We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Calm & Peaceful!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Banyan Soul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Banyan Soul
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Anjuna
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Calm & Peaceful!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is recommended only if you are good with roads because this hotel is situated in the middle of nowhere and is difficult to locate, especially at night. The property in itself is very beautifully done and has descent rooms and a comparatively small bathroom. The breakfast is average. The best part about this hotel is the peace and tranquility it offers add to that a good library under a huge banyan tree decorated with lamps which is mesmerizing at night. The staff is helpful and also helped us in getting a vehicle. Its a good place to stay provided you memorize the way and you own vehicle to move around

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfreakPrathikJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    71
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
14
77
23
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our trip to Goa in the month of March was totally unplanned. We ended up going there for a long weekend. Sumit who owns the place was really accommodating and we enjoyed our stay here. Each room has an entrance from the lawn and a restroom. It's a simple no fuss place. It is right behind German Bakery so there was easy access to some good food. They have a really nice library behind the property. They helped us rent a bike and also suggested some really nice places to hang out very close to this property. All in all we were really happy and I will definitely stay here the next time I am in Goa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vitrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

By an off chance on recommendation from Tripadvisor and friends we contacted this place for a room on our trip to goa. We were lucky to get a room availability as it seems they are always full up (no doubt with the elegance of this place).
This place is a paradise in every sence. I have to say and compliment both the ownder and the management of this place for the effort they have put into the place definitely shows through the character. Built behind one of the landmark place in anjuna : The german Bakery, this place is uniquely very serine in its environmen and ambience. The rooms are definitely very cosy and well equipped with all the luxury of a 5 star hotel : yet the price for the rooms is a real deal clincher.
Me and my wife had the pleasure of being invited for drink with sumit in the courtyard and definitely the warm touch to the place comes from the man running it himself. there is every bit of wow factor when you approach this place as it has a big banyan tree and an open library under it. this is something which caught my eye and definitely mrs. mamtani's as she is a avid reader. The service is top class.
To sum it up as i had already told sumit that not only am I going back to this place but i have recommended it to many other friends who visit goa and look for a nice, comfortable, quiet and budget accomodation. Must visit...

Room Tip: All the rooms have a nice little garden facing to them and all are equally distributed for maximum f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We turned up at Banyan Soul having wandered around Anjuna and decided to stay a little longer. We walked up and the staff were immediately accommodating - we were given a room immediately. Clean, basic, and you're left to get on with your holiday, which was exactly what we wanted. The bathroom wasn't the most comfortable or ventilated, and it would have been nice to have the offer of a change of sheets every couple of nights, but apart from that we loved it: perfect size of room for a couple to share, plain white walls and minimalist design. The location is absolutely perfect - not too far from the beach but not stuck in the middle of tourist-town, and the famous German Bakery is right round the corner for breakfast. There's also a great little reading space on site, with fairy-lights in trees and bookshelves, if you need some time out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulamae_Barnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles, Belgique
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

It is a little piece of heaven in a heavenly place: Goa. The staff is really nice and helpful even if some of them cannot speak English at all, which can be a problem sometimes ;-)
The rooms are really spacious and clean.
The manager is really nice and so is the owner.
It is very close to flee-market and just behind German Bakery, which does not serve the best food in Goa, but is a really chilling place with a very kind staff (and most of them are gorgeous too :p).
The only negative point is: they have no swimming-pool, which would be a must! Hope the will build one soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HerveGhysels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

nice and quiet location, away from major roads but still close to the beach. the hotel has only 12 rooms so the service is much more personalized compared to large hotels. They took us to our room as soon as we arrived so that we could get refreshed, rather than making us wait at the reception to finish their paperwork. The rooms were well maintained and had clean bedsheets and blankets. there were full length windows to let the light in, which also was a nice touch. They even put a clothes rack outside each room where you can dry your swimwear after returning from the beach. :)

Since they didn't have a restaurant, they did provide a basic menu with room service. But there are plenty of restaurants nearby who will deliver to your room so it didn't bother us much. The staff were very courteous. Once we ordered Chinese food from a nearby restaurant but they didn't provide forks, but the hotel staff kindly obliged to lend us their cutlery. The owner also has a tie up with a bike rental company so we had the bikes delivered to the hotel for us. Plus there was free wifi internet in all rooms along with cable TV.

All said, great value for money. Good place to stay for a relaxed holiday. Not fancy like the big budget hotels but definitely has a class of its own.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vj_mehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

There are very few hotels, one likes to visit again and again, and The Banyan Soul in Anjuna is one I would very much like to call a home as that is exactly how I felt when I lived there recently. Not only is Sumit (the guy who owns this place) a great guy but he is a magnificent host. The facilities are top notch and for the price I truly feel its my home away from home.

Room Tip: Take the one under the giant banyan tree, its adjacent to the library and its just magic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshishRaikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
1.1 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#2 of 16 in Anjuna
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Tamarind Hotel
The Tamarind Hotel
#1 of 16 in Anjuna
4.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
1.1 mi away
Apple House
Apple House
#2 of 13 in Arpora
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Amigo Plaza
Amigo Plaza
#8 of 39 in Salcette District
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
8.6 mi away
Lotus Sutra
Lotus Sutra
#1 of 3 in Arambol
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Annapurna Vishram Dhaam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Banyan Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banyan Soul

Property: The Banyan Soul
Address: No 962 1 Behind German Bakery, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Anjuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Banyan Soul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Banyan Soul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banyan Soul Hotel Anjuna
The Banyan Soul Anjuna, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing