes this trip wonderfull.Thank u Tamarind for make our trip aweosome.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soumya_moulick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Guest Relations Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Yours is the kind of review we look forward to .All our hard work seems worth its while when guests feel so satisfied.All our team at the Tamarind are happy to go out of our way to make guests comfortable.We hope you give us another chance to serve you.
Regards
The Team at the Tamarind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

A nice property in Anjuna, the beach is accessible via walk (3-3.5 kms) or by bike. Very clean property, attentive front desk, decent kitchen, huge dessert spread. The dinner out in the garden is awesome and so is the free billiard / pool table. Book early and get great rates. Walk able to a couple of beautiful churches.

What they can do better,
1) Better food rates for residents, the quantities can be larger compared to other places in and around Anjuna / Goa
2) Better transportation rates for residents
3) Toiletries need to be replaced faster and without asking.
4) Towels can be cleaner
5) Cleaning rooms before guests come is mandatory.

Overall a nice place, will visit again.

Room Tip: Choose the first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minmaxmim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Guest Relations Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Glad you enjoyed our meals in the garden.People are loving it ,especially in this beautiful weather.
All your suggestions have been noted and we assure you, we will look into these very minutely and seriously.
Thank you
Regards
The Team at The Tamarind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Tamarind is a hidden gem, in a great location. It has a lovely pool and garden area with a lovey patio setting. The in house restaurant is superb with excellent food, huge menu, very good breakfast buffet, you can never be dissapointed with their service.

We had a two bedroom suite with a queen bed in each room, rooms were clean spacious, nice outdoor balcony with tables and chairs. The hotel has a very warm, cosy feel and has a blue and white theme all over.

Their staff is very friendly too. The hotel is very secure with security at the gate at all times, monitoring entry and exit of guests/visitors. I will definitely want to stay at the Tamarind itself, during my next visit to Goa.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilmissvanillicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Guest Relations Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read your review and know that your stay with us at the Tamarind was really good.All your compliments about our friendly staff,our food and our cosy atmosphere are most welcome.
We promise you an equally memorable stay the next time you visit us.
Our Best Regards
The Team at The Tamarind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

The hotel and its services were great. we found it a very lovely and repeatable experience. Recommended to any one looking for quiet, romantic n peaceful holiday. Ideally located but cosily situated from all north goa beaches, esp. Anjuna. Can get best of both worlds, the gun and the quiet by staying here.

Calangute and Baga too crowded for leisure. For party lovers, Tito and cafe Liluput not too far. New club opened Cafe Cuppana, i think. Heard it was good. This hotel is much better.

Water sports require special and separate funds provision of around 1300-1500 per person. Must dos are Parasailing (WITH DIP) and Banana boat.. Rest ur choice.. These can be done at Calungate. Refer to prevailing association rate board on beach..

The hotel to only note, services provided such as bike rentals and taxi services should be slightly more economical and at par with BEST local rates esp. since the location requires separate conveyance for going to beaches. After all the other things from the hotel, we hope for this as people hoping to come to you again..

P.S.
Prefer renting bike to moped considering distances to beaches if possible . Also, hire taxi if you wish to go to South Goa as going there by bike can be bit difficult. Do not waste time in Panajim unless you want to go for Cruise (couldn't fit in Cruise, so cant review).

Room Tip: All rooms truly good, nothing as economy room, but ask for first floor rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theHitesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Guest Relations Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest ,
Many thanks for taking time to write about us on Tripadvisor.The fact that that your review is so positive is very encouraging for all of us here.We work hard and such a review is very rewarding.
Thank you again.
Regards
The team at The Tamarind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
1.5 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#2 of 15 in Anjuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.4 mi away
Laguna Anjuna
Laguna Anjuna
#6 of 15 in Anjuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Goa Anjuna
Premier Inn Goa Anjuna
#3 of 15 in Anjuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#12 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
2.0 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
3.5 mi away
Shanti Morada
Shanti Morada
#1 of 2 in Saligao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tamarind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tamarind Hotel

Property: The Tamarind Hotel
Address: 1286 Kumar Vaddo | Near St. Michael Church, Anjuna, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Anjuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tamarind Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in rural Goa, situated some two and half km from Anjuna and Vagator beaches, opposite a pretty white church - The Tamarind is a Portuguese style stone building with all modern amenities. With 42" LCD TV, Minibar, Laptop size Lockers, Air-conditioners, Coffee & Tea makers, the 25 rooms offer tranquility and relaxation. Though away from the hustle and bustle, every place is accessible and not distant. We provide Cars, Bikes and Scooters at a price and cycles free of cost. Our in house bakery and desserts are famous. Cotinga, our multicuisine restaurant is very popular both with in-house guests and locals. As you can see on the reviews our north Indian dishes are particularly popular. The quirky theme of the Madhatter bar is another attraction where we offer the choicest wines and drinks. Candlelight dinners can be arranged for your special celebration at a short notice. City tours by day and night can be enjoyed with assistance from our front desk. Guests enjoy playing pool at our heritage pool table. Table Tennis, Board games and the most sparkling blue pool add to the fun. We love children and have baby cots and high chairs and also special baby meals. The colors and decors are sure to relax you and signal the beginning of a wonderful holiday. Just 500 metres away is the beautiful St Michal s church ,which is 400 years old. Again 500 metres to the other side are the Miraculous Stairs,where you can make a wish . Yoga classes and massages can be organized to your convenience. Welcome to The Tamarind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Tamarind Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Hotel Anjuna
Tamarind Anjuna
The Tamarind Hotel Anjuna, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing