We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
53
43
13
4
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
43
13
4
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson stiltsperfect locationshackbamboogoachill
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 127 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I had checked every place for accommodation from behind the North end of the beach with no luck. Everywhere was booked out then I came across Tantras. Overall my stay was pleasant with my only gripe being that the huts floors were sand which quickly migrated to the bed. The position on the beach allows for quick and easy access to either the North or South ends in a reasonable time while being far enough away from the likes of Hippies so the noise in the wee hours does not get too disturbing. The down side of this location is at night it's in an unlit area and due to the rocks and tide the best option is to go through the warren of unlit roads at the back. Navigating the dark at parts may not be so hard but at Tantras I may have given up if not for bringing a torch.

For what I have seen at other lodgings I would have to say the initial 800 Rs for a hut was over priced. I should say that the showering facilities are not the greatest and though much of the inside was lit the back end was left partially unlit and with nobody there to prevent access to would be thieves. I just didn't feel I could leave anything of value in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoaScoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tantra_Anjuna, Designer of place at Tantra Beach Shack and Huts, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Sir, Thank you for your review ! I would like to bring to the notice of our valued guest, that, at Tantra we follow strict guideline given by government environmental department, that we can not have any fix thing or construction after 31 may on wards every year, because shack licences are given for a temporary build up with, natural material such as, bamboo, coconut leaves etc.., So we are not allowed to build any floor over sand. Every year we remove A to Z huts and shack, and do not leave any thing there except the nature and trees. Same thing is with toilets, we remove all. About light, we have taken a note of it and will keep more lights, again its to save power to protect environment. However, there is night security entire night moving from one end of property to the other end. Then most room has a steel valet to keep valuables, or could be deposited with management and a receipt could be obtained. Then, when entire Anjuna, people are not able to find place, because all are full or beyond budget of clients, we still find place for a client with very little budget and make them sleep and feel welcome. I hope, it answer the points you raised and for our other clients, who do not run away, without giving a look to this "all are welcome" place, who deeply respect law and environment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

After an amazing visit to Varanasi we ended up in Goa, or Calangute to be more accurate and were in a state of shock at the horror the place has become until the day we drove up the coast and discovered The Tantra. We immediately abandoned the hotel we were staying in, grabbed a bag of clothes and other essentials and moved into a Hut at tantra the same day.
Beautiful ambience, Beautiful Decor and above all some of the most beautiful people we have ever had the pleasure to meet. The place seems to attract a fantastic array of interesting characters from all over the world. The long evenings spent lazing around listening to peoples adventures as they travel across the continent, while eating fantastic food and drinks prepared by the great guys who work there , all this and the Arabian Sea lapping at the beach only yards from where you are laying. The room we stayed in had a large double bed protected by a mosquito net and large cupboard to lock away any valuables we had and the sandy ground as a floor! . There is a small fan that circulates the air if needed but as the walls dont actually reach to the palm leaf roof then its not really needed unless its the hottest time of year. We fell asleep to the sound of crickets chirping and the sea hitting the beach and occasionally the far off bass boom of some party going on (this is the land of trance music after all ). What more is needed? it is heaven for those of us who want the beauty that still exists in areas of Goa without the mass tourism and all that it entails which is taking over the main resorts. The toilets and showers are basic and clean and shared between guests and are more than adequate. The people who own and work at the Tantra are some of the friendliest and helpful i think we have ever met, nothing is to much trouble and every morning is met with a barrage of smiles and "Good morning" from all around. I could go on and on about how this place turned what couldve been a disaster for our trip to goa into one of the best places we have ever stayed ever. We were genuinely sad to leave and cant wait to return. To everyone we met, both staff and fellow travellers, Thank you so much and see you soon!.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalkeithalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tantra_Anjuna, Manager at Tantra Beach Shack and Huts, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

We do not deserve this much praise, but million words of thanks for your kindness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Young people, wonderful energy. Highly recommonded for all ! Tantric decor, art and green trees all around. Sitting comfort is in maharajah style, where restaurant has great food ! Very international place with young bag packers staying from around the world !

Room Tip: All front tree houses has view of sea and beach.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pomaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tantra_Anjuna, Manager at Tantra Beach Shack and Huts, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Heartfelt thanks for kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I had a very pleasant overall experience and would definitely return given the opportunity! It is a unique place, ideal for those looking to make interesting new friends.The beach, the people, everything was absolutely amazing!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tantra_Anjuna, Manager at Tantra Beach Shack and Huts, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Though late response from management, but thanks for staying with us and for your kind words. Great people, great spirit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

had an amazing time and met some really cool people, i would definitely stay here again.
Definately recomended for all travelers! The servis was really good and the working stuff very helpful.People all around the world. I spent a very good time and I wll visit the place agian for sure when I ll return to India.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktrkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tantra_Anjuna, Manager at Tantra Beach Shack and Huts, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you so much !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews