We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not during Monsoon”
Review of Laguna Anjuna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laguna Anjuna
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Anjuna
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Me and my wife stayed at this hotel in the month of May. Stating with the first we ended up in this hotel in monsoon season not knowing about the hotel. This hotel is an amazing one and exceptional VFM when it is not raining. You get a decent living room, Hygienic bathroom and (good)different bedroom.. We liked the moment we walked into it. But rain happened after that and ruined our complete stay. The hotel is not catered much for rains or may be we were just unlucky. Rain had seeped into the roof tiles and spread into the complete room, making it really nasty for just being in that room. We had booked our trip through Expedia. After the 2nd day of heavy rain we snapped and tried to get an another room. But there was no luck for us and the hotel didn't assure any rectification on the next day and the owner just refused to talk to me on the phone. (That attitude of a hotel owner really makes anyone mad...That was the worst thing about that hotel). We checked out after that day and the hotel refused to take any money from us.. IT was sweet but after two day rains and making us mad...that is the least they can do..

Pros: Good welcoming staff, off beat rooms, close to Anjuna beach, VFM, pool, etc
Cons: Not at all for monsoon,problem handling very bad.

Room Tip: Not for monsoon, other seasons thums up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karthik_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrokhManeckshaw, Owner at Laguna Anjuna, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Hi, I was away at a private engagement that night but on the phone several times with the staff re your problem. They were aware of the ground situation far better than I could be and they would always do everything they can for the guests. The whole area was blacked out because of the flash storm, the hotel was on generator. Sorry for your discomfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 237 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

Been staying here for a week every year for the past 6 years now.
And I love it.
Of late, Anjuna is slowly getting more and more commercialised, but this is a place that still draws me back to it.
It isn't for everyone. Not everyone will take to the stone cottages and the walkways between the cottages.
The food isn't that great really, but if you are staying here, it is for a friendly chill experience. They have a decent pool table and guests can play pool for hours, while chilling by the pool and sipping on strawberry banana shakes and beers.
We spent most of our time in the pool, which they really make a great effort in keeping clean but it isn't humanly possible to keep it spotless. I havent checked out their spa yet, but i believe its quite decent.
The rooms are cosy. If you are going in a group of 4-5 people you should try getting the Dome cottage. Its super chill.

Room Tip: Choose the Domed cottage if you travelling with 4-5 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mind B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrokhManeckshaw, Owner at Laguna Anjuna, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thanks for the review, and glad you feel at home in Laguna Anjuna-see you again soon, till then wish you happy times

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Anjuna is not a place for family & kids - hence my title.
Laguna is quite spectacular - the layout of the property that has lovingly & painstakingly preserved as much natural fauna as possible is a refreshing change from the neatly manicured grounds one abhors.
The room was a surprise - it was round. And once we got accustomed to it, it was quite charming. I especially loved the open brick work in the dome roof that ended in a lovely stained glass sky light.
Furnishing was simple but adequate.
Linen was clean & fresh.
Food was wholesome and in large portions.
The staff did their best - with a few bunglings that can simply be excused given their lack of language skills &/or training.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNBharucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrokhManeckshaw, Owner at Laguna Anjuna, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Hi, thanks for the review, and glad you had a good time. Would like to say though that despite being a party beach destination, Anjuna and Laguna Anjuna are actually very family oriented and child friendly.
We
look forward to your next visit, perhaps with family, and helping you discover the village!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had a really lovely time at the Laguna. Perfectly located in the heart of Anjuna, with all the "in" places just short bike ride away. The lush hotel grounds are perfect for a warm day, you can disappear in your room or hang out in the garden with a great pool. Really friendly staff with authentic laid back Goan attitude. Had a great seafood dinner one evening listening to some amazing reggae music. You can see the hustle of the flea market on Wednesdays right across in the distance, so quite easily reached. A must do. Rooms were very comfy with a real rustic beach feel. Cant wait to go back...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chixking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrokhManeckshaw, Owner at Laguna Anjuna, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for the review, we love it when our guests explore all of pretty Anjuna and around.
Look forward seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I am sad to have to write this review cause this once was a beautiful place, but i want to wake up the person managing this place now. i am also a guesthouse owner in india and know that u have
always to check on ur workers otherwise nothing is done proper. it is not enough to contract 15 workers and let them do the work. they simply dont see hanging cables or garbage between the
plants cause if u grow up with a huge garbage problem all around u then u wont see a bottle cap or cigarette buds on the floor and less pick it up and put it into a waste basket.

when we arrived at the reception the 2 guys did not speak english and did not belong to the reception. the first impression on the place is ok but soon u realize that there is no or almost no maintenance.

THE ROOM: the only window was half used for the prehistoric air condition where u could not change the temperature. wire was hanging almost on all electric devices. the water from the sink flushed down on ur feet and run along the bathroom.
the light not working in the bathroom. the fridge was stuffed with drinks which was ok. there was a private garden attached which was once sure very nice but now used as garbage dump.
all plants tried up, empty tooth past, plastic bottles, parts of an old air condition, cigarette buds, more plastic waste and used paint brush....i closed the door into the garden fast.

THE POOL: really big and looks like a lake, but around the pool about 30 to 40 tiles r broken with sharp corners right on the edge of the water. on the grass cables and tubes r
visible which is kind of scary to lay on...once they have been under the grass. the equipment to clean the pool is laying in the back and looks like used a couple of years ago last with lots of rust on them.
the part in the water where u climb out of the pool is done with stain less steel and the part above the water is normal iron which of course is rusty ans with holes eaten the climate. the cushions they have to lay
on should have been changed years ago though they provide towels to cover the broken and ripped apart sight of them. the floor of the pool looked like never cleaned though the surface of the water got cleaned with a net hanging
onto a bamboo stick. the pool was never really clean....it more looked like in a lake with leaves and small animals swimming on it. the last day 2 guys with beer bottles entered the pool and
nobody of the stuff said anything. i just saw the stuff charging money for outside people coming to the pool.

BREAKFAST AND RESTAURANT: though there is a huge sign with fat red letter saying that it is not allowed to smoke on the premises i found a full ashtray on my breakfast table and cigarette buds under the table with bottle caps and drinking
straws. not a nice sight in the morning specially after the cleaning woman wiped ur feet while eating but didnt bother to pick up the garbage under the table and it was already after 9am. i think cleaning should be done
before guests arrive for breakfast. the breakfast itself is so poor that on the second morning i brought my own cheese, cause they dont offer cheese for breakfast. there was only one type of bread available so i bought a nice sour dough
bread in a shop. the marmalade they provide looks like plastic jam (bright red color) and the same way it tastes. i brought my own organic jam from the store. as for muesli there was try crackers and Kellogg's. the cups i think have not been
bigger than 50ml which is like 2 sips then u had to get up and fill ur cup again.

AROUND THE PROPERTY: which once was nicely done with love now was fixed with plastic and ropes. between the plants u could find all kind of garbage like broken tiles, cigarette buds, plastic from packing's, a metal cup half with spilled milk,
bottles broken and not broken, papers and napkins and more which doesnt belong into the garden. blank wires and cables anywhere hanging inside the rooms and in the garden.
most of the flower pots have been broken with the roots of the plants hanging on the floor. plants which have been nice looking a few years ago now where growing too high so that the green part was over ur head and u where looking into the plant stalks only. paint was missing
on many parts of the building. the roofs where used to keep the broken tiles on top of the good tiles. it looked as they could slip down anytime and fall onto ur head.

The person writing the management responds is talking always about the down pour and rain and monsoon and stating that this is the problem of the weather. u judge for urself
if this is the case or just excuses from someone who doesnt reinvest any money in maintenance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OliverMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrokhManeckshaw, Owner at Laguna Anjuna, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Hi, thanks for the individual points regarding the upkeep of the property, will certainly correct and do whatever needs to be done. I was very much at the reception when you spoke and price bargained with Felix, and both of us certainly do speak English. I also remember you saying that you did not keep your own guest house open in the monsoon because of monsoon issues and smells, so I was a bit surprised to read this as if coming from myself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have been coming here for 12 years ( I have literally grown up here) and it is the best boutique hotel by far in Anjuna and one of the most charming hotels in Goa period. More than just a home away from home, this country inn, boutique, has character, a certain style which is hard to find anywhere else. The staff right from the reception to the waiters are ever smiling, helpful and charming. The food is great right from the seafood to the steaks (Chicken Steak with Pepper sauce in particular) as well as my all time favourite Crepe Suzette. On Fridays, the hotel has reggae nights ("Could you be loved" You certainly can in Laguna !)....I love everything about it. The rooms are fantastic, if you ever are lucky enough to get 'H' Cottage - you will fall in love with the brick dome. It is quite spectacular. If you are a dog lover like I am, there are some of the friendliest and sweetest dogs who greet you especially during breakfast, and not just for the fantastic and aromatic food ! This is my getaway from everything and will always continue to be...Laguna Anjuna will always be everything you want in Goa...

Room Tip: Cottage 'H' for a spectacular dome ceiling. However, if you do have friends, i would suggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShunyaLuxuryVillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrokhManeckshaw, Owner at Laguna Anjuna, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you very much, thats put a smile on all our faces! Look forward seeing you, your family and friends again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Pleasantly surprised by this small hotel surrounded by trees and greenery.l am disabled and they when out of their to help me.Friendly staff made this place like home.Good food at all times of day (I personally thanked the chef's when we left).Great location away from busy road car fumes and noise.All the best beaches in goa are north of here. If you like to stay in large flashy hotel and wave to all the other residents on their balconies looking back at you listening to karioke or wack cover bands this hotel is not for you.I would go back to this hotel after staying at other hotels in goa at both ends of my budget 6star or 3star.
.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timsnowfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrokhManeckshaw, Owner at Laguna Anjuna, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for that, that was heartwarming! Till we meet again, best wishes and happy travels from all of us here at Laguna Anjuna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
0.4 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#3 of 16 in Anjuna
400 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Tamarind Hotel
The Tamarind Hotel
#2 of 16 in Anjuna
638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Anjuna
Villa Anjuna
#5 of 16 in Anjuna
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Caspia Hotels Goa - Anjuna
0.6 mi away
Palacete Rodrigues
Palacete Rodrigues
#13 of 16 in Anjuna
42 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
#2 of 11 in Dona Paula
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Anjuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Anjuna

Address: Sorantto Vado | Goa, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Anjuna
Price Range: $53 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Anjuna 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laguna Anjuna offers vintage Space and Grace in Goan Portuguese country house style in rural, one time hippy, free spirited Goa. Our USPs- 2 bedroom cottages with living room and attached bathrooms, comfortable and ideal for families and friends traveling together. In the midst of a beautiful, lush tropical setting-insects, small animals and all! Classic building arts like stone and terrazzo floors, terracotta roof tiles and Venetian plastered bathroom walls, furniture and fixtures from Bauhaus era- People who prefer modern plastic and stainless steel comfort to old world style and charm may be better off making another choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Laguna Anjuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laguna Anjuna
Laguna Anjuna Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing