We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Afternoon Once Again”
Review of Sunset Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset Guest House
Ranked #10 of 76 Anjuna B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We have been visiting Sunset for over 5 years now, so in a way this review is long overdue. The latest visit in Dec'12 was no different with scrumptious food, charming hosts especially Anthony & his Mum & good spot on the beach! And to top it all, excellent prices with extensive options ranging from set breakfasts to fresh seafood to a smattering of Italian food & plenty of options for vegetarians which can be tricky in Goa. The drinks are cheaper than those in the neighboring shack & 4 of us spent an entire morning & afternoon eating & drinking for under Rs 1800. What more can one ask for

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MeghaChaddah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 71 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

If you are around Anjuna Beach, the Sunset Bar and Restaurant is definitely a place you need to visit. The location is great, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the food is simply great. If you like fish, ask them about today's catch and they will gladly show you what they have to offer for today. The Tandoori is great and not spicy at all, so it's therefore also well-suited for European tastes. Also serves great Mojitos, by the way.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank ThomasVonwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have been living in Goa for five months a year for the past 3 years and always go to Sunset for our fish. It is guaranteed to be fresh and can be cooked on the tandoori to your liking with butter/garlic or marsala in the tandoori. Anthony the owner will bring you the choice to take your pick.. incredible! It is beautifully served with onion/tomato salad, rice and chips. Fresh fish at it's very best! You can also pre-order lobster which is dressed in a variety of ways by Anthony's mum. All the food served at Sunset is delicious. A family owned business in a very chilled location.. you will not be disappointed and will be made very welcome!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TraceyJaneTop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stay in Goa long term and visit at least once a week, the fresh fish is absolutely fantastic. always fresh and beautifully cooked. The view from the restaurant is perfect free WIFI is available. Can't comment on the rooms as we have never stayed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhinos_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here for a week and loved it. Anthony and his family made us very welcome. Sunset is right on the beach in Anjuna, very chilled out sandwiched between some more lively "party" places.

This is very much a family run place, Anthony takes care of the restaurant and his wife Monica and mother Mary the rooms at the back of the property. Rooms are simple, clean and quiet. We paid 550 rupees at the beginning of the season, but expect this to go up somewhat as the season gets into the swing. We check all other guesthouses along the beach and they were both the cheapest and the best rooms.

The restaurant is excellent, prices reasonable and the service we received from Anthony impeccable. The food is very good, unlike many other restaurants in India attempting to serve western cuisine these guys have some very good tasty dishes (i recommend the spaghetti bolognaise!!). The fresh sea food was presented on a platter, explained the different types and how it would be cooked so you could make a better informed choice.

Overall we could not have been made more welcome. Very much felt like home from home.

Tip: Also the raised platform above the beach allows you to lay out and sunbathe without being hassled by beach hawkers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cathy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Sunset is OK! The staff are friendly and you're right on the beach in the midst of all the action so location is perfect.  They'll rent you a scooter for 200Rs a day and have wifi (not the best) in the restaurant.

The bed was probably the hardest bed I slept on during my 7 weeks in India. The room was extremely basic and smelled really damp and musty. This may have been because they had just opened after the monsoon though. Also, this was the only place I stayed in that didn't provide a mosquito net in Goa.

The walls could do with a lick of paint but you get what you pay for, it was a snip for Anjuna at 600Rs a night. 


  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlenedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Although we have never stayed here as we have our own accomodation we have been using the restuarant for over 10 years and several of our freinds have stayed here.

The rooms are basic and clean, very close to the beach and superb value. The restuarant overlooks the beach and serves good food at reasonable prices, importantly for India in despite eating here coming on for a hundred times over the years we have never been ill.

We are surprised at the comments on an earlier review about the family as we have always found them very friendly and helpful, i have seen them speak firmly to their staff but always with good reason. Definately worth getting to know them.

To sum up a great value place, quiet but a short walk from the lively lilliputs, curlies and Wednesday market.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mickfinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anjuna hotels
1.2 mi away
Caspia Hotels Goa - Anjuna
0.6 mi away
Villa Anjuna
Villa Anjuna
#7 of 18 in Anjuna
140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arjun Villa
Arjun Villa
#14 of 76 in Anjuna
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Banyan Soul
The Banyan Soul
#3 of 18 in Anjuna
262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#4 of 18 in Anjuna
412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Door Hostel
Red Door Hostel
#5 of 89 in Anjuna
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Guest House

Address: Goenkar Wado, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Anjuna
Price Range: $8 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sunset Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Guest House Anjuna, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing