We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY UNCOURTIOUS RECPTION AND STAFF”
Review of Laguna Anjuna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laguna Anjuna
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Anjuna
delhi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ABSOLUTELY UNCOURTIOUS RECPTION AND STAFF”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Reception staff spcly lady is very rude... i hv stayed at luxury n budget hotels but to my surprise wen i checked in at laguna anjuna...no welcome.. no good afternoon.. no greetings.. except that the proprty lacks hospitality..it is a rustic resort... breakfast is very poor... again the staff was keen on pleasing the foriegners..they were least bothered about everyone else...
I liked the property though... spacious cottages.. nice cool n green ecological surroundings...but again at the time of checkout.... not even a simple bye.... leave alone phrases like visit us again or how was ur stay.... as if i had stayed for free.... MY REVIEW... on my trip i stayed at three hotels...( in jan 2013)... all chosen via cleartrip....the other two turned out to be awsome and the one i was very keen on staying(laguna anjuna) turned out to be very boring just because of their reception and uncourtious staff....

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank r0zinaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrokhManeckshaw, Owner at Laguna Anjuna, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Sorry you had this experience. I assure all our guests are valuable to us, whether Indian or foreigner. The staff did not mean any discourtesy, many guests prefer not to be fawned upon or pestered, and perhaps that's why the staff member came across as discourteous. Thanks for sharing your feelings and pointing it out to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    92
    32
    11
    19
See reviews for
51
83
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vadodara, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a 4 night stay at this place and believe me its a terrific place to live. Its a beautiful blend of luxury, simplicity and comfort. The cottages and the greenery gives a feeling of village. The place is well maintained. The staff was very welcoming and polite. All and all a good place for vacation. Mind Freshening stay.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palak_Gandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrokhManeckshaw, Owner at Laguna Anjuna, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks! And delighted to have you with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed in the double room suite. This place is like a hidden gem in a place where you will least expect to find it. Rooms are beautifully done. Thought they are not the most luxurious ones but still much more than comfortable. Old style look has its own charm you see. Most importantly they are maintained well. Staff has a smile on whenever you meet them. They are really helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PritS_Zen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrokhManeckshaw, Owner at Laguna Anjuna, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for the review! Look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I could not have been happier with the room, oversized, spacious and with style and grace. I was particularly impressed with the food and in fact cancelled dinner reservations at a restaurant over dining in by the pool and lush landscaping. It was delightful and I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone looking to spend a comfortable, relaxed and pampered holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erick195232655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrokhManeckshaw, Owner at Laguna Anjuna, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thanks very much! Would love to have you stay again, and introduce you to some of Anjunas and Goas rural charms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have been coming to Laguna, Anjuna since the past ten years and will continue to do so. It is a home away from home. I don't even feel it is a hotel anymore since I feel so at home. Goa is not a place where one should stay in a boring 5 star - but rather in a place which is rustic,sleepy and nice. Laguna is perfect for that - right from the ever smiling staff to the airy and charming cottages. The food and drinks are good and the best thing about Laguna - is that they are priced very reasonable. Their friday nights sometimes have chilled out and tranquil artists who come and play music. Tip: ask for the catch of the day - rava fry with fish reachado based masala chips and salad (its not on the menu; but theyll make it anyway): for vegetarians: the veg thali is excellent. For entertainment - there is a pool table and also an excellent swimming pool with a beautiful garden area. Anjuna overall is a noisy and not so nice place - but Laguna is a pearl in this area.

Room Tip: Ask for the double room if you are 4 people +
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21acog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrokhManeckshaw, Owner at Laguna Anjuna, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thanks very much! Guests like yourself who love exploring and experiencing off the beaten track are the reason for Laguna Anjuna. Look forward to meeting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our stay at Laguna was amazing.The big cottages and the beautiful blue walls of our huge spacious cottage in between the lush greens were amazing and everytime I entered the hotel i had a big smile on my face.With the beaches close by we never entered the pool .Also the food/infrastructure was okay but i would like to stay here everytime i visit Goa.The staff was really nice and the rooms really spacious! I have nothing to complain about!

Room Tip: The 2 room cottages are ideal for a family visiting Goa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AY05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrokhManeckshaw, Owner at Laguna Anjuna, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks very much! We do best with families and look forward to meeting you again. Also if you would like news of whats happening in and around Anjuna, share photos etc, do find and join our FB group "Laguna Anjuna"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed around the new year and while there is much to be improved in terms of infrastructure -- an automatic lock could be added to cottages rather than just a latch, the pool could use some cleaning, the rooms could use 20% more sparkle -- we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Laguna Anjuna. This had to do with the fact that we were staying during the new year and had decided to bring it in at the hotel's restaurant. The service was impeccable, the food divine and the selection of wine was absolutely amazing. At midnight, the owner of the hotel came up to our table and popped open a bottle of champagne, something that added a bit of sparkle by inviting us to the garden for fireworks. Each of the guests present were given sparklers to celebrate as they watched a colourful spectacle light up the sky.
Laguna Anjuna is good value for money, clean and has amazing food! I'd recommend you grab a thali here once and share a bottle of wine with friends even if you aren't staying.

Room Tip: Meet the yoga instructor. Period!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reafshaism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrokhManeckshaw, Owner at Laguna Anjuna, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hey, thanks for that and we loved it that you chose to celebrate the new year with us. We feel that good times are about connecting with people who in some way touch your life, and not the general madness with the underlying feeling "Everybody's having a great time except me!" Wish you all everything good in the new year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
0.4 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#3 of 16 in Anjuna
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Anjuna
Villa Anjuna
#5 of 16 in Anjuna
133 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Tamarind Hotel
The Tamarind Hotel
#2 of 16 in Anjuna
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#1 of 5 in Betalbatim
394 reviews
5.5 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 66 in Candolim
1,684 reviews
4.7 mi away
Silver Sands Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Anjuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Anjuna

Property: Laguna Anjuna
Address: Sorantto Vado | Goa, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Anjuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Anjuna 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laguna Anjuna offers vintage Space and Grace in Goan Portuguese country house style in rural, one time hippy, free spirited Goa. Our USPs- 2 bedroom cottages with living room and attached bathrooms, comfortable and ideal for families and friends traveling together. In the midst of a beautiful, lush tropical setting-insects, small animals and all! Classic building arts like stone and terrazzo floors, terracotta roof tiles and Venetian plastered bathroom walls, furniture and fixtures from Bauhaus era- People who prefer modern plastic and stainless steel comfort to old world style and charm may be better off making another choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Anjuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laguna Anjuna
Laguna Anjuna Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing