We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome option in Anjuna”
Review of The Banyan Soul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Banyan Soul
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Anjuna
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome option in Anjuna”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. I've stayed in different hotels in Anjuna and nothing beats the comfort and convenience of The Banyan Soul. No frilly superfluous service or facilities offered but excellent air conditioning, roun the clock hot water and a comfortable bed takes care of it all. Gnanaeshwar and Ravi the helps around the police are genuinely helpful and courteous unlike uniformed hotel staff. If there was anything lacking it was the wifi. I am confident that Sumit the host/owner will have that resolved before our next visit. Sumit are you listening :-)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin16970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    86
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
17
95
26
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I stayed here with my partner in May 2011 when travelling down the West Coast of India. I would highly recommend this hotel. It's clean, the rooms are spacious, it's good value and it's a 5 minute walk to the beach. However, the real thing that sets the Banyan Soul apart is the atmosphere created by the hotel's owner, Sumit.

Let's face it, Anjuna is a bit of a party-maze and it's difficult when you first get there to navigate all of the various bars, etc. Sumit has his finger on the pulse of the local scene and knows where the decent places are. He really took care of us and we met some great people whilst out there and had a fantastic time. He also arranged a visit to a spice plantation and to Old Goa.

I would highly recommend the Banyan Soul for anyone looking for a fun stay, but not wanting to stay in a run-down beach hut. Sumit is a really friendly bloke, so don't be shy in asking his advice when you get out there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

I had stayed at the Banyan Soul for 4 nights in April 2011. We were a group of 12 people so it was difficult to please everyone - yet this cozy botique hotel, tucked in Anjuna near the German Bakery managed to do that. All 12 of us had something good to say about the hotel. Personally the best part for me was that it was neat and clean. The fact that this hotel was offered at a great price (INR 1500/NIGHT/ROOM) to us since we went towards the end of the season made the stay even better. The washrooms were well maintained and there was hot and cold water at all times. But I do have two complaints. One about the staff - the one man army Gyaneshwar - although did a great job managing all 12 rooms but yet he was cynically rude about it. He cleaned well but if you ask him to clean post 5pm then rude replies is all you got. Even the hotel owner Sumit could not get Gyaneshwar to work post sundown. Had Gyaneshwar been a little more accomodating I would have given the hotel an extra point in the rating. Second, the hotel needs to something about the power back up. We had to spend the whole of the first night without electricity and if that wasn't enough the electricity kept tripping atleast once a day during the entire stay. All in all will surely visit the place again but this time with two money back riders - a courteous staff and gaurantee that power backup will fully function.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, select any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank varunkumar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

This place is perfect if all you need in Goa is a place to crash in at night. The rooms are average sized, comfortable and neat. While the rooms give the feel of a hotel, the prices are comparable to most guest houses in Goa, so its the best of both the worlds. The hotel does not have a kitchen and provides no room service, but then who wants to eat in a room in Goa!! And the adjoining German Bakery is perfect for a quick bite. But make sure you have your own mode of travel before you book this place. The location is quite deserted. But by car every exciting place is Anjuna is just 5-10 mts away.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nishitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night after leaving another hotel in anjuna and wished we has stayed here for our whole time instead. The highest standard of room I came across in goa, lovely location tucked away in the peaceful anjuna back streets, good value, beautiful gardens, helpful manager who let us check out at 3 without charging us extra. Can arrange taxis and bikes for you. We stayed end of season and there was no food available on site but there were restaurants nearby so this wasn't a problem. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Becksmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Owned by a young guy Sumit from Mumbai, he and his manager Gyaneshwar do an excellent job. The place is away from the crowds, and very close to the super german bakery.

The rooms are clean, great bathrooms, French windows and nice verandas for outer seating. Food made by Gyanshwar is great.

Its the best value for money place to stay at if you have been to Goa in the past, where you need a quiet place and also have a vehicle and move around.

Service, smiles, food, rooms at the best!!

Good going!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluekumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Great hospitality,excellent room service,very much friendly,great comfort in a very reasonable price.

very quiet, clean good quality stay at Anjuna..about a 10 min walk to the beach and right next to German Bakery so good food anytime.

our room was kept clean and fresh towels plus water were always available for the duration of our stay, if we needed anything the staff ( Gyaneshwar) was always willing to accommodate.

Sumit, owner of this hotel....he is a very nice chaap.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soumo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
1.1 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#3 of 16 in Anjuna
390 reviews
0.7 mi away
Laguna Anjuna
Laguna Anjuna
#6 of 16 in Anjuna
230 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Anjuna
Villa Anjuna
#5 of 16 in Anjuna
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Amigo Plaza
Amigo Plaza
#10 of 39 in Salcette
163 reviews
22.5 mi away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#1 of 5 in Betalbatim
394 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Tamarind Hotel
The Tamarind Hotel
#2 of 16 in Anjuna
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Banyan Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banyan Soul

Property: The Banyan Soul
Address: No 962 1 Behind German Bakery, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Anjuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Banyan Soul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Banyan Soul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banyan Soul Hotel Anjuna
The Banyan Soul Anjuna, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing