We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel to stay in anjuna”
Review of The Tamarind Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Tamarind Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Anjuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for 2 days (5th nov13 - 7th nov13). Staff is very good and polite. Place is very clean. My room is compact don’t know about other rooms. You can try different foods. Nice food but expensive. Location is calm good for relax. But hotel is very compact you don’t have any place to take a small walk also.

Reason for giving 4/5: As you say 4* hotel, you have to change towels and clean the room if we are staying more than 1 day.

We definetly suggest others this Hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avd437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Your comments about the staff, food and rooms is most encouraging.

We have very wide roads around us (unlike many hotels in Goa) and lovely walks to the church, magical steps and Kesha etc.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 676 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

I, along with five colleagues, stayed at The Tamarind for four days in October 2013. The stay was simply excellent. All of us had a wonderful time owing to the exceptional hospitality and courtesy exhibited by the hotel staff. The food at the restaurant was always good and the decor is beautiful. Probably this is the only restaurant which is based on the theme of 'cotinga' (a bird), with white and blue hues... The rooms were very comfortable making the stay a very memorable experience...

Room Tip: A room on the first floor would be a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VijayBhagoliwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am delighted that our enthusiastic staff looked after you so well and made your stay with us a memorable experience. Glad you enjoyed the food at the Cotinga, our restaurant overlooking the garden.
Just for information, we are adding new dishes to our menu very soon.
We look forward to having you and your friends back with us again.

Thank you for your encouraging review.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I went on a family vacation in May with kids to Goa. We selected Tamarind from the net. Selecting a hotel from the net can be risky but we were pleasantly surprised with this niche property tucked away between spacious greenery. The pool is located very strategically which helped us use it to the hilt. The rooms were spacious - a very essential when you are with kids. Prompt room service and a wide selection at the bar were much appreciated.
Recommendation - bakery at the Cotinga restaurant.

Room Tip: All rooms are pool facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Khushie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Good to know you and your family had a good time at the Tamarind Goa.

We all work hard at the hotel and a review such as yours is the ultimate pat on our back.

We assure you of the same high standard of service anytime you visit us.

Thank you

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

At first we had some issues with our booking at this hotel. They wanted us to pay in advance into a bank account or our booking would be cancelled. They said they were worried about people cancelling. I assured then we were coming and they eventually agreed to keep our booking. The place is peaceful and kept pretty tidy apart from a few odd things here and there. We were upgraded as the hotel was quiet at the time we stayed. The staff were all very friendly and accommodated to all our needs including scooter hire and storing our luggage for us as we weren't leaving goa till later in the day and allowing us to use a room to shower and freshen up after riding around on the scooter all morning. A must try is the chocolate cakes in the restaurant.
The Tamarind is away from the hustle of Anjuna beach which we liked. We just hired a scooter for 300rp or there is a bus stop out the front. Not sure exactly where it goes though as we didn't use it.
There is a lot to explore in goa and we only saw a very small part.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebayj83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Glad you enjoyed your stay. And yes, a lot of guests visit the beaches (not far) and then enjoy the relaxed atmosphere at the Tamarind.

We take great pride in our restaurant the cotinga. A lot of local guests visit our restaurant. We also has a home delivery service.

Our owner is a master baker and chef and is very involved in the restaurant.

We agree there is a lot to see in Goa and we look forward to having you with us again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

It was our third time in Goa, and in a new hotel so we were a bit anxious. Our 2 kids and my wife spent 3 days at this beautiful hotel and we had an excellent experience. Everything worked very well. We had the pick up from airport and after a very quick check in with a very friendly staff she walked us to our room showing us around the hotel explaining what was were. The room are very nicely decorated not too big but with a nice bathroom .The pool is, large, and with the rooms around and the tree covering the pool, it was a cosy feeling all which is not something that you get often . We had food at the restaurant built around the Verandah and the food tasted great, given the great ambience. The kids had enough place to run around and the staff was excellent in ensuring that the kids were safe. Finally the usual wish,,,a trip to Old Goa, and the concierge arranged a car for us to go and, so that too was taken care of. To sum up, an excellent experience from all points of view, and we will go back ASAP.

Room Tip: Take the last room around the pool.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SonjoyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Tamarind for your stay in Goa. It was great to know that you had a really good time and enjoyed all our facilities.

Just letting you know that we offer a 10% discount for return clients.

We look forward to having you with us again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel situated in anjuna. Clean facilities with very modern decor. The place actually looks like the photos on their website. The service was wasnt great..about average. You will need to get a taxi or hire a scooter to get around as it is far from the main amenities.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Shaakbhaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you with us and now getting your feedback. We take all reviews very seriously as they help us improve our service.

We provide cars, scooters and motorbikes at a nominal fee, and cycles free of cost at the hotel.

Good to know you liked our rooms.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I sent them an email to book room for 2 days, which they did not confirm. Then I called reservations number and they asked to call another number. Then I call this another number, and they still ask to call a third number!! Finally, they treat me with quite bad manners saying that booking is not possible and hungs up the phone on me!! What a terrible loss of time!! Is this really how this hotel treats its customers?

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Juan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Owner at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Whist this no indication of finest reservation systems we have borne out of three decades in hospitality . We are very sorry , that one our team members was rude . Please let us know the time and phone no you called on for us to check from our call recording systems to train our staff better . I would be happy to receive a line of communication from you at my personal emailid paramarya@hotmail.com.
We have had no one with your name staying with us ,so are surprised when you say you stayed in October
Thank you
Regards
The Tamarind

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
1.5 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#4 of 18 in Anjuna
412 reviews
1 mi away
Caspia Hotels Goa - Anjuna
1.4 mi away
Laguna Anjuna
Laguna Anjuna
#7 of 18 in Anjuna
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga
1.6 mi away
Nirvana Hermitage
Nirvana Hermitage
#8 of 18 in Anjuna
215 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#7 of 125 in Calangute
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tamarind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tamarind Hotel

Address: 1286 Kumar Vaddo | Near St. Michael Church, Anjuna, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Anjuna
Price Range: $57 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tamarind Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in rural Goa, situated some two and half km from Anjuna and Vagator beaches, opposite a pretty white church - The Tamarind is a Portuguese style stone building with all modern amenities. With 42" LCD TV, Minibar, Laptop size Lockers, Air-conditioners, Coffee & Tea makers, the 25 rooms offer tranquility and relaxation. Though away from the hustle and bustle, every place is accessible and not distant. We provide Cars, Bikes and Scooters at a price and cycles free of cost. Our in house bakery and desserts are famous. Cotinga, our multicuisine restaurant is very popular both with in-house guests and locals. As you can see on the reviews our north Indian dishes are particularly popular. The quirky theme of the Madhatter bar is another attraction where we offer the choicest wines and drinks. Candlelight dinners can be arranged for your special celebration at a short notice. City tours by day and night can be enjoyed with assistance from our front desk. Guests enjoy playing pool at our heritage pool table. Table Tennis, Board games and the most sparkling blue pool add to the fun. We love children and have baby cots and high chairs and also special baby meals. The colors and decors are sure to relax you and signal the beginning of a wonderful holiday. Just 500 metres away is the beautiful St Michal s church ,which is 400 years old. Again 500 metres to the other side are the Miraculous Stairs,where you can make a wish . Yoga classes and massages can be organized to your convenience. Welcome to The Tamarind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Tamarind Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Hotel Anjuna
Tamarind Anjuna
The Tamarind Hotel Anjuna, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing