We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked Away in a quiet corner”
Review of The Banyan Soul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Banyan Soul
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Anjuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Nice hotel tucked away in a corner of Anjuna. All Anjuna hotspots within 5-10 mins. Take note that there is not restaurant in this hotel but then thats what makes it quiet. For the price one pays its VFM for lodging . Dont expect too much and you will not be disappointed. Rooms are fine, a bit on the smaller side and acs could be better but then hey if you want a good hotel you need to pay more right!! if you look at Goa the way we did , interms of using the hotel as a quiet play to crash at the end of the day then this works just fine.German Bakery is just across so you wont go hungry and a lovely restaurant called Michelles makes sure you dont go hungry.. The front lawn is a great place for a lazy smoke with Banksy giving company . Loved the little library and seating at the back

Room Tip: Choose your rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sudip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 245 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed there for 3 nights from Feb 16-19. Nice budget hotel which is a bit difficult to locate initially. Landmark German Bakery. The rooms are well maintained. Comfortable bed.
Get a bike on rental and you will find everything very near. Anjuna beach will be 4 mins by bike and same is flea market on Wednesday.
There is no complimentary packaged water provided for drinking.
The hotel don't have any dinner or lunch facility but then who cares. The German Bakery next door is just great. Awesome food !!
Wifi worked very well.
Only thing which I found annoying is that they didn't clean my room the next day I checked in. When I asked them the second day then they requested me to keep the room keys with them so that they can clean. I guess housekeeping should be using a spare key.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is a place for people who want the best of both Goas - close proximity to the beach while enjoying Goa's peace, calm & scenic beauty. The owner, Sumit, has turned a charming bungalow into a hotel. The location is fantastic, right next to German Bakery so you are always assured of great food :-) Anjuna Beach is also a short walk away - about 10 - 15 minutes on foot.

The rooms are clean and functional - there is a little sit out area in front of each room which is great, and there is a basic kitchen for tea/coffee/quick snacks which is very convenient. We loved the open air book case under the banyan tree - do check it out.

If you are looking at fancy stuff like pool, a great kitchen and luxurious rooms - then this is not the right place for you. The idea is to offer a safe, clean, convenient & affordable accommodation for someone who wants to spend a lot of time exploring Goa - and it works really well. I found The Banyan Soul to be an extremely VFM option for a stay in Goa, and will certainly be considering it again.

What Can Be Improved: The Front Office boys can be a little more responsive - though they are no worse than the average Goan!

Room Tip: It's a small place and from what I could figure, all the rooms are similar with a small porch an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anotherfineday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Awesome yet again. Stayed at this magical property for the 5th or 6th time. Never failed to satisfy. The new Banksy print on the facade wall is a refreshing touch. Sumit & his boys always make you feel at home & take care of all your needs. Thanks guys until next time.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Edwin16970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel via booking.com. person called Sumit called me a day before our arrival and confirm the booking. Hr was worried that as he has not received any advance we might not turn up there so I asked him to forward me his ac no and assured him that our booking is confirm. But toy surprise when I reach panjim n call this person for address he simply replied mam we are sold out for the day. Upon asking what about our booking he simply replied as I was not sure I just gave it to other person. And then he just mwntiome he made arrangement for us in different hotel and he will give call after a min as he is outside. But again he didn't turned up. Because of his irresponsible and unethical behavior I suffered. U had to spend half day searching hotel. Mr Sumit kindly note you are not going to go far with such kind of unethical business running. And lrt e also mention if you don't trust on booking
Com or people making booking via it pls don't advertise yourself in booking.com. I have made 4 bookings till now using booking.com but never met someone like you who confirm booking over phone bit then also cancel the booking without bothering about fate of tourist

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
7  Thank travelhumtum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed here a couple of times over the past few years. It is set back a bit from Anjuna itself- but secretly in the best location! Quiet and relaxed! Next door is the German bakery (see reviews because it is one of the best places in Anjuna!) It is the most relaxed place on earth. Great food, atmosphere and service, and its just a 2 minute walk away. There are also a few little places to eat dotted about near by.
Both times we have hired a scooter which was organised by the staff in the hotel for us and brought to the entrance of the hotel. Its then a 5 minute drive to the beach, market and bank machine. Otherwise a taxi can also be ordered, or they are all a 20 minute walk away.
The rooms are simple but stylish and comfortable, very spacious and great air conditioning! The Banyan tree itself is magical, and when lit up at night is beautiful. There is a reading area/bookshelf underneath if you have a quiet afternoon. If like us, you are visiting Anjuna for a few days to see the market, this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich_and_Christina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I spent three weeks at the Banyan Soul in Jan 2014 and I was very pleased with the stay. The rooms are spacious, clean, air conditioned, and located in a quiet part of Anjuna just by the German Bakery and a 10 minute walk to the beach.
The owner Sumit was extremely helpful and quick to respond to any questions I had.
If you're looking for somewhere quite, safe, clean and well located then I'd highly recommend Banyan Soul.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minbops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
1.1 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#3 of 16 in Anjuna
395 reviews
0.7 mi away
Laguna Anjuna
Laguna Anjuna
#6 of 16 in Anjuna
233 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Anjuna
Villa Anjuna
#5 of 16 in Anjuna
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Tamarind Hotel
The Tamarind Hotel
#2 of 16 in Anjuna
618 reviews
23.2 mi away
Amigo Plaza
Amigo Plaza
#10 of 39 in Salcette
168 reviews
22.5 mi away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Banyan Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banyan Soul

Address: No 962 1 Behind German Bakery, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Anjuna
Price Range: $29 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Banyan Soul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Banyan Soul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banyan Soul Hotel Anjuna
The Banyan Soul Anjuna, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing