We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best experience ever...... Awesome ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
PRISON by thehostelcrowd
Ranked #3 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Anjuna
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best experience ever...... Awesome ”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

This place is lovely for the purpose of goa fun with buddies..... You got to make new friends from different countries n the stay experience increases many folds..... Want to njoy Goa then stay at prison being a prisoner

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Naman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    70
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
1
14
99
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2014

FIrstly i would like to thank Babal and Richard for making this an awesome experience for me. I stayed here for 3 nights and these guys insured they were the best 3 nights spent away from home. The rooms are clean and the AC is really effective even in the middle of April heatwave.The environment is absolutely kickass awesome and strictly for partyloving ppl. Great location and a prison theme are welcome additions. The breakfast ( complimentary ) is brilliant and Richard cooks up the best scrambled eggs you will have. Great WiFi all round and a Library and a free for all PC is something we have never seen in such hostels. I type this as i am checking out of this place with a heavy heart. Thanks for making this awesome guys you rock. Double thumbs up. Will Visit again.

Room Tip: The rooms downstairs are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ameyparulekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

As a solo traveller this place is great. It's full of young people wanted to have fun. If you want to be in bed and able to sleep at 8pm your going to hate this place. Massively relaxed place to stay I love it! We need more of these across India! If your like me a female solo traveller and you want to share with other girls book online. If like me you rock up your going to end up with what's left and that will be sharing in a room full of boys

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank kellystravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Amazing place! Greeted with a mug shoot and upon entering I saw a fridge full of beer! Heaven
Affordable nighty rates, cold beer 24/7, fellow party people, and a short walk to the beach. What more can you ask for.

I paid about 320 rupees a night (5.6 CAD)



Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank sirnikhil2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This was my first experience of a hostel and I really enjoyed staying here. The place is fun and quirky and the staff are sooo friendly and nice. The place is basic and a tad grubby if you really want an honest opinion but remember it is so cheap to stay here and the price includes breakfast so i thought it was really good value for money. When you arrive they take your 'mugshot' they also have a good drinks and snacks selection and a communal area. It is also in a great location.

Room Tip: We stayed in a private room which had its own bathroom but there were also communal rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This place was pretty cool! less than a 4 minute moped ride from the beach. (everyone rents mopeds) The concept is pretty cool. Rooms downstairs have AC so if your'e traveling during warm temps keep that in mind. The have an open fridge and snack area with an honor code book. you take what you need and just write down what you got. common area is wide and comfy. Breakfast was included and basic. only thing that i could say went wrong was the lack of cold beers at one point. haha

Room Tip: Don't forget to haggle! Oh and Saturday night market was pretty dope!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cisco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

About the place, its a dormitory.. very creatively themed as a Prison. not recommended for people looking for privacy.. its a perfect party place where you get everything you need to party... and a comfortable bed to rest at night.. Though at a place like Goa nobody would like to stay in.. still its a place hard to leave coz it has all the elements of funn inside the premises.. they have a section called honesty bar.. fully loaded with chilled beers.. juices.. soft drinks.. chocolates.. wafers.. etc etc.. you just need to write your name before picking anything and it'll be settled later.. the best part is that you get chilled beers anytym.. whether 3 am or 12noon... plus as an addition.. they let you cook too in the kitchen.. they have a common area where everybody have thr breakfast and start the day with a healthy conversation with people they dont even know.. yes.. people from different places and religions meet and share their experiences... That's where the awesomeness begins.. you don't feel like leaving that common area.. someone playing guitar.. a group playing cards on other side.. some planning thr day, someone plugging in his cellphone to tge system for personal favorites and others doing random stuff.. the guy at the reception funnily says "yahan sabb share karne ka..bindass" (share everything here.. don't bother).. everything about this place is sexxy... you cannot just search for any other place in Goa once you stay here. .. a perfectly located hostel in north goa.. all happening places nearby and in case you wish you taste the calmness and peace of south goa.. rent some bikes and go for a long drive to the south.. just like we did.. the drive itself is an amazing experience to hace in Goa. I just cannot recommend any other place after staying here... best place to stay in Goa.. I would love to be a prisoner again...

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jatin2589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
0.4 mi away
Laguna Anjuna
Laguna Anjuna
#6 of 16 in Anjuna
229 reviews
1.5 mi away
JUNGLE by thehostelcrowd
0.6 mi away
Red Door Hostel
Red Door Hostel
#4 of 68 in Anjuna
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Roadhouse Hostels Anjuna Goa
3.0 mi away
Zostel Goa
Zostel Goa
#1 of 227 in Calangute
329 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pappi Chulo Hostel
Pappi Chulo Hostel
#2 of 21 in Vagator
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PRISON by thehostelcrowd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PRISON by thehostelcrowd

Property: PRISON by thehostelcrowd
Address: 970/1 Anjuna Flea Market Road, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Anjuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
/ 867m from anjuna beach/ free wi-fi/ free breakfast/ free lockers/ why goa?/ life is too short/ india is too crazy/ solitary confinement hurts/ booze is cheap why anjuna?/ party/ flea market/ hippies/ sunsetwhy prison hostel?/ attractive prisoners/ no walking tours/ no rules/ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your PRISON by thehostelcrowd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
PRISON By Thehostelcrowd Anjuna, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing