We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for Money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tamarind Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Tamarind Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Anjuna
Certificate of Excellence
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at The Tamarind Hotel from 17 - 19 August. Good place to say in a budget price. Very clean, comfortable beds, bathroom was nice and clean. The room had 3 big windows, so was light and bright. Breakfast was good value for money, buffet style, plenty of choice. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Free Wifi spread all over. Not too far from Anjuna Beach, a hop-skip-jump to the church. Quiet location. We really enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Book rooms having a balcony facing the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skirtup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing The Tamarind in Goa. It is a pleasure to receive such a heartening and encouraging review. We are actually about two and half kilometers from 3 beaches. And also close to the night market, flea market and the Club Cabana.

We offer complimentary bicycles, scooties, bikes & cars are on hire.

We hope you visit us again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    204
    44
    17
    29
See reviews for
131
227
23
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have stayed in this Hotel on the occasion of a reunion with my friends. We found this place very good and fairly priced. Specially, it's restaurant is very good. Try out the Goan Fish curry and Biryani. The staff was very humble and cooperative. The owner of the Hotel, Gaurav, have arranged free passes of a great casino for all of us, as a kind gesture.
It is near to many tourist spots such as Bagha Beach, Chapora fort etc.
A very good place to stay and eat in Goa. Go Goa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abhishekmathur612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, General Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing The Tamarind for your stay in Goa on the occasion of the reunion with your friends.

Very glad to know you felt we were reasonably priced and found the food extra special. Our owner and all of us, go out of our way to make your stay special and memorable.

Good to know you enjoyed yourselves. Please be assured of an equally good experience every time you visit us.

Thanks & Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed for 3 days 2 night. the stay was good and also the service. But looking at the price I paid I think I got less. The room was very small, bed sheet was not cleaned, they didn't provided pickup and drop from bus stand where as others are providing on the same rate. The food were pretty expensive also. Behavior of the staff was good and room service was also good. But over all I had an average experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Nilalohita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, General Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We are pleased to know you appreciated our service and staff.

We are a boutique resort of a high standard charging the least possible rates for the off season. Because of our high standards of service and quality we can never give rooms to any guests with sheets that are less than sparkling clean. Our staff will lose their jobs.
It can be possible that sheets were not changed everyday- as we need your permission (Clean My Room Board) to clean your room. However, please email us at info@thetamarind.com for anything.

We apologise that your stay was less than satisfactory. We promise to make it up to you the next time you visit us. We have much larger rooms and if they are vacant, we are happy to upgrade you.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Tamarind is just the right place to be, far from the madding crowd and for the vacation that one would look forward to. The rooms are tastefully done with all amenities. It is very clean and cozy. The food is very good, tasty and hygienically prepared, since i happened to have a first hand experience by entering the kitchen. The Restaurant is well spaced out to give you the privacy and space to enjoy the delicacy that they make.The staff are courteous and well behaved. The swimming pool is clean and nice.Its worth the stay at "THE TAMARIND" while in Goa. Suitable place for business visits or a stay with friend and family. It is surely worth staying there on a Honey Moon trip to Goa...

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abtoursindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Tamarind for your stay in Goa.

It gives us immense pleasure to know that you had a really good time with us. All our efforts to give our clients a memorable trip seem worth it when we get such happy reviews.

We hope you visit us again and promise you an equally good experience.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights when I was in Goa this July. The staff are very friendly and do everything they can to help you out. I arrived at the hotel at 9am and was given a room by 10am. Nice little pool, decent restaurant and a bar with pool table, guitar etc. I was given one of the deluxe room, I think, and it was quite large with a great balcony facing the pool.
Only drawback to this place is that there are no shops etc within walking distance to the property.
Also I feel that the hotel needs a bit of renovation work done. I was there during the heavy monsoon season, and I could see water seepage through some walls in the reception area etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GKammaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Good to know you found the staff friendly and efficient and your room spacious and comfortable. Our hotel has been completely renovated last year and the seepage due to very heavy rains has also been fixed.

We provide free cycles and bikes and scooters (at a very nominal cost) so guests can enjoy the surrounding areas.

Hope you come back again to experience the Tamarind hospitality.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

A friend recommended this hotel, as they had great experience staying there last winter.

I am glad I listen to him. The staff and service is amazing. Rooms are clean and inviting, while kitchen and food is very hygenic and tasty (very important considerations if you travelling with family).

Tucked in a quiet neighborhood, its easy to get to many beaches quickly. Ofcouse bike and car rentals are available. Staff helped us with that. We felt very well taken care off.

Offcourse if you just want to chill out there a little pool to sit around and meet other travellers.
Like my friend, I highly recommend it. Hope you find it as charming as we did - GREAT value for your money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KamalAhuja_VAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are very happy to say that a lot of our cherished guests have come to the Tamarind because other guests recommended our hotel and restaurant.

Yes, we do take great care and since ours is a family run hotel, guests can sense that extra touch.
However, we take nothing for granted and continue to work hard to keep our standards high.
So very glad you found everything up to a high standard and great value for money.

Also glad you enjoyed our pool, which I would like to add is about 25 ft by 60 ft one of the largest in hotels.

Hope you come back and give us another chance to pamper you.

Thanks & Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Small boutique hotel in Anjuna very good in pricing got it through make my trip . Good rooms, Ver good continental food and cocktails , Cute pool , Very friendly staff and proximity to beaches only if you have a car.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAJSEN22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are so glad you found our pricing competitive and food and rooms good. It is a matter of great pride for us that our specialty restaurant, the Cotinga is now getting quite popular and guests from all over come to eat with us.

I would like to mention that we do provide cars, but bikes & scooters are also available at our hotel to get that real feel of Goa.

Hope you visit us again.

Thanks & Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
1.5 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#2 of 15 in Anjuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.4 mi away
Laguna Anjuna
Laguna Anjuna
#6 of 15 in Anjuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Goa Anjuna
Premier Inn Goa Anjuna
#3 of 15 in Anjuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#12 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
2.0 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
3.5 mi away
Shanti Morada
Shanti Morada
#1 of 2 in Saligao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tamarind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tamarind Hotel

Property: The Tamarind Hotel
Address: 1286 Kumar Vaddo | Near St. Michael Church, Anjuna, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Anjuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tamarind Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in rural Goa, situated some two and half km from Anjuna and Vagator beaches, opposite a pretty white church - The Tamarind is a Portuguese style stone building with all modern amenities. With 42" LCD TV, Minibar, Laptop size Lockers, Air-conditioners, Coffee & Tea makers, the 25 rooms offer tranquility and relaxation. Though away from the hustle and bustle, every place is accessible and not distant. We provide Cars, Bikes and Scooters at a price and cycles free of cost. Our in house bakery and desserts are famous. Cotinga, our multicuisine restaurant is very popular both with in-house guests and locals. As you can see on the reviews our north Indian dishes are particularly popular. The quirky theme of the Madhatter bar is another attraction where we offer the choicest wines and drinks. Candlelight dinners can be arranged for your special celebration at a short notice. City tours by day and night can be enjoyed with assistance from our front desk. Guests enjoy playing pool at our heritage pool table. Table Tennis, Board games and the most sparkling blue pool add to the fun. We love children and have baby cots and high chairs and also special baby meals. The colors and decors are sure to relax you and signal the beginning of a wonderful holiday. Just 500 metres away is the beautiful St Michal s church ,which is 400 years old. Again 500 metres to the other side are the Miraculous Stairs,where you can make a wish . Yoga classes and massages can be organized to your convenience. Welcome to The Tamarind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Tamarind Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Hotel Anjuna
Tamarind Anjuna
The Tamarind Hotel Anjuna, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing