We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dessert lovers!!! This is it!!!”
Review of The Tamarind Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tamarind Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Anjuna
Certificate of Excellence
Goa, Goa, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dessert lovers!!! This is it!!!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

if you love desserts please please go here! You can do without the main course and just relish the cheese cake and the shakes which are to die for!!! Also the rooms are quite cute and the staff is extremelely friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prachi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

So good to know you enjoyed our deserts so much. Our owner topped in Bakery and Confectionery and is a wizard. She goes into the details of all recipes and believes in more & more natural ingredients.

As you know we also have a home delivery service. And we make cakes for all occasions.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    212
    46
    18
    33
See reviews for
142
236
23
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

However, when we arrived the hotel had just gone under new management and was still in the process of "opening". and internet working intermittently. The rooms are very nice with mini bar, large TV screen (which worked 30% of the time). However the bathroom needed to be refurbished.rooms were very small very unfortable.batrooms r very small and one room was even clean after we checked in the staff started to clean the room.....we had our arrival drink the staff litteraly waited fr a tip but we din't tip the staff member as i had seen the reviews in tripadviser saying tat do not tip the staff caz they will annow u more....food was good ........

Room Tip: take premium suite....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prathiksha r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

This means you visited us last year ,initially we had a few teething problems, but we are glad to say we have come a long way since then, as you can also see in the reviews.

We hope you visit us again to see our level of hospitality.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I had been to Goa this April and I had booked this hotel for stay.They gave me a good package deals for 3D/2N couple stay.
The venue is amazing.The stone built building was awesome.Also they have a swimming pool which is quite clean.We enjoyed a lot.
The 1st room allotted to me had AC problem,but soon they changed to a new room.Dont know what would have done if all rooms were full.
The Food is very limited here in the hotel and also expensive.So we went out for food.
The staff are quite good and very knowledgeable.
I rate this hotel good for budget stay in Goa.its near to Vagator and Anjuna..

Room Tip: take the 1st floor rooms for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharath086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your gracious compliments about our venue and pool are very encouraging.

I can’t understand your comment about the limited food. We have a very, very extensive menu.

We hope you return to try more dishes. We have a home delivery service & also have a lot of guests from other hotels who come to us for meals.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I didn't stay in this hotel, but when we planned the trip to goa this hotel was top in our list. But somehow we chose to stay in another hotel near calangute, after reading the reviews we want to spend some time in hotel at least to have food so we dropped in after visiting anjuna beach.
The food served in the hotel was good we started with soup and I can say it is the best I ever had in goa restaurants. and then paneer tikka starter was awesome, followed by pizza that had an italian touch. the food was totally good we couldn't spend more time as it was raining heavily in goa and we also thought the hotel was little far away from calangute. the hotel staff were very courteous and very friendly. I can feel from the response in a very short time we spent in the restaurant and the manager also offered me a pickup and drop. if we wish to have diner in their restaurant. that shows how friendly they are and it is such a good place. strongly recommend for couples who likes to spend quality time in goa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeya Ganapathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is so thoughtful of you to write about us after visiting our restaurant.

Really glad you enjoyed our dishes. We will be delighted to have you stay with us on your next visit.
Do let us know your plans.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bombay
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My family & I had gone to this hotel in March 2013. The hotel and the staff were extremely helpful & friendly. The buffet breakfast had a wide variety. The room was clean & neat. We used to go to the beach & when we returned to the room - we would create a mess in the room, but the staff would make sure that the room was clean again. The pool too was a major attraction for our kids. They'd jump in before breakfast, then again after breakfast. The restaurant was good, we were never disappointed with the food!!

However it is far from the beach.

Thank you Tamarind Hotel. We had a great time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shirinlalkaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and observation. We are so pleased to know you had a great stay and appreciated everything at our hotel, The Tamarind. Just for information, we are about 2½ Km from 3 beaches & we provide a free drop.

We do provide a lavish breakfast & some guests happily call it brunch. Our owner takes a personal interest in the kitchen and all the ingredients are chosen with great care.

Glad you enjoyed our effort and hope you visit us again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

One of the best place to stay in Goa, This unique hotel has very good architecture along with very nice rooms and the interior feels so pleasant.
Swimming Pool is mid-size and also the staff is so nice and helpful.
Food is very nice and the most beautiful was the location of the hotel being away from the chaotic crowd at Baga and Calangute.

Room Tip: Deluxe and Suite room are nice, They even upgrade the rooms on very nominal charges
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DipenShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are glad that you chose the Tamarind Hotel for your stay in Goa. And now really happy that you appreciated our service and had a great stay.

Ours is a family run resort and the food and service is personally supervised.

We look forward to your next stay with us and assure you of an equally memorable visit.

Thank you for your review.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at The Tamarind Hotel from 17 - 19 August. Good place to say in a budget price. Very clean, comfortable beds, bathroom was nice and clean. The room had 3 big windows, so was light and bright. Breakfast was good value for money, buffet style, plenty of choice. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Free Wifi spread all over. Not too far from Anjuna Beach, a hop-skip-jump to the church. Quiet location. We really enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Book rooms having a balcony facing the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skirtup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing The Tamarind in Goa. It is a pleasure to receive such a heartening and encouraging review. We are actually about two and half kilometers from 3 beaches. And also close to the night market, flea market and the Club Cabana.

We offer complimentary bicycles, scooties, bikes & cars are on hire.

We hope you visit us again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
1.5 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#3 of 16 in Anjuna
389 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Goa Anjuna
Premier Inn Goa Anjuna
#1 of 16 in Anjuna
161 reviews
1.4 mi away
Laguna Anjuna
Laguna Anjuna
#5 of 16 in Anjuna
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#1 of 5 in Betalbatim
392 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shanti Morada
Shanti Morada
#1 of 2 in Saligao
364 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Anjuna
Villa Anjuna
#6 of 16 in Anjuna
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tamarind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tamarind Hotel

Property: The Tamarind Hotel
Address: 1286 Kumar Vaddo | Near St. Michael Church, Anjuna, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Anjuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tamarind Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in rural Goa, situated some two and half km from Anjuna and Vagator beaches, opposite a pretty white church - The Tamarind is a Portuguese style stone building with all modern amenities. With 42" LCD TV, Minibar, Laptop size Lockers, Air-conditioners, Coffee & Tea makers, the 25 rooms offer tranquility and relaxation. Though away from the hustle and bustle, every place is accessible and not distant. We provide Cars, Bikes and Scooters at a price and cycles free of cost. Our in house bakery and desserts are famous. Cotinga, our multicuisine restaurant is very popular both with in-house guests and locals. As you can see on the reviews our north Indian dishes are particularly popular. The quirky theme of the Madhatter bar is another attraction where we offer the choicest wines and drinks. Candlelight dinners can be arranged for your special celebration at a short notice. City tours by day and night can be enjoyed with assistance from our front desk. Guests enjoy playing pool at our heritage pool table. Table Tennis, Board games and the most sparkling blue pool add to the fun. We love children and have baby cots and high chairs and also special baby meals. The colors and decors are sure to relax you and signal the beginning of a wonderful holiday. Just 500 metres away is the beautiful St Michal s church ,which is 400 years old. Again 500 metres to the other side are the Miraculous Stairs,where you can make a wish . Yoga classes and massages can be organized to your convenience. Welcome to The Tamarind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Tamarind Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Hotel Anjuna
Tamarind Anjuna
The Tamarind Hotel Anjuna, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing