We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful retreat with artist vibe”
Review of Laguna Anjuna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Laguna Anjuna
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Anjuna
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I’ve stayed at this little enclave hotel a number of times over the past ten years, it’s an interesting place that has the feel of an artist hangout, and if you get the right room, you can have a wonderful and relaxing vacation while staying here. Each room is totally unique, so ask the manager to allow you to see all of the available rooms upon arrival and select the one you like best. While the place could unquestionably do with some money spending on it, it still offers good value and a way to escape the madness of North Goa. The hotel restaurant offers tasty, reasonably priced food and a poolside seating area that is rarely over crowded. My room on this occasion was bungalow D, which had a small walk in closet to your right as you entered the door, and a large sitting/dining room with a TV and stocked fridge to your left. The separate bedroom offered a standard sized double bed that came with a much-needed mozzie net. (You will also need mozzie spray while staying at Laguna Anjuna if you are to stay bite free) The bathroom, while small, had a beautiful black stone floor and oversize black stone tile bathtub. The décor throughout, is new age hippie shabby chic.

The pool area itself, on this occasion proved to be somewhat lacking in furniture and some of what was available was broken. This would be easy enough to remedy with a little capital injection. Some of the other furnishings around the hotel could also use replacing, but I was happy enough with the facilities for the money that I paid.

Drinks are a little more expensive here than at the bars in Anjuna itself, but nothing shocking. The whole place feels safe and secure, with its guardhouse at the entrance and had a good mix of international clients, which included customers from India, Britain, France, Israel and Russia. I would give my latest stay at Anjuna Laguna a score of 7 out of 10 and I would certainly return again in the future if I found myself in the area.

Room Tip: Check out all available rooms as each is unique before deciding which is the best for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FroidConfortFerme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrokhManeckshaw, Owner at Laguna Anjuna, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thanks for the review and feedback, and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 240 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here between boxing day and the 4th January just gone. The strapline for this place is "a certain kind of style" and it is definitely that but in a great way. Our room was always cool and clean despite the hot climate. Staff are friendly and helpful and you couldn't feel more secure. Food is good and the pool nice and clean. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering a stay in Anjuna. Big thank you to Felix and his team!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulMarsden2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrokhManeckshaw, Owner at Laguna Anjuna, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thanks very much, and the very best to you both from all of us here at Laguna, its great making friens with our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Very nice and pleasant hotel, 5 minutes from the beach, nice location, quiet. And most of all very nice staff!!!
The rooms are spacious and very clean, the swimming pool is top. And if you like to party, Anjuna beach is full of bars and night clubs at very affordable prices.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orlando1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrokhManeckshaw, Owner at Laguna Anjuna, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Many thanks for the review and best wishes from all of us at Laguna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights in oct 2012 and was 1 of my best holidays. Food was good room was better spa was excellent and pool was awsome...

My daughter who was just 3 years then, even after 1 year she keeps me asking me to take to laguna anjuna. For her goa means laguna anjuna...

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Sagarbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrokhManeckshaw, Owner at Laguna Anjuna, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Your review is heartwarming, we're happiest serving young families and letting young children have a taste of nature. Have a great year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed at Laguna Anjuna for a short vacation , Hotel is conveniently located and have a nice swimming pool, Rooms are spacious and reminds of a typical Goan House made of wooden pillars and ambience is calm and seren , The Food served at Restaurant was nice , not spicy and of good taste

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashish42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrokhManeckshaw, Owner at Laguna Anjuna, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thanks for the review, and happy that you enjoyed your stay. Look forward seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Resort is located in the good location which greets with sound of breeze from sea , just 1 KM away from Anjuna beach., walkable distance. I had been there during rainy season and stayed there for 3 nights , There is problem in few rooms with rain water downpour from Roof.Unluckily which i had in my room and Hotel managment changed the room only after a small heated argument.
**Not a ideal location during Rainy season**
But it looks like great place to stay during summer , with tress around which keeps you cool from humidity and pool to take a dip. Resturant food is good.
Maintaince and service should be improved.

Ideal for couples durign Summer and Bunch of friends to party hard.

Room Tip: Cottage rooms are good than Suite rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mithun1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrokhManeckshaw, Owner at Laguna Anjuna, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Hi, thanks for the review. Sorry for the leaking roof experience, tiles do break with gusty winds during the monsoon.. Since then we have taken steps to ensure there is a second protective layer of waterproof sheeting over the tiles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Indeed, it is difficult to rate this hotel as it has many disadvantages as well as advantages and it depends on one's personal attitude whether one likes it or not. Let us say, it has the potential for a place different from other places, but it is run down.

We stayed in a cottage with two double rooms and a common living room. The rooms and the common living room were spacious and there was a fridge and a television. However, everything gave a sort of run down impression. Dirt from the ceiling was lying on the pillow. So, I was very glad to have the mosquito net. It had holes and since it was so close to my nose, the smell disturbed me but at least, it protected the bed from more dirt falling from the ceiling. The sheets were clean and we got a fresh towel every day which was nice. We also got a large bottle of water per person per day, nice courtesy. In the living room we could make tea and coffee which was provided for.
The soles of our feet were always dirty, from the dirty floor in the rooms ( they were cleaned but with the earthen paths in the garden it is difficult to keep floors clean) but also from the red paint on the floor. Indeed, one of the charming features of the place, that it was green and shady, also gave quite a few disadvantages, such as loud birds, annoying mosquitoes, dirty floors (it is impossible to keep these grey uneven tiles very clean).
Breakfast looked a bit budget style (as everything in the place) but it was good and we had all we needed, even nice selection of cut fruit and eggs prepared a la carte.
The food in the restaurant was good (we ate there three times) but the wait was impossible. One evening we even waited 2,5 hours and there was no one else eating there. They claimed there were orders in the rooms but that still does not justify a 2,5 hour wait for a simple order.
The cocktails were all right and only a bit more expensive than on the beach.
Staff was very friendly and helpful and one could feel a bit at home there. The reception, however, is so run down that the first impression is far from comforting. Staff still sleeping there on the floor at 8 o'clock in the morning also does not give a great impression.
The swimming pool was nice and relatively clean, but locals come there to swim. It would not bother me if they did not take the few chairs that are standing around (mostly broken and in a terrible state). Also, one reads a board that the swimming pool is closed at a certain time but why then can locals still organise their volley ball there. Just let people swim when they feel like it ...
The location is not too bad, it is about ten mins walk to the beach and to the main shopping street, the Star Junction.
All in all, it is clear that when the hotel was built, there were great ideas (the'African' style cottages-rondavels and the trees and plants make the place sort of private and cosy) but it is now somewhat run down and the whole gives a very shabby impression, starting at the reception room. This makes the price for the rooms too high in my opinion.
If you want clean surroundings, do not go there; if you want something different and are prepared to put up with the lack of hygiene (as I said but beds sheets and towels are clean, but for example before eating I cleaned the table and the paper napkins were black from the dirt) and other disadvantages, then give it a try.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laraBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrokhManeckshaw, Owner at Laguna Anjuna, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Hi, thanks for the review.and let me apologize for the discomforts which were part (though hopefully not all) of your experience. I am the builder and owner of the property, and it was modelled on the now fast disappearing Goan Portuguese style country houses and rural life style which made Goa a Mecca for travellers during the hippy years.
Sure, as anywhere else in the world, stone floors, ceilings of wooden rafters and terracotta tiles, tropical gardens, bird and animal life may be adventurously natural and soothing ,but along with natures package come the noises, twigs, leaves, mud and the occasional frog in the room or squirrel on the rafters. I can understand that stone or red cement oxide floors,whitewashed walls and wooden rafters may be construed as run down though in fact the floors are washed everyday and polish and paint renewed every year. In fact our website home page prominently carries such a description of these advantages/disadvantages, and as you yourself put it,these may inspire mixed feelings especially for those more used to the ceramic disinfected standards.
The wait for your dinner was little more than an hour, and that does need improvement. Once again, sorry. The Sally ball players come only after the pool is closed at the end of the day for safety reasons, They are a lot of athletic and experienced swimmers. and do not need supervision.
We value your review and again as we have put up on our home page "Check out Tripadvisor to see if you will love us or hate us!". Wish you happy travels and good times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
0.4 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#4 of 18 in Anjuna
406 reviews
1 mi away
Caspia Hotels Goa - Anjuna
1.4 mi away
The Tamarind Hotel
The Tamarind Hotel
#2 of 18 in Anjuna
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Nirvana Hermitage
Nirvana Hermitage
#8 of 18 in Anjuna
209 reviews
10 mi away
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
#2 of 11 in Dona Paula
658 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Anjuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Anjuna

Address: Sorantto Vado | Goa, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Anjuna
Price Range: $56 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Anjuna 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laguna Anjuna offers vintage Space and Grace in Goan Portuguese country house style in rural, one time hippy, free spirited Goa. Our USPs- 2 bedroom cottages with living room and attached bathrooms, comfortable and ideal for families and friends traveling together. In the midst of a beautiful, lush tropical setting-insects, small animals and all! Classic building arts like stone and terrazzo floors, terracotta roof tiles and Venetian plastered bathroom walls, furniture and fixtures from Bauhaus era- People who prefer modern plastic and stainless steel comfort to old world style and charm may be better off making another choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Laguna Anjuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laguna Anjuna
Laguna Anjuna Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing