We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little resort in North Goa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hacienda De Goa Resort
Ranked #1 of 66 Anjuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic little resort in North Goa”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at Hacienda for six nights during christmas holidays. We got a 1 bed room suite which was spacious and clean and just what we were looking for. Service was excellent, the place is managed by the owners (Thomas and Susan) who were very helpful and friendly. The restaurant on the premises was clean and the served fresh food. We felt very much at home thanks to the hospitality extended by Thomas and Susan. They were so thoughtful there were even little presents under the tree for our children (and other children staying there during our stay) on Christmas morning! We had one of the most relaxing vacations ever. My daughter put it simply while checking out "next time we come to Goa we know where we are going to stay!"
Thank you Thomas and Susan for a truly great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nk1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    55
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
74
142
25
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My stay at Hacienda de Goa was definitely one of the highlights of a month-long trip around India. I was originally planning to stay for three days, but ended up staying 11 nights, and had an absolutely fantastic experience. The owners are genuine, kind, and extremely helpful-- my time in Goa wouldn't have been nearly as positive without their assistance and recommendations. Hacienda de Goa is a first-class operation, and the entire staff is to be commended-- I was always greeted with a smile, and everyone was genuinely concerned about my well-being (without being too intrusive or over the top, which is a delicate balance I've learned to appreciate tremendously when traveling abroad). The food in the restaurant was delicious and always perfectly prepared, not to mention the service was professional and outstanding. I look forward to returning to India with my family, and I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else in Goa after the extremely positive experience I had at Hacienda de Goa

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed in Hacienda for a week with my parents and had the most amazing time there. Rooms were so spacious and comfortable that we hardly felt like going out!!! The place looks really magical at night and i loved every bit of it:) I rarely give great reviews but my stay here was so awesome that it would be unfair not to say anything. The pool always looked so tempting that i wanted jump every time i passed by it.
But the biggest treat there was the food. Yummy yum yum!! Mr. Thomas made us a suckling pig roast one night which easily goes into my list of top 5 things i have eaten in my life. It was just so tasty that by itself made my stay there worth it;) I eventually ended up eating in the resort most of the time.. Great place for a family vacation!! Highly recommend it for anyone who wants to have a peaceful, leisure time in Goa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Thomas, Susan and family, firstly, thanks for making us sooo welcome. My children loved the resort and Gail and I loved your hospitality. It is rare indeed when you are made to feel like part of a family but this is just what happened when we chose to spend Christmas at your place.
The whole resort is homely and built from Thomas' masterplan. The pool was well thought out, with a seperate (but connected) kids pool and a refreshing deeper pool for pre dinner plunges.
Lenny and his team run a tight ship in the kitchen, As people have commented, the menu is small, but that just means each dish is well made and delicious. There are so many places to eat nearby this was never an issue anyway, it made us more adventurous and we explored all teh wonderful places to eat nearby - Thalassa - heavenly, La Plage - OMG the best food I've eaten in years (thanks for the tip Susan)
As for the distance from the beach, well, they just meant we took the plunge and rented a scooter, with the roads around the resort relatively quiet the family had a ball on our daily trips to Vagator (great little quiet bits for the kids) or Anjuna (crazy, seedy hustle and bustle for the more adventurous).
We miss it already, I'd say, if you want to listen to Doof Doof from neighbouring beach bars than give Hacienda de Goa a miss. If however you want peaceful ambience, caring hosts and lovely surrounds to kill off a book or two than Hacienda de Goa is for you!

Room Tip: The resort is pretty small so almost all rooms are close to the action - well pool,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I had a stay @Hacienda for 2 days during the Sunburn festival, the staff and hospitality are extremely nice. The atmosphere was very calm and peaceful, and the best beaches are closeby.
The best part about the hotel was the breakfast, which was very satisfying.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viveknair82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

As decribed by fellow bloggers, its true that the resort is away fromm the beach. But nowhere does it mention to be a beach resort. Though the entry to this resort is a little off marked but still the moment you reach the main car deboarding point, its a different view and looks altogether.

FRONT OFFICE / RECEPTION - Looks more like a reception of an 80's hotel with all gadgets like fax machine, bussiness centre, etc acitivities in place with the charming grace of Ms Susan Thomas, Co Owner of the place. Thanks to her - our check in took all but 2 minutes as we were prebooked. Somehow one can understand and agree that you are in for some old world kind of hospitality.

ROOM - It was a suite overlooking the pool. A superb location. the MAIN DOOR LOCK kept getting JAMMED and throughout our stay, we had to throw our keys to the service staff from the balcony to get us out. The room comprised of a KITCHENETTE - with basic facilities, LIVING ROOM - seating was a tad uncomfortable, BED ROOM, BATHROOM and VANITY WARDROBE.

BEDROOM - In a suite how can one place a twin bed. Just cannot understand the philosophy of it. Perhaps a King Bed in place of it would have been a saving grace. Pillows are really uncomfortable and all four are comparatively of different density material. There are way too many switches to operate which not only is confusing but irritating as well. No switch is labelled so you have to hit and trial every time you have to switch on or off anything.
They only provide room making services. Turn down services are not provided at all. So if you leave all the lights closed in the day, you will enter a dark room in the night and bump into furniture to find your way through. Then do up the curtains and fight with the blanket pouch to take it out.
BATHROOM - The bathroom is equipped with basic toiletries. The handwash liquid soap is never changed. On our stay for 10 days, we caught the housekeeping staff diluting the same with water....lolz. The bath tub is at a raised height. There is a definite chance of slipping as for the floor height difference.
FOOD AND BEVERAGE - The menu for food and beverage though not very long is pretty mediocre. Not many choices though. Perhaps one can think of doing a lot many items from the same inventory of ingredients. They served us morning tea with coffee powder added as well .. Though the real coffee is pretty mediocre too. The service is slow but goes well with the resort. The restaurant timings - oops the Room Service timings are from 8 am to 930 pm. So once they are shut, you cant even get water. Not that is just not done. The ordertaker is very rude and just doesnot understand the idea of hospitality. I remember calling them at 9 35 pm and asking for 2 bottles of water - and him telling me," BOSS, IT'S CLEARLY MENTIONED THAT WE SHUT AT 930. HOW CAN I SEND WATER NOW? ITS NOT POSSIBLE." Hello, what happens if any guest checks in at night and needs food?
There are many such instances I would say but only saving grace are the owners - Mr and Ms Thomas. If this place is running well, its only because of them. But they too cant cover for everything.
Do I stay here again? A yes for the room stay but would not eat there as the room and food service is too mediocre.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank virtualcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights at the end of our India holiday and were told on arrival that we were getting an upgrade. The suite was amazing - living room, large bathroom, kitchen and bedroom with walk in wardrobe. We felt really looked after by the owners and all the staff were very pleasant too. It was a little off the beaten track but this did not worry us too much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woopat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
0.7 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#3 of 16 in Anjuna
389 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Tamarind Hotel
The Tamarind Hotel
#2 of 16 in Anjuna
593 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Anjuna
Laguna Anjuna
#5 of 16 in Anjuna
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 65 in Candolim
1,675 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casa Severina
Casa Severina
#9 of 110 in Calangute
542 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Goa Anjuna
Premier Inn Goa Anjuna
#1 of 16 in Anjuna
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda De Goa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda De Goa Resort

Property: Hacienda De Goa Resort
Address: 1669 / 3 Grande Chiuvar, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Anjuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda De Goa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hacienda de Goa Resort is a four star Boutique Resort of 22 Rooms, spread over 2 acres in units called PODS that are all ground plus one structures.We are located in the North of Goa, India - in the village of Anjuna, 39 kms from the Airport, 20 kms from the Capital Panjim. Our nearest beach is Vagator, only 1.5 kms away.All our Rooms are well appointed and furnished to high European standards, Each Room contains a Fridge, Cable TV and Complimentary Tea/Coffee Hampers. Plus free WI-FI is available in and around the Reception areas.We have four Styles of Rooms, that vary in size, Tariff and Amenities. All Rooms have large Double/Twin Bed configurations and really nice and clean attached bathrooms.We are a 4 star property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda De Goa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda De Goa Resort Anjuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing