We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go somewhere else!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poonam Village Resort
Ranked #53 of 65 Anjuna B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I have never checked out of anywhere early but we did from this place. I am by no means a snob and have stayed in plenty of hostels before, but this place was dire. The room wasn't THAT cheap, you can get plenty better for less, and the location is pretty near to the beach but the beaches at this end of Anjuna aren't very nice. The beaches around the flea market area are much, much better, and so are the bars. The beds were horrible and the smell of the dirty quilt was drifting up out of the quilt cover into my face all night. The air con didn't seem to work very well but it still managed to run a river of water into the room and all over our clothes. The worst thing was that water from the toilet leaked out onto the bathroom floor every time we flushed it. The staff weren't particularly friendly and the whole place felt damp, dingy and soul less. We stayed the one night as we'd arrived into Anjuna pretty late at night and had no choice but I'd advise against booking this one.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    17
    7
    24
See reviews for
9
22
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Male
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed here for my first night in Anjuna. The hotel surroundings and pool area are nice and it had good pressured HOT water showers, but thats about it. The room was a bit like a jail cell and the bed wasn't all that comfortable. Fairly good location in-between restaurants and the beach. Decent hotel if you're not a fussy traveller.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed at the Poonam for 3 nights from the 19th February till 22nd February 2014.
What I liked most about this place was the gardens and pool area which had a very relaxed, secure and with nice feel about it..This was complimented by a large screen showing of a recentish film each night. I ate several meals there and though they were not haute cuisine they did the job quite nicely along with the obligatory Kingfisher beer. Whilst the rooms are quite basic, they are secure with all amenities working as they should including air con and TV.
I was able to hire a scooter from the owners, who were very nice by the way.
The only negative was that the free WiFi was weak, however, this has more to do with the area than this particular accomodation.
This is not a 5 star but it does what it says on the tin. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: No suggestions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 77Wes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I landed at Goa at 7am and got a prepaid taxi to Poonam Village Resort, arriving there at 8am. My room wasn't ready, which was understandable as I got there very early! I had some breakfast and chilled out until it was ready. They upgraded me free of charge to a bigger room, lots of space. It was a great place to ease my way into the country! I spent 3 nights in there and I enjoyed the restaurant, which had lovely food and very attentive staff. The swimming pool was nice as well and spent most afternoons in there, reading my book and drinking maaza!

The beach was a 5 minutes walk away, with lots of restaurants and shops along the way.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

HI,

We visited this place last week, simply awesome @ first look. rooms need more up gradation if with family.........!!

u get almost everything here, even bike at reasonable price. just dont expect too much n u will be surprised with what u get.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandylodaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We booked here last minute for the Sunburn festival (last minute as the venue was only announced 2weeks before it started) and this place was really well located. We always knew we would pay over the odds, but for 4000Rs a night we were expecting a great deal more (I believe the usual price is about 1700Rs which would have still been too much) The pictures showed light, airy rooms and a lovely shaded pool. The room we got was dark, mouldy and stank of damp. When we complained to the manager we were told to open the window. The windows were overgrown with plants and open windows in the evening in India is just not possible without being eaten to death!
The manager wasn't interested.
There was a TV in our room which was broken and when we told reception we were told they would have a look tomorrow. We asked to speak to the manager who grudgingly came to our room and swapped the TV out. The power went out several times while during our stay. Not uncommon, but very frustrating.
The room itself was mostly clean (bathroom had a bug issue) and was a good size. There was also hot water which doesn't always happen. But seriously, for the amount of money we paid these were less than minimum. It's the most we have spent on accommodation anywhere in India and was, unfortunately, one of the worst.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirstie0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anjuna hotels

Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

when we checked in to the room it was yet to be cleaned and swept out and there was still some belongings of the previous occupant in the room even though it was obvious that there was more than this room available and we had booked the room in advance and arrived in the afternoon. they got a woman to clean it and she didn't do the best of jobs and when she was done she expected tips. the bed is probably the worst i've ever tried to sleep in and the water tap in the sink was very annoying to handle. the price we payed, 1200 INR a night, does not reflect what you get. the pool is very clean and refreshing and the location is all right close to anjuna beach.

the service in the restaurant was very ineffective and the prices of the food and drinks too high.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesper A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anjuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Laguna Anjuna
Laguna Anjuna
#6 of 15 in Anjuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sai Residency Anjuna
Sai Residency Anjuna
#10 of 15 in Anjuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anjuna Beach Resort
Anjuna Beach Resort
#18 of 65 in Anjuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Paradise Guesthouse
Paradise Guesthouse
#11 of 65 in Anjuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anjuna Pebbles Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Arjun Villa
Arjun Villa
#6 of 65 in Anjuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poonam Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poonam Village Resort

Property: Poonam Village Resort
Address: 658 House No | Near Anjuna Beach, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Anjuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Poonam Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Poonam Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poonam Village Resort Anjuna, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing