We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Laguna Anjuna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Laguna Anjuna
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Anjuna
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
“Just what we needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2009

We were a group of friends from New York, and stayed for six nights at Laguna Anjuna. We found it to be a very charming and relaxing place (just what we needed getting away from a hectic work pace), with friendly, pleasant, and helpful staff. As we booked the hotel we also asked the hotel for airport pick up which was very convenient, rather than find your way around as you land in a new place. The hotel is designed by a very prominent architect and we learnt that it was initially planned as cottages for a small number of families, which got converted into hotel rooms. The resulting layout ended up with quaint and charming pedestrian walks integrated in the layout which were beautifully landscaped. The lush plantings all over the hotel and near the otudoor pool were maintained nicely and lent a very soothing atmosphere. I noticed the pool was cleaned early morning before the guests got to it, which was reassuring, particularly since we noticed that it did not smell of strong chlorine as pools tend to do.
A friend and I shared a room with two twin beds, each with its individual netting. It was very comfortable with all the necessities. We all spent a quite a lot of time lounging by the pool side and even had dinner at the hotel (outdoors poolside) couple of times, even though there are many good food places in Anjuna within close proximity. We met several other guests at the hotel who were regulars to the place and spent a chunk of time there every year. In all its a good place to relax and lounge around surrounded by lush landscaping and a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    91
    32
    11
    19
See reviews for
51
81
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

I posted a review earlier saying that the pool was grren and full of dead things - we left after 4 days and noticed that within hours of being at a nice clean hotel - we stopped itching. I know India has its fair share of insects but the roofs in the Laguna are not sealed at all and all sorts of things live in your bed with you. They put a net up but this means you have no breeze at all and any animals inside the bed already have you for dinner.
One night a coconut fell onto our roof and the tile landed next to the bed (a 4 inch piece) lord knows what came in after that, they really need to check these trees.
The Z tv station was filming for 3 days while we were there - so 20 or so lighting lads and smoke machines, prima dona starlets demanding drinks and privacy in the public areas and to top it all they moved the pool table out and shut the bar.
The staff apologised and discounted the room rate by about 5% but to be honest we just wanted out of there, we had been before and stayed in a round room with a sealed roof so insect free and we went back after a good experience, never again.
Stay at Grandpas Inn or for a quite few quid more the Taj Village is pretty good.
The place needs a refurb (even though it is fairly new) and the staff need a kick up the backside.. They are sweet enough but just sit around all day and the service is very slow..

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west london
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2009

Plus : Great location for good beaches, night market and restaurants - all short cab rides away. Large cottage basic style accommodation, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and large living area. Pool was gorgeous and not full of chlorine, slightly off-track but always cabs available (at any hour). Negatives : over priced for what it was. The pool was available to non-residents for a nominal amount, therefore often full of kids having swimming lessons and there were not enough staff to accommodate these increased numbers. This had a knock on effect of getting food, drinks etc.. lunch could take up to 2 hours, they were always running out of basic items and no available sun loungers as a result. Really frustrating as a full paying guest! It is not the place to come if you like chain hotels - this is not clinical like a Hilton/Marriott & there will never be fluffy towels! But if you want to chill out, sample something a little more authentic and don't mind things a little shabby then this could be a good bet.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qatar
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2009

The atomosphere was exquisite, I felt as though I was dropped in the middle of the jungle
The service was exceptional, the staff were so kind and sweet
I loved how they had the taxis ready and waiting at the front gate, even when it was 1 am they still had smiles on their faces
Totally safe, they had safes where I left my passport, cell phone etc.
If your looking for relaxing place to chill these cottages are it, plus for the young partying crowd its just a quick taxi ride away to the club scene
I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamacitamorenita29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2009

We stayed here for seven nights. The two bedroom cottage is spacious and comfortable. At first, it took some getting used to. The mosquitoes, the heat, the lack of impeccable urban comforts (but thats India). However, by day three, we were well in the rythm of Goa, and enjoying the resort. It is laid back. Some of their laid back attitude rubs off on you and helps you relax. Especially since all the important factors have been taken care of with great attention. There are well working ACs, a good bathroom, comfortable beds. It is the small details that are a little inconsistent. For example, you may not get an answer from the restaurant if you are trying to order tea in the morning. You may not get shampoo or soap put into your room each time. If you can live with these small inconsistencies you will surely relax and enjoy the your stay here. If you seek perfection, go elsewhere.
The uniqueness: My children loved waking up to the sounds of the village next door: the rooster, the cows, the koyal birds, the kids returning from school. It was like being able to peek into a village, while being in a comfortable resort.
I was very appreciative of the cheerful welcome of the reception staff who allowed us to check in early, and even offered us breakfast that was being served at the time. We had already eaten and declined, choosing to use the shower instead, but in my extensive travels, that does not happen often and is worthy of mention. We were allowed to check out late as well, allowing us to be able to use the shower after our last day at the beach.
Breakfast was lovely. They make eggs for you in many different styles. People who love spicy food should try Goa sausage with their fried eggs. The restaurant has a lovely setting, under a large sprawling mango tree. The restaurant staff was very friendly and cheerful most of the time. There were a couple of people who seemed to be there to read newspapers rather than serve breakfast, but that would be more the norm in other places in India. We regretted not having tried the restaurant for dinner, since it seemed rather romantic when we would walk past it each night.
Laundry service at the resort was nice, but overpriced. After trying it initially, we went locally and got our clothes washed for much less than half the price. However, there is a risk attached to that. If you are planning to get things back on time, go with the resort's services.
We did not use the pool since the ocean was so close by. It served as a pretty backdrop to the restaurant. In fact, there was a modeling shoot going on there, which was entertaining.
Location is very rustic, but a little distance away from any beach or stores. Beaches can be walked to, but unless you like to bake in the hot sun, the taxi ride, 2$ is well worth the money. If you are going to the beach, ask for South Anjuna Beach. Try Lilliput Cafe there. Good free sunbeds if you use their bar/restaurant. However, dont be surprised if a cow comes and tries to eat out of your hand!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rg40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2009

The double room cottage was spacious and clean. We loved the setting and comfortable atmosphere. Unfortunately there was no hot water for 4 days and we had to make do with cold showers. On the first full day of our stay we were bombarded by a coconut falling through the roof while sitting in the lounge of our cottage - it had narrowly missed me by inches! The roof tile smashed everywhere and I was picking bits of it out of my clothes, For the next 2 days I lived in fear of falling coconuts and it was only a chance conversation that I was told that the coconut plucker had checked the rest of the coconuts and they were safe. We had received no apology from management. On our penultimate evening we saw that one of the rafters in the lounge was a rat run but we decided that sharing the cottage with a rat was less daunting than the traumatic coconut incident. Despite all this we did enjoy our time in Anjuna but felt that the high Christmas and New Year tariff for the hotel was over priced for what we got.

  • Liked — Comfortable and spacious
  • Disliked — The falling coconut and no hot water for 4 days
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindiaNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2009

We stayed at Laguna Anjuna for 6 nights at the end of our Goa trip and it was a wonderful place and deserving of the "boutique" description it has been given. We had a great room, really spacious with some great quirky touches, I loved the candle sticks, the antique style furniture and the square bath. I also loved the restaurant which was really reasonably priced (comparable with other places in town, not like other luxury hotels which price way over market) The setting and the layout was fabulous.

The location was also fine, walking distance to the beach and a quick taxi/ bike ride away from other places with Taxis always available outside the hotel. Anjuna is so spread out nowhere would be walking distance to everywhere anyway.

I loved the pool area, though the pool could use a bit of a clean but I do have a criticism which meant I cant give this hotel the 5 stars I wanted to. The pool area is not just for hotel guests, it is open to anyone for an entry fee of 150 rupees. The pool area can get busy with insufficient sunbeds for everyone, certainly not beds in direct sunlight anyway. It can be very irritating when you have paid alot of money for a nice hotel with a pool when you are unable to use this facitity as it is full of non residents and this happened to us a couple of times. Appreciate the hotel needs to make money but the simple maths are: There are around 15 sunbeds, if all are rented out to non residents at 150 rps per bed the daily additional revenue is 2250 rps. As my room cost 9200 rps per night (around 10 to 20 times the price of the average room in Anjuna) and the pool was the primary factor in choosing the hotel one would think that ensuring the comfort of the residents would be a higher priority than the small revenue stream one gets from encouraging non residents to use the facilties.

  • Liked — Stylish and cool without being pretentious
  • Disliked — Too many non residents using the facilities
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank member74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anjuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#3 of 15 in Anjuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Tamarind Hotel
The Tamarind Hotel
#2 of 15 in Anjuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nirvana Hermitage
Nirvana Hermitage
#8 of 15 in Anjuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Anjuna
Villa Anjuna
#5 of 15 in Anjuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Goa Anjuna
Premier Inn Goa Anjuna
#1 of 15 in Anjuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.9 mi away
Annapurna Vishram Dhaam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Anjuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Anjuna

Property: Laguna Anjuna
Address: Sorantto Vado, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Anjuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Anjuna 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laguna Anjuna offers Space and Grace in Goan Portuguese country house style in rural, one time hippy, free spirited Goa. Our USPs- 2 bedroom cottages with living room and attached bathrooms, comfortable and ideal for families and friends traveling together. In the midst of a beautiful, lush tropical setting-insects, small animals and all! Stone floors, terracotta tiles and Indian "tie n dye" fabrics-People who prefer the ceramic kind of five star or “boutique hotel” may be better off making another choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Anjuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laguna Anjuna
Laguna Anjuna Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing