We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe the best hotel in Goa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orritel Village Square
Ranked #3 of 66 Anjuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Maybe the best hotel in Goa”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We came during Monsoon season, so it wasn't the ideal time. This hotel is a breath of fresh air. We were staying at another "boutique" hotel, but the hotels in Goa use this term loosely. The hotel is a vegetarian only hotel, which wasn't a problem, because their food was out of this world good, and I've been living in India for over a year now.

The grounds are what really make this place. The pool is serene and the pictures don't do it justice. We were swimming when the sky erupted and this huge waterfall, just fell from the sky. It was really cool swimming in the pool during a monsoon.

On the upper floors they have their restaurant. The menu wasn't particulary expansive, but everything we ordered was spot on delicious.

The rooms were sparse but well appointed. They have a separate shower and toilet room. The beds were comfortable.

I would really like to go back during season, because there was a whole other level with lounge chairs and hot tubs.

Finally, the host Hanut is about as welcoming as you can get. If you've travelled throughout India, you'll know that service is funny thing...either they hover and you want them to go away, or you order something and 20 minutes later it shows up. Hanut really understands that service is meant to be prompt and available, not overpowering. He sets the right vibe. I accidentally left my phone in one of the cabs and he fedexed back to me...very lucky and very nice.

There aren't a lot of rooms and I would definitely book again...it's just enough out of the way, but close enough to the scene in Northern Goa to enjoy yourself at whatever pace you want.

Room Tip: I thought the basic room was perfectly fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Notesra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    64
    25
    8
    6
See reviews for
57
78
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I stayed here for a week in early June 2011. The hotel is tucked away from the madness of Goa but well within easy reach of all Anjuna and Goa's other beaches and attractions.

The rooms are spacious, spotless, beautifully appointed and lead out onto perfectly manicured gardens and the magnificent large free form pool. The rooftop terraces get a great breeze and have lovely views of the surrounding village.

This truly was a fantastic hotel but if I had to choose I would say that two things were particularly outstanding and unique about the Village Square - the warm and friendly hospitality and the food. Even the food at the Taj Mahal Palace in Mumbai could not rival the delicious meals I had at the Village Square.

I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Really beutiful and peaceful place, airy clean rooms, very good food and friendly hostess. I recommend the place to anyone who values peace and luxory with warm attitude and local kindness.

Just a perfect place to stay at Notrh Goa. Everything is easily reached but you have your own space at hectic Goa.

And homemade coconut ice cream took our hearts for ever!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KaisaTampere_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

The Village Square, Pernem: "Exceptional

Date: 27-28th Jan 2011

It was our first wedding anniversary and being at the Village Square made it indeed very memorable. To begin with, the resort is brand new and its design is out of the ordinary. Right from the moment you check in, the service is par excellence. Every guest is personally greeted by the owners over a cool drink and delicious cake before being escorted by the staff to their rooms. All rooms are spacious and well kept. Their decor is largely Indian, with contemprory twists in deep colours.

The swimming pool is located right in the centre of the resort and is designed beautifully with sit out spaces and sunbeds around it. There is a roof top resturaunt and bar overlooking the swimming pool. In all the resort is very cozy and has no commercial air to it. The perfect place to plunge in the pool, soak in the sun and just let yourself rejuvinate.

It is located very close to the scenic Vagator beach which also happens to have one of the best sunset points in the city. This resort is beyond value for money because it is luxury at its best. When we checked out, we were satisfied to our heart's content that nothing could have matched the warm ambience and the serene location of this resort. Not to forget the midas touch of the owners, which would make your heart want to go keep going back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Abhilasha_Malik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

The Village Square is a new boutique hotel resort that just opened in northern Goa. I stayed there over New Years 2011 and found it to be absolutely beautiful, comfortable, peaceful (even during the busiest time of the year in Goa).
Rooms: spacious, flat screen TVs with cable, fridge, amazing bathrooms with rain shower
Pool: large and well laid out
Food: largely Indian breakfast although staff was flexible
Location: a bit hard to find as the place is new and not yet well known by locals. It's right next to "Lotus Inn" if you want to find it on Google maps. It's well located close to Morjim (the cool scene during the day) and Baga/Candolim for going out at night. Removed from all the noise one finds in Baga/Candolim, etc.
Staff: super-helpful and friendly.
Hotel has 17 rooms and lots of beautiful common space. It would be a great place to host any kind of celebration.
Hotel is quality built and has great style. I highly recommend it--you will not be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank irina_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodhpur
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

We discovered this just opened gem when i was surfing the net for new hotels and resorts where i could take my family to. Good, clean rooms, swimming pool and a vehicle to Anjuna beach, just two kilometers away. The food was great and the hosts added a typically warm Rajasthani flavor to the whole experience!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sajithetravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
1.4 mi away
Laguna Anjuna
Laguna Anjuna
#6 of 16 in Anjuna
229 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Tamarind Hotel
The Tamarind Hotel
#2 of 16 in Anjuna
586 reviews
5.8 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 64 in Candolim
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#3 of 16 in Anjuna
389 reviews
24.2 mi away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#1 of 5 in Betalbatim
385 reviews
4.7 mi away
Shanti Morada
Shanti Morada
#1 of 2 in Saligao
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orritel Village Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orritel Village Square

Property: Orritel Village Square
Address: Plot No.399/7N Zorin Village, | Near Vagator Petrol Pump, Chapora, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Anjuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orritel Village Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orritel Village Square Resort is nestled in the middle of a pretty Goan village called Zorin, in Vagator Anjuna North Goa,typical of the quiet and truly rich Goan culture. Designed by renowned architect Dean D'Cruz, the hotel has an inviting blend of gardens, swimming pools and terraces. The resort and the rooms are carefully designed to radiate warmth, friendliness, security and luxury. The resort has 30 rooms in total. The resort is just a brisk 10 minutes walk away from the river Chapora with its pretty fishing boats and bustling afternoon fish market. Vagator Beach is a little over 2 Kilometers away and you can choose to walk, ride or drive your own rented or owned vehicle or choose to rent a taxi right outside our resort. This small but elegant resort offers a relaxing vacation with quiet luxury and a charming ambiance created with Eco friendly practices. It is great to walk around the Resort and explore the hills, greens and bay around. Orritel Village Square is located at a short distance from north Goa's famous beaches such as Vagator and Ozran with Morjim, Ashwem, Manderim and Arambol further north and Anjuna, Baga and Calangute towards its south. The staff at Orritel Village Square ensures that guests have a pleasant stay and an overall memorable holiday experience. So on your next trip to Goa, be sure to check into the comfortably appointed rooms and suites for a truly wonderful experience Wishing you a warm welcome and peaceful stay at Orritel Village Square! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orritel Village Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orritel Village Square Anjuna, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing