We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad place near Anjuna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
PRISON by thehostelcrowd
Ranked #3 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Anjuna
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not bad place near Anjuna”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Excellent infra, rooms are big and clean, anjuna beach is only 10 minutes from hostel. get free break fast that owner of the hostel usually prepares and serves. met many nice people there.staffs are friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RanensTravelogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    69
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
1
14
99
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
636 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Been there on recommendation from travellers we met on a tour through India. Wanted to stay there for just a night and have been for a week. Met a lot of nice people, staff is very friendly and give you a lot of tipps. It's located just closed to the beach and something of country house, it's not surrended by houses at all. Across the street is a restaurant, scooters can be rented for reasonable prices. Would there again and a few people we there already have been.

Room Tip: You can get a 2 bedroom with aircon but that's not really needed, 8 bed dorms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsorso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We ended up staying at Prison hostel after we messed up our booking at another hostel. Great place to meet people and definitely a place to stay if you are looking for the party scene and going out. A stones throw away from Anguna beach and bonus free breakfast cooked by the staff themselves!

Check it out and make sure you find your facebook mug shot afterwards.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsyeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2014

some of my British friends recommended me this hostel so i stayed there for 4 nights from 30th,Jan 2014 to 3rd.Feb2104. It was good expertience. near the Anjuna beach and 25 hours open . party animals can enter at anytime in the early morning. and the free breakfast is good .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jizhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Prison hostel is great if you are looking to meet people how are always looking to have a bit of fun. The staff are friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is amazing if you are looking for a place where there is almost always something going in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharpymerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This was definitely one of the hostels that I wont forget soon. If you want to meet fellow travellers and have a lot of fun, this is the place. It's clean, simple breakfast, good lockers for backpack, fun (drinking)games, a lot of likeminded travellers etc... Hostel is a bit far from the beach, but then again it's a nice neighborhood and the walk is not that bad.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah_Belgica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

No trip to Goa would be complete without staying here, especially if travelling solo. Everyone in the hostel went out together each night I stayed, making for an amazing atmosphere of like-minded, really cool people. The place is clean and the beds are pretty good by hostel standards (not that you spend much time sleeping there). As they say, don't stay here if you're after a good nights sleep, but if after a real hostel experience this place is perfection.

Room Tip: Stay in a downstairs room away from the common area if you want a better sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsKatiex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
0.4 mi away
Laguna Anjuna
Laguna Anjuna
#6 of 15 in Anjuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.0 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
0.6 mi away
Red Door Hostel
Red Door Hostel
#4 of 66 in Anjuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
JUNGLE by thehostelcrowd
0.4 mi away
Roadhouse Hostels Anjuna Goa
3.0 mi away
Zostel Goa
Zostel Goa
#1 of 224 in Calangute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PRISON by thehostelcrowd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PRISON by thehostelcrowd

Property: PRISON by thehostelcrowd
Address: 970/1 Anjuna Flea Market Road, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Anjuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
/ 867m from anjuna beach/ free wi-fi/ free breakfast/ free lockers/ why goa?/ life is too short/ india is too crazy/ solitary confinement hurts/ booze is cheap why anjuna?/ party/ flea market/ hippies/ sunsetwhy prison hostel?/ attractive prisoners/ no walking tours/ no rules/ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your PRISON by thehostelcrowd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
PRISON By Thehostelcrowd Anjuna, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing