We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Beach Shack restaurant with some good pasta's”
Review of Lilliput Caffe

Lilliput Caffe
Ranked #25 of 167 Restaurants in Anjuna
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Aalst, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Classic Beach Shack restaurant with some good pasta's”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We 've eaten here twice and we must say the pasta's are quite good here. We also tried some noodles which were pretty good.
Try to go when there's some live music. Then the atmosphere is at it's best. We saw a funk and reggae band and it was fantastic. Drinks are a bit more expensive but food is served at the same price.
We wouldn't go there on other nights because the trance music can get really loud and a bit too heavy for us. Whatever lights your candle of course ;-)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    80
    64
    22
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent food and atmosphere... SKETCHY and RUDE staff... Had to switch hotels...”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our first night seemed alright, food and atmosphere was good and the staff seemed alright at first...

Our first problem started with the tv in our room not working so they switched us to an A/C room which is more pricy, which was fine however the A/C didn't work but they were still trying to charge us full price for the A/C. After having to talk to the manager we finally got a regular room price.

But the biggest problem that gave us no choice but to leave to another hotel was certain staff were rude and would try scam money out of us a few times:

1. A staff member, who served us the day before, came up to us on the beach rudely claiming we have to pay to lay on the beach beds in front of the cafe, (he didnt politely ask if we were staying there, he pointed his finger and raised his voice at us!!) luckily my boyfriend is indian and speaks Hindi and had to argue and prove that we were staying at lilliput and that he had served us the day before.

2. The same day, not long after incident 1, we decided to order food from our beach beds just like we did with no problem the day before, all we ordered were some potato wedges and the server refused to serve us making excuses and again saying they will only serve people who are staying there so AGAIN my boyfriend had to prove we were staying there and so he came up with some other excuses saying the potato wedges will be too cold by the time he walks them over to us which was a load of crap! So my boyfriend complained to the owner and the server FINALLY gave us our wedges and they were nice and hot (but left the server bitter towards us).

3. The last day we stayed there (we were supposed to stay another 2 nights there) we had breakfast and our server came to us with the menu and then said "all the prices have gone up, the prices on the menu aren't correct" we of course weren't falling for that so my boyfriend again called him out on it and the server instantly got defensive and angry claiming the prices have been that all week (we had breakfast there the past 2 days and the prices werent what he was claiming) after ANOTHER long argument we switched servers and asked if it was true that the prices went up and the new server said no and he doesn't know why the other server said that.

We were SO sick of constantly having to argue with rude staff that after that last incident we went 2 hotels over from lilliput called Elephant Art and booked a cool tent style room there. We talked to the manager of lilliput about the terrible service and high taled it out of there and spent the last 2 AMAZING days at Elephant Art which is where I would recommend over Cafe Lilliput

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephycarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good music & nice view”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

just stayed here for a night..the rooom was average, the AC was was hardly working until late night due to electricity shortage in goa..the room wasn't very clean but for 1500 Rs per day for a AC room around christmas is a great deal. the music is good and they are are right on the beach..in early morning 2 am types the beach water comes upto the shacks..it is one of the lively places in anjuna which is otherwise a quiet place..

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarthickOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Music Good Ambience But Expensive .”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

HI,

We visited/Stayed at Cafe Lilliput shack and Loved it throughly, you cant ask for better option to stay in goa right on the Anjuna Beach.

Shack: Pro: Location, Good price and No Disturbance
Cons: Non AC Rooms are complete NO NO, Hot Water Never Works

Restaurant: Pro: Nice Ambience, Ok Food
COns: Very Expensive and Little Variety

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richiearora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Not too good”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Went over to Cafe Lilliput on Sunday night with friends. The location is great, right on the beach with all tables facing the sea. The place was very crowded, tables too close together. The music was very loud and trance-like. We could barely hear each other so we left after an hour. The food was average and a lot of people were shouting and dancing very close to our table. That was a bit uncomfortable. The staff were nice and service was fine. It's a good place if you're a bit high, not much fun if you're sober. :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IndiGlo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lilliput Caffe also viewed

 
 
Anjuna, Bardez
 

Been to Lilliput Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing