We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed culinary experience”
Review of Cafe Cotinga

Cafe Cotinga
Ranked #2 of 4 Dessert in Anjuna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, and inspired by the brilliantly colored, blue songbird of the tropical forests of Central and South America, COTINGA at The Tamarind is truly a haven of peace and beauty. The restaurant is sprawled between a central courtyard that overlooks the hotel's beautiful natural garden. With a seating capacity of 50, guests have the option of dining indoors as well as al fresco. Very large TV screens make watching games so much more fun . There is an indoor and an outdoor bar serving the choicest drinks. Our fresh juices and smoothies are not to be missed. We serve special coffee, including Illy (spanish coffee)and fresh Tamarind Tea. The outside garden is accented with private tables hidden amidst the verdant tranquility. And the loungers are so comfortable ,you can fall asleep in them . Private diners looking for a truly intimate evening can opt for the 4-seater table nestled within the charming outdoor birdcage. You are spoilt for choice by a menu that offers multi cuisine flavors from around the world, including seasoned Italian, Chinese and Indian dishes, delectable seafood, delicate meats and signature pastas and pizzas. Our Tandoori dishes ,Butter chicken and Mutton Seekh kabobs are famous all over . The ever-popular homemade desserts are the perfect way to end your meal. Try one of the many scrumptious delights - apple crumble with ice cream or the signature banofee pie, chocolate ecstasy cake sure to leave you coming back for more. Guests can catch a game of pool (on the antique pool table )while the including valet parking is available wait for the food to be served. The Buffet Breakfast changes every day and is open for all .The ALL DAY English and American breakfast is particularly popular. Babies are welcome and we have baby high chairs and a baby menu . Wheelchair is also available. Free Home Delivery and Take Away options are also available. Restaurant timings are 8.00 am to 11.00pm Wednesday evenings are special with the best live music in town Lots of Parking ,including Valet parking is available. We accept credit cards.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

They claimed to have the best Tandoori in Goa!!! I would say one of best desserts!!! Continga is quite a place...they have a great indoors place. Very neatly done up and the bar too. A pool table to chill around with a glass of beer. Even the outside covered seating area is pleasent. Since its monsoon at this time of the year we couldn't sit in the gardens. Which I believe is the best place to be.

The food was of top quality (not just the Tandoori), the pasta, fish curry and the prawns were as good. We also sampled the wide variety of desserts and all came out tops.

Service was courteous and the lady (owner) spent good quality time with us and even showed us around the property. They even have 25 rooms and suites (The Tamarind). Next visit will surely try and stay there...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank shomsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotingaattamarind, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Cotinga, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Dear Guest ,
Great to know you enjoyed your meals and desserts at the Cotinga Cafe .
Your generous praise is very flattering and encouraging.
We like to say ,we cook from the heart .Many dishes are actually passed down from favourite recipes of the family .Our ingredients are also picked from all over and we don't compromise on quality ,even if we have to send for it from far away places. We believe this is what makes a difference to the cooking .
We assure you of the same high quality of food and service every time you choose to dine with us .
thank you
Regards
Cotinga@TheTamarind

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Cafe Cotinga
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 171 of 189 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the tamarind hotel in Anjuna. The hotel is well maintained, clean and very welcoming. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. We had booked a standard room but were upgraded to a deluxe room upfront.

The pool is very clean and worth a dip. The ambience of the hotel is perfect for a relaxing holiday.

The breakfast is filling and has a average choice. On the other hand the ala carte menu for lunch & dinner had varied choices and the food was delicious.

The lounge is very cosy and the drinks are priced nominal.


The only drawback was two single beds were clubbed together and two single separate duvets were offered. However the beds were comfortable and the linens were fresh and clean.

Thank Mcbalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotingaCafe, General Manager at Cafe Cotinga, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We take pride in our hospitality and attention to detail so it's good to hear you remark about the cleanliness of the rooms.

Hope you will visit again!

Warm Regards,
The Team @ Cotinga Cafe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

People please don't go this hotel, it really sucks. No facilities, no electronics working and actual hotel is different than seen in photo.

3  Thank Hetav V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotingaCafe, Manager at Cafe Cotinga, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2015

Dear Sir,
We cannot trace your contacts anywhere and are convinced that you did not stay with us .
It is then very unethical for you to write about us in such derogatory manner to malign us.
There should have a law against such things .
Just for everybody s information,there is no photogragh on any website that is not genuinely taken at our hotel .
In fact Online Travel Agents such as Make My Trip among others have also sent their teams to take photographs ,which they have shared with us .We have had short films and many many photo shoots here.Companies pay us to shoot at our hotel .We do not encourage this as we do not want our guests to be disturbed in any way .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

One of the Best Food and Bakery Products in Goa
you can try anything from there Menu and it wont let you down
Fresh Juices to Tandoori Items to Main Course to Deserts all are more then what was expected

Thank Manik87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotingaattamarind, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Cotinga, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Dear Guest ,
Thank you for your very encouraging and lovely review of the Cotinga Cafe at The Tamarind,Goa.
That you enjoyed every dish you ate makes us very happy .
We would like to mention that we make every effort not only to maintain our standard ,but also to improve it . Please be assured of the best quality of food and service every time you visit us.
Thank you for your feedback.
Regards
Cotinga@The Tamarind

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We spent a lot of time at Cotinga during our stay at the Tamarind Hotel. Since the hotel itself is quaintly located, a meal here is uninterrupted and relaxing. There is plenty to absorb at first, like most things beautifully decorated. Its spread over a large al-fresco seating at the front garden leading up into the main courtyard.. We often sat outside in their garden, beneath the tall trees, beautifully decorated with candles, white drapes and indeed very romantic. They have a crafty outdoor bar too, perfect to wind down a lazy evening. You can also play a game of table tennis or try your hand at pool while you wait for your order, its really one of those relaxed, unpretentious casual places. The food here is really very good!!! I particularly loved the tandoori fish, butter chicken and Indian curries, also try the pizzas and fresh juices! Overall the menu had many choices. This one time the chef made us a tasty spaghetti in pink sauce with sun dried tomatoes, it was simple yet delicious! Must admit the prices for the quality are very reasonable. Shacks in Goa would probably charge more. Their breakfast buffet spread was worth waking up for! Staff was courteous and the service was kept up to mark.

They had a delicious dessert counter decorated with an overhead birdcage artfully matching the restaurant’s bird theme - beautifully done!! Must try their strawberry cake, brownie with ice cream, banoffee pie and well everything on this menu ☺ is absolutely out of this world. I must say the desserts were really amazing!! Definitely claims its place as one of the top ‘must-go’ places in Goa!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aaftabmehra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotingaattamarind, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Cotinga, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Dear Guest ,
We are absolutely flattered by your most detailed and beautifully written review of The Cotinga Cafe at The Tamarind.
We all work hard and feedback such as yours is very encouraging and the ultimate "pat on our back"
Thank you for your appreciation of our decor and the dishes at the Cotinga Cafe.
We do hope you visit us again .We also assure you of an equally memorable experience every time you choose to stay with us .
Our warmest regards
Cotinga@thetamarind

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Cotinga also viewed

Havelock Island, Andaman and Nicobar Islands
 
Havelock Island, Andaman and Nicobar Islands
 

Been to Cafe Cotinga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing