We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4.5 maybe for the beautiful and clean property”
Review of The Tamarind Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tamarind Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Anjuna
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“4.5 maybe for the beautiful and clean property”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

A nice property in Anjuna, the beach is accessible via walk (3-3.5 kms) or by bike. Very clean property, attentive front desk, decent kitchen, huge dessert spread. The dinner out in the garden is awesome and so is the free billiard / pool table. Book early and get great rates. Walk able to a couple of beautiful churches.

What they can do better,
1) Better food rates for residents, the quantities can be larger compared to other places in and around Anjuna / Goa
2) Better transportation rates for residents
3) Toiletries need to be replaced faster and without asking.
4) Towels can be cleaner
5) Cleaning rooms before guests come is mandatory.

Overall a nice place, will visit again.

Room Tip: Choose the first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minmaxmim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Guest Relations Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Glad you enjoyed our meals in the garden.People are loving it ,especially in this beautiful weather.
All your suggestions have been noted and we assure you, we will look into these very minutely and seriously.
Thank you
Regards
The Team at The Tamarind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    211
    45
    18
    32
See reviews for
142
235
23
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Tamarind is a hidden gem, in a great location. It has a lovely pool and garden area with a lovey patio setting. The in house restaurant is superb with excellent food, huge menu, very good breakfast buffet, you can never be dissapointed with their service.

We had a two bedroom suite with a queen bed in each room, rooms were clean spacious, nice outdoor balcony with tables and chairs. The hotel has a very warm, cosy feel and has a blue and white theme all over.

Their staff is very friendly too. The hotel is very secure with security at the gate at all times, monitoring entry and exit of guests/visitors. I will definitely want to stay at the Tamarind itself, during my next visit to Goa.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilmissvanillicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Guest Relations Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read your review and know that your stay with us at the Tamarind was really good.All your compliments about our friendly staff,our food and our cosy atmosphere are most welcome.
We promise you an equally memorable stay the next time you visit us.
Our Best Regards
The Team at The Tamarind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The hotel and its services were great. we found it a very lovely and repeatable experience. Recommended to any one looking for quiet, romantic n peaceful holiday. Ideally located but cosily situated from all north goa beaches, esp. Anjuna. Can get best of both worlds, the gun and the quiet by staying here.

Calangute and Baga too crowded for leisure. For party lovers, Tito and cafe Liluput not too far. New club opened Cafe Cuppana, i think. Heard it was good. This hotel is much better.

Water sports require special and separate funds provision of around 1300-1500 per person. Must dos are Parasailing (WITH DIP) and Banana boat.. Rest ur choice.. These can be done at Calungate. Refer to prevailing association rate board on beach..

The hotel to only note, services provided such as bike rentals and taxi services should be slightly more economical and at par with BEST local rates esp. since the location requires separate conveyance for going to beaches. After all the other things from the hotel, we hope for this as people hoping to come to you again..

P.S.
Prefer renting bike to moped considering distances to beaches if possible . Also, hire taxi if you wish to go to South Goa as going there by bike can be bit difficult. Do not waste time in Panajim unless you want to go for Cruise (couldn't fit in Cruise, so cant review).

Room Tip: All rooms truly good, nothing as economy room, but ask for first floor rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theHitesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Guest Relations Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest ,
Many thanks for taking time to write about us on Tripadvisor.The fact that that your review is so positive is very encouraging for all of us here.We work hard and such a review is very rewarding.
Thank you again.
Regards
The team at The Tamarind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Great location, away from the bustle of the nearby towns and nestled in it's own little forest-like oasis. Lots of privacy, great food and the best live bat show you will ever see. Lovely couple, great staff and helpful gecko's.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latino123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Guest Relations Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for choosing thetamarind for your stay in Goa.We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and wrote back with so much appreciation.
Please be assured that you will always have the same high quality of service every time you visit us. We look forward to having you with us again .
Warm regards
The Team at The Tamarind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calangute, India
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2013

banoffee pie! blueberry cheesecake! warm chocolate brownies! baked new york cheesecake! this is my dessert heaven...u can just go and spoil yourself silly with the tamarind desserts...the service isnt quite as quick as you would wish it to be but just order another dessert while ur waiting and your sorted...overall a decent place with FANTASTIC desserts!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anandeeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Wow! This is just the review we look forward to. All our hard work seems worth its while.

Our owner is a “bakery wizard” and takes a very keen interest in all the recipes and ingredients.

We are equally proud of our lunch and dinner dishes.

We look forward to having you back with us again.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I am really delighted to share my thoughts on my stay from 22 - 25th Nov'13, me n my wife enjoyed a lot staying at tamarind, as it was our honeymoon, we were expecting privacy, and this hotel was perfect for both of us. we hired a cab and visited most of the places at goa, sahil is the best taxi driver cum guide, we never felt as if travelling with any stranger, he showed us almost all the popular places in goa. prices are reasonable and the pool view is amazing, the staff is helpful & cooperative listening to the guests, i was given a deluxe room at first place with was away from the pool but after telling this at the reception we were given a family room as it was confirmed in my booking that it was a poolview room at no extra cost, however i have some sugessions for the hotel, the night menu should be removed from the in room service, when i tried ordering a 'bhelpuri' & a maggi early morning at 6:00am i was told that it's not possible as breakfast is about to open at 8:30am which was pathetic. so if you are feeling hungry at night make sure to keep some food with you. there's one more complaint that there are not much veg dishes in the menu, as we are vegitarian so we had to eat 'dal makhani' almost every time. now once again coming to the positives of the hotel the rooms are quite well luxurious with big lcd screen and hd channels on it, breakfast is quite tasty with variety, food is also very tasty, i will surely stay at this hotel if visitng again in goa, thank you tamarind, it was a remember able trip to goa, you made our honeymoon special.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vikram1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write about our hotel. Your suggestions and compliments are both very welcome.

We will definitely look at adding more vegetarian dishes very soon and have already revised and updated our night menu. We apologise about your early morning request and will ensure this doesn’t happen again.

Your compliments are most encouraging. Glad you are carrying back good memories of your honeymoon.

We wish you both a very Happy Life together.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Tamarind Hotel is a very pleasant hotel close to Anjuna Beach in North Goa. Rooms are good quality and there is a nice (though small) swimming pool in the centre. The most striking aspect is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. They all seem like a family, and by becoming a guest in the hotel, it's like you've joined that family.
The hotel is in a rural and somewhat isolated location. This is wonderful in the evenings if you want a peaceful and relaxed atmosphere far from the madding crowd. The disadvantage is that it's not within walking distance of any of the beaches or the night spots so - unless you have your own transport - you will have to use taxis to get about. The good news is that taxis are cheap in Goa, and the hotel provides a very good service in booking taxis for the guests - including a service to the airport.

Room Tip: Upstairs with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dec105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Good to know that you felt comfortable, at home and above all part of the Tamarind Hotel family.
We are not on the beach, but we are between 3 beaches, and yes, cars are always available, as are bikes and scooters.

Glad you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to having you with us again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
1.5 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#3 of 16 in Anjuna
389 reviews
1.4 mi away
Laguna Anjuna
Laguna Anjuna
#5 of 16 in Anjuna
229 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Goa Anjuna
Premier Inn Goa Anjuna
#1 of 16 in Anjuna
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Shanti Morada
Shanti Morada
#1 of 2 in Saligao
355 reviews
1.5 mi away
LivingRoom by Seasons
LivingRoom by Seasons
#1 of 14 in Vagator
319 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Anjuna
Villa Anjuna
#6 of 16 in Anjuna
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tamarind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tamarind Hotel

Property: The Tamarind Hotel
Address: 1286 Kumar Vaddo | Near St. Michael Church, Anjuna, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Anjuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tamarind Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in rural Goa, situated some two and half km from Anjuna and Vagator beaches, opposite a pretty white church - The Tamarind is a Portuguese style stone building with all modern amenities. With 42" LCD TV, Minibar, Laptop size Lockers, Air-conditioners, Coffee & Tea makers, the 25 rooms offer tranquility and relaxation. Though away from the hustle and bustle, every place is accessible and not distant. We provide Cars, Bikes and Scooters at a price and cycles free of cost. Our in house bakery and desserts are famous. Cotinga, our multicuisine restaurant is very popular both with in-house guests and locals. As you can see on the reviews our north Indian dishes are particularly popular. The quirky theme of the Madhatter bar is another attraction where we offer the choicest wines and drinks. Candlelight dinners can be arranged for your special celebration at a short notice. City tours by day and night can be enjoyed with assistance from our front desk. Guests enjoy playing pool at our heritage pool table. Table Tennis, Board games and the most sparkling blue pool add to the fun. We love children and have baby cots and high chairs and also special baby meals. The colors and decors are sure to relax you and signal the beginning of a wonderful holiday. Just 500 metres away is the beautiful St Michal s church ,which is 400 years old. Again 500 metres to the other side are the Miraculous Stairs,where you can make a wish . Yoga classes and massages can be organized to your convenience. Welcome to The Tamarind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Tamarind Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Hotel Anjuna
Tamarind Anjuna
The Tamarind Hotel Anjuna, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing