We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of The Banyan Soul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Banyan Soul
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Anjuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2012

A great oasis to stay in Anjuna and relax in a quiet place. We loved the banyan tree. This was the first stop on our rtw trip. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. Sumit, the friendly owner, can help you with any question.
Laundry, money exchange, restaurants and motorbike rent are just down the road.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 262 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2012

After travelling around India it was great to arrive at a CLEAN hotel where the owner was on site to ensure my needs were met.He really went out of his way to make my stay memorable. I really recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tossalet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I stayed for 2 night in this Speciality Hotel with wife and the experience was just right.
Its adjacent to German Bakery,Anjuna and hence there's a bevy of things happening around and music does seep in till late hours which could be an issue for those who hit the sac early.
It close to becah and Flea market which I missed as I checked in late on Wednesday.

There's spa facility in German bakery which is 50 meters from Hotel and hence was something which wife was happy about.

Taxis in Goa are a organised lootagency and the one I got through this hotel was no exception. Staff was very helpful and all request for bike.taxi etc were met with minimal fuss.
All in All, would recommend it if plan is to eke out around 2-2.5K per night.

Room Tip: Book room on the side oppposite to entracnce as it has less noise coming form adjacent German Bakery...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Banyan Soul is away from the hustle and bustle of Anjuna but easily accessible by the cheap and readily available moped rentals. The beach and good eating places are walkable. More like serviced apartments, the block of rooms has a lovely shady area under a huge banyan tree with a little library to chill out and a small garden area. The staff were always on hand to help with directions, laundry, advice on parties and places to eat. The manager Sumit went out of his way to ensure we enjoyed our stay in Goa and even helped us get out of a tricky spot when we needed help in booking accommodation in Mumbai. Recommend German Bakery restaurant and Curlies bar nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

The Banyan soul proved to be everything that was promised and more! The location of this place is so peaceful and the proximity to german bakery is a bonus! Its a quaint little place and feels like home.. the rooms are basic but to categorize this place under a basic hotel is a crime.. All rooms are done up in pure white (very clean) and almost remind you of small hotel rooms in santorini.. a small sit outside each room has a beautiful thought.. Staff is very sweet and took care of everything..On one occasion when I asked for directions from one of the staff (i think Gyaneshwar), he even got a map for us and explained the routes in detail.. touching :)
Sumit (owner) was very helpful and took care of all our transports etc. very well

Two things that the website doesnt tell you are :
1) This place has an amazing open library/ sit out under the banyan tree.. It is so beautifully conceptualised that words cant express it! I miss it already
2) Doobie- the cutest and loving dog

Overall banyan soul is the best bet for people who like to live in anjuna..
All in all, a great trip, at a great place.. will go back for sure!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avantika8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Great prices, quiet and very clean, friendly and helpful staff, lovely garden and banyan tree seating area... So many positive points its hard to mention them all separately! A unique and charming place to stay with an excellent location in Anjuna. I stayed there for 6 months last year and have been back again this year! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms are exactly the same, lovely, clean, modern!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcave13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Such a great find! This little hotel is basic but very charming. It's laid-back and serene, away from the main road.

The rooms are modern, well-kept and comfy, with clean bathrooms and fresh towels every day. I loved the private sit-outs overlooking the lawn, and the large sliding doors which made the room feel bright and airy. There's a small library under the banyan tree which is a nice spot to relax with a book and a cup of chai.

The beach and Anjuna Wednesday Flea Market are both within walking distance, about 5-10 mins. The hotel has no restaurant but you can order basic chai, eggs, toast, etc - although service time could get a little 'susegad' :) Being next door to the German Bakery made up for it though - great breakfast selection, good coffee and nice music all day.

Sumit (the hotel owner) is a friendly guy who made sure to personally receive us and ensured we were well taken care of. Be sure to ask him for restaurant recommendations and places or parties to go to. He also arranged for taxis and pick-ups whenever we needed.

Doobie the dog is super sweet & friendly and actually seemed sad to see us go :)

They also have free wifi - a HUGE plus!! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same. East facing rooms get a lot more sun and are brighter in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
1.1 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#4 of 18 in Anjuna
409 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caspia Hotels Goa - Anjuna
0.1 mi away
Nirvana Hermitage
Nirvana Hermitage
#8 of 18 in Anjuna
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Tamarind Hotel
The Tamarind Hotel
#2 of 18 in Anjuna
674 reviews
0.7 mi away
Laguna Anjuna
Laguna Anjuna
#6 of 18 in Anjuna
246 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#54 of 125 in Calangute
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Banyan Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banyan Soul

Address: No 962 1 Behind German Bakery, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Anjuna
Price Range: $18 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Banyan Soul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Banyan Soul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banyan Soul Hotel Anjuna
The Banyan Soul Anjuna, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing