We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in North Goa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orritel Village Square
Ranked #3 of 66 Anjuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Almaty, Kazakhstan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best place in North Goa”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

If you are planning to go to North Goa, this hotel is the best place to stay!
I just came back, that is not the 1st time in Goa, but that is the 1st time when I found the hotel where I will definitely return!
1. Clean. When my fiancé and I arrived lovely lady Smita checked us in. When we entered the room in was perfectly clean, but Smita asked a cleaning person to refresh the floor. In other hotels 3,4 stars in Goa where I used to stay, you see hair on the floor and dust. In Village Square - shining.
2. Comfortable and quiet. I left and regret that didn't ask where they buy these mattresses. They are sooo cool! Not too soft and not too hard, just what my back needed after fun day. Moreover, it was so quiet there! When you have fun all day, swim and eat - all I needed during the night - no sound of cars and crowd.
3. NO BUGS! In tropics are lots of bugs - especially roaches and spiders! But not so many hotels realize that foreigners are not used to see them in the room. ))) In this hotel I didn't see even one roach that made my dreams better lol

And finally what I would like to say is that the service was amazing, the kindness of hotel staff was so high that I had a feeling that I know these people for a long time. Thank you Debbie (manager of the hotel, the loveliest lady), Smita - receptionist and the guy from the restaurant (forgot his name).
Thank you for making our days in India!

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    64
    25
    8
    6
See reviews for
57
78
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My first time to Goa. Was traveling with my younger brother. I had a great experience at the Village square. We had a warm welcome by Arish (manager) who checked us in and got us to our room within 5 minutes. The room was brilliant, quaint and functional. Possibly the best sleep I’ve had in a hotel in India, the mattress and pillows were clean & very comfortable. Perfect for some R & R. Debbie (manager) was very personable and the rest of the staff was attentive.
This resort is not your typical 200+ rooms, large noisy types, it is a small and peaceful 17 room resort which is well laid out. With 17 rooms, it makes for a cozy and intimate stay if that’s what you are looking for.
We didn’t have much experience with the food there. The breakfast was sufficient. We got a couple of eggs each made the way we like. The resort is minutes to Vagator Beach and the main strips in Anjuna which is convenient for meals/bars, shopping and entertainment.
I would definitely go back but with a girlfriend instead of my brother( age 26) as he was looking/jonesing for more of a typical Goa party scene/stay. I'm 35 and like to party as well but enjoy coming back to a clean and peaceful environment to rest and rejuvenate. Village square is perfect for that!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at Village Square for 2 days, a couple of weeks ago.The rooms were very clean and spacious; the swimming pool was well maintained and large by Indian standards. The bathrooms were the size of full fledged rooms and spotlessly clean.

The manager, Debbie, was extra nice to us and allowed us to check-out well past the normal time. The restaurant food was absolutely delicious and the staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. In fact, we got help with renting bikes and plenty of helpful recommendations for places to check out around Anjuna.

Overall, it was a 5 star experience for the price of a 2-3 star hotel and I recommend it without any hesitation whatsoever.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash297586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2013

A very tranquil resort with big spacious contemporary rooms, nice food (meal timings are fixed though) and feel at home hospitality. The manager Ms Debbie is very enterprising and is always doing her bit to make the guests' stay interesting. I had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarawagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We ( 2 adults & 1 child) have just spend 1 wonderful week at The Village Square.

Before we went, i had contacted the hotel regarding how to get there from the airport, and the manager arranged a taxa pickup for us, witch was very nice, we arrived at Dabolim airport at 23h30.
When we arrived at the hotel, we got the key to our room, nice spacious, clean and well furnitured. The manager was very forthcoming and nice, she explained that the tube lying outside our roomdoor was wire for the telephone because they were abolut to install telephones in the roms so there would be roomservice. We felt that there were a very nice atmosphere; it was just like a familyowned business. All the staff seemed happy to be working there.
During the week we spend the mornings at the pool and went on trips during the day.
Generally we only have positive words for the hotel. The restaurant, staff and location was more than we expected. This is a wonderful place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise_Heldmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevillagesquaregoa, Manager at Orritel Village Square, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks for the lovely comments Louise and taking the time to keep Tripadvisor updated about the hotel.

Please do think of us if you are planning on another trip to Goa with your extended family.

By the way 2 of Ella's clothes got left behind in the laundry, so sorry about that - you will have to come back and stay then I can return them :)

Best wishes

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

What started out as a pleasant surprise in the form of large rooms, very prettily decorated with antique furniture and four poster beds, very soon started toward a downward spiral in the form of everything else. This property has about 10 rooms around a rather nice pool but location wise this is pretty difficult to find. There is no room service, no telephone in the room to call the reception for anything so you have to trudge up and down for any concern you might have. It is staffed with very minimal amount of people so its not the most convenient of service that you might expect.The car parking space can barely hold about 4 cars so if you end up late, then you are parked out on the road which is very narrow.The restaurant serves food that you can eat if you have no other choice to go with.

We were a group of friends and since everyone landed at different times in Goa, instead of assigning the right rooms, they were pushed to what was available and then asked to sort it out among ourselves which is just bad management!It caused a lot of unnecessary confusion and arguments between the group which could have been avoided if the hotel management could have handled it in the right way.

Icing on the cake, after such disgraceful behavior on part of the management, we were told the checkout time was 10 am...where has anyone heard of such early checkout times and we were pretty much standing on the road with our bags until we could go to the airport in the evening!

In a city where hotels are dime a dozen, and everyone is trying to outbeat the other by superior service, this hotel has no concern about what the customer wants or needs. Ten of us who went there will not be returning here for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World_on_skates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevillagesquaregoa, Manager at Orritel Village Square, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hi there, thanks for posting your review - although it wasn't favorable - we have to take the rough with the smooth! I'm the new manager at the Village Square and started just 3 weeks ago so just wanted to say we have certainly been addressing the service issues you have experienced.

Thanks again for the comments and happy travels!

Regards

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The resort was pretty and the rooms were spacious and very comfortable and the pool ws v nice and clean. however the food ws bad.complimentary breakfast had no juice and barely gave us options to choose from and food would get over before the breakfast time would end.
First day when i reached and asked for a margerita pizza, they gave me cheese on pizza bread without even puree on it, so basically i shd hv just ordered a cheese toast instead.
however the manager told me that they were going to work on the food to make it better.
i would love to go back to the place but only if the food improves.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shagun Shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevillagesquaregoa, Manager at Orritel Village Square, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hi Shagun,

Thanks for your comments and as you know, I agreed with your comments about the food. I have now completed 3 weeks as the manager of the hotel and am very hopeful that a new continental chef from Bombay will be starting with us in February....watch this space!

Thanks again for taking the time to keep Tripadvisor up to date :)

Best wishes
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
24.2 mi away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#1 of 5 in Betalbatim
392 reviews
1.4 mi away
Laguna Anjuna
Laguna Anjuna
#5 of 16 in Anjuna
230 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Tamarind Hotel
The Tamarind Hotel
#2 of 16 in Anjuna
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga
8.9 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#4 of 16 in Anjuna
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orritel Village Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orritel Village Square

Property: Orritel Village Square
Address: Plot No.399/7N Zorin Village, | Near Vagator Petrol Pump, Chapora, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Anjuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orritel Village Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orritel Village Square Resort is nestled in the middle of a pretty Goan village called Zorin, in Vagator Anjuna North Goa,typical of the quiet and truly rich Goan culture. Designed by renowned architect Dean D'Cruz, the hotel has an inviting blend of gardens, swimming pools and terraces. The resort and the rooms are carefully designed to radiate warmth, friendliness, security and luxury. The resort has 30 rooms in total. The resort is just a brisk 10 minutes walk away from the river Chapora with its pretty fishing boats and bustling afternoon fish market. Vagator Beach is a little over 2 Kilometers away and you can choose to walk, ride or drive your own rented or owned vehicle or choose to rent a taxi right outside our resort. This small but elegant resort offers a relaxing vacation with quiet luxury and a charming ambiance created with Eco friendly practices. It is great to walk around the Resort and explore the hills, greens and bay around. Orritel Village Square is located at a short distance from north Goa's famous beaches such as Vagator and Ozran with Morjim, Ashwem, Manderim and Arambol further north and Anjuna, Baga and Calangute towards its south. The staff at Orritel Village Square ensures that guests have a pleasant stay and an overall memorable holiday experience. So on your next trip to Goa, be sure to check into the comfortably appointed rooms and suites for a truly wonderful experience Wishing you a warm welcome and peaceful stay at Orritel Village Square! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Orritel Village Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orritel Village Square Anjuna, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing