We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goa in the rains... touched my soul.”
Review of The Banyan Soul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Banyan Soul
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Anjuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Not many visitors visit Goa in the rains... but Goa actually transforms from a party zone to a serene tropical paradise during the monsoon months. I picked The Banyan Soul on the recommendation of a friend and it turned our to be one of the most relaxing trips I'd been on. The Banyan Soul is surrounded by greenery which added a lot of character to the place.
The rooms were nice and clean, the airconditioning and the TV worked fine, and the general noise level was pure silence. My favourite part was sitting on the porch while it rained and sipping on the Masala Tea ordered from the room service menu. I was able to get a lot of thinking done, away from the distractions of the market crash and the recession.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sumeetrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
There are newer reviews for The Banyan Soul
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 242 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2009

We had a chilled out time at The Banyan Soul - a perfect mix of basic modern amenities with a quiet vibe. Each compact room opens to a great little balcony and the feeling that you're the only guests there. It's right behind german bakery - so good food is no more than a minutes walk away. A fab place to experience the quieter side of anjuna. We will definitely be going back!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

went for a vacation to goa and chose to stay at the banyan soul in anjuna.
new property, modern rooms tastefully done, the balcony with each room is a gr8 place to chill, green surroundings with brds chirping in the morning, very friendly staff.
the owner mr. sumit is very helpful with info.
conviniently located behind german bakery.
good place to stay................

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanjayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

courteous, friendly staff....comfortable accomodation, good location, nice front views, close to the beach and just behind german bakery....i think one shud experience this if u do not want anything on the main road, stay away from the noise, but thn again everything is close by....grt for family, backpackers, singles, couples....suits everyone...

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumitsanghvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

It was nearing New Years, and the eternal question was on every one’s mind ... Where do we go for celebrating this New Year ???

GOA was the unanimous choice, and after a quick search on the internet for places to go, we realised that on the New Year's eve, Goa is just unaffordable !! Our usual haunts in Baga & Calangute were not only full, but were atrociously priced. We had given up hope, when someone told us that we should try this new place that has just come up at Anjuna, called the Banyan Soul.
We called up the Banyan Soul, and spoke to the pleasant mannered owner Mr. Sumit Yardi, and got ourselves reserved.
We were 2 couples from Mumbai, 1 couple from Dharwad in Karnataka and 1 couple from the US of A. So all in all, 4 rooms were booked.
We reached there on the morning of 31st Dec 08, and boy were we amazed !! This place is about a 2 min drive from the hustle bustle of the Anjuna Beach, and a very convenient 5 min walk from the famed “flea market”. The place is nestled among lush greenery on a hilltop, and offers the kind of serenity that is very difficult to find in the Party Hub of Goa i.e. Anjuna.
The rooms are small, but very clean and nicely done up with each room offering the option of Air Conditioning, and the usual comforts of satellite TV and room service.
The Banyan Soul has a pretty elaborate menu for Breakfast, Juices, Shakes, & other snacks, but if you want to have a full meal, well... this is not the place for you. But we weren’t complaining, as we had our regular set of food joints that we wanted to visit like the Leela Cafe / Brittos / Souza Lobo / Zenzi Bar etc in and around Anjuna / Baga / Calangute. This place is also next door to the German Bakery (Which is a land mark of sorts at Anjuna) which has an expansive menu for all tastes and time of the day.
Sumit was the perfect and most accommodating host with all the information that we required about North Goa in general and Anjuna in particular. Bikes on rent / Airport Transfers were just a phone call away for him.
All in all, I would recommend this place to someone who is on a value trip, is desirous of a comfortable stay, & wants to be close to the party but not necessarily always in it.
Also, don’t miss the huge Banyan Tree from which the place derives its soul !!
All in all, it was a great refreshing Break for us, and I am already planning the next trip there....

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gPotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

My third honeymoon in the first week of recession hit February, led wifey and me to look for options close by… with Goa springing up as the unanimous choice. By the way - adventure, trekking, roughing it out, staying in tents is not our cup of tea – we like to have a lazy peaceful comfortable relaxing, chatting, dancing to some soft music …. cash flows permitting – a luxurious stay ! A friend back with a nice Goan sun tan, recommended we try this new place called The Banyan Soul at Anjuna in Goa. Its called a retreat – not a hotel, not an inn, not a resort – but a retreat ! With a landmark that said behind German Bakery and a call to its Mumbai based, Goa settled owner, Sumit Yardi – a rather accommodating young turk, to block a room, we set out by train – recession yaar !

A rather expensive taxi ride from Thivim station to Anjuna and we followed some well placed direction boards before Star Co junction in Anjuna to get to the Banyan Soul. Those who don’t know this area – Anjuna, Vagator, Baga, Calangute are the most visited famous beaches of North Goa and even post the popularity of South Goa beaches like Palolem , Bambolim, still attract a large domestic and international tourist crowd. It also makes the accommodation very pricey. Psst… Anjuna used to be known as the topless beach.

First impressions – seemed like a distance away from the main Anjuna hub and looked as if a majestic structure had been plonked rather unceremoniously in the midst of some very green corridor. The offwhite and mango yellow building, houses about 12 basic rooms, with a small sit out for each and a small pathway going onto a common pathway. At the back, towering over this majestic structure, a looming large Banyan Tree - magnificito ! Hence the name ! The place is functional, clean and very practical although not a large estate. Rooms are’nt large again but fairly adequate. For the couples - bathrooms do not have a bathtub but clean hot and cold showers and a clean English WC. All 12 rooms are the same. Bachelors and spinsters would’nt care less, me guesses !

The building has an open rooftop which houses a small kitchen which doles out snacks, breakfast, cold drinks, shakes, rolls, etc . No heavy meals here. But with all those eating joints lining the Anjuna shoreline, why would you want to eat here ? We ate dinner at the Wooden Table Resto(me thinks it was) and albeit a bit pricey for Goa standards – was a great experience ! The sea food at Seahorse on the beach was rather disappointing . Lilliput, Curlies and many other joints serve a good fish fare too – if that’s your thing – Goa and all…..then happy indulgence. Don’t be surprised to find a lot of Tibetan, Israeli, Dutch, French, German, Russian fare on the menu – its to cater to the many regular firangs. Was happy to note that all the infamous incidences at Goa had not discouraged the topless goras / goris from providing a pleasant eyeful…. And I will leave it at that - to avoid giving wifey an explanation for a distracted me at the Seahorse lunch!

The Banyan Soul is a nice, quiet, subtle, little place and my wifey is wailing about this review because she thinks its going to spoil a good secret…. that the Banyan Soul does deliver on its byline - Relax, Refresh , Rediscover. Folks its not a great place to take your kids to… they’ll be bored. There is no swimming pool, no swings, no see-saws or large running areas….thankfully – I would’nt want the place crawling with brawling kiddos killing the serenity ! Its not a great place to listen to loud music too… I hope they ban it…. It’s a great place to sit, chat, breathe, think, read. I wish they would NOT even have cable televisions and ACs in all the rooms although these do have a switch off option on your remotes but unfortunately not to your neighbour’s room.

The beach is not close by – a ten to twelve minutes walk. The German market with its amazing spread of fresh bread and croissants is – a 30 second walk ! The Flea market on Wednesdays is close by ! Suggest you get a two wheeler – available for daily hire - if going for long walks to the beach, in the hot sun is not your thing. By two wheelers the shoreline is a 2 min zip. Sumit Yardi – the young owner of this delightful little place is a congenial guy and is a great help for these arrangements including taxis etc. Dont expect four or five star luxury – you wont get it here ! but if you want to relax and chill at value for money prices, this is really the place to go. Don’t expect a noisy happening place in the middle of chaotic shopper’s paradise or one with night clubs and restos outside the gate. This is far from that and thankfully so ! Places scouted for in the vicinity with the same provisions were frightfully expensive and in the same price lines, were just awfully down market. I think the Banyan Soul – so aptly named - is great for a bit of soul-searching and discovering yourself and a dear one, something most of us never get time and opportunity for! It lets you be … lets you do your thing …. at a pace you decide. No pressure. No stress. No hurry. Now I know why they call it a RETREAT . And so please dont spoil it… I’m looking forward to many weekend breaks there!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelBags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
1.1 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#3 of 16 in Anjuna
394 reviews
0.7 mi away
Laguna Anjuna
Laguna Anjuna
#6 of 16 in Anjuna
232 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Anjuna
Villa Anjuna
#5 of 16 in Anjuna
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Amigo Plaza
Amigo Plaza
#10 of 39 in Salcette
166 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Tamarind Hotel
The Tamarind Hotel
#2 of 16 in Anjuna
609 reviews
22.5 mi away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Banyan Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banyan Soul

Address: No 962 1 Behind German Bakery, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Anjuna
Price Range: $20 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Banyan Soul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Banyan Soul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banyan Soul Hotel Anjuna
The Banyan Soul Anjuna, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing