We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poonam Village Resort
Ranked #54 of 66 Anjuna B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very basic”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just come back from our trip to India. Stayed at Poonam Village Resort, as early season and very limited options in Anjuna. Room was extremely basic. Hard matress, sheets and towels were dirty (luckily we had brought our own). No toilet paper or any other facilities in the bathroom. Huge hole in the wall of the bathroom which let mosquitos in. No safe to store valuables (wouldn't have left them in there anyway!). When we arrived, the toilet didn't flush, but they fixed this by the time we came back to the room that evening. Wifi didn't work at all during our stay, bar / restaurant wasn't open. Building in bad condition.
In fairness, we were there very early season, so maybe everything was yet to get up an running. Still VERY VERY basic. Only good as a place to get some sleep and have a shower, as well as being a great location close to the beach. Otherwise, I would try and stay elsewhere!

Room Tip: Try and avoid....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie_lou2284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    17
    7
    24
See reviews for
9
22
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed here in december 2011 for christmas and new year.the pool was murky and unclean.the staff were unhelpful and unapproachable.the evening bar staff tried to tell us our drinks were double the price of the menu. They refused to let us watch the tv even though they put it on for whatever they wanted to watch. When we did get the one chance to watch the tv they told us it had to be turned off as it was music time, there were no other customers there apart from us. And later on the tv was back on. (I'm not sure psytrance is what people want to listen to while they're eating, maybe i'm wrong there). The wifi didn't work for the 1st wk we were there and then when it did work was slow as the staff were using it for youtube streaming.a member of staff decided to invite his band to come and practice at the hotel everyday and when we complained they stopped but started again.this was a live band with amps and drum kit.apparently they were practising for a competition, not what i'm paying for. A rave opened up on the field next door for new years, which they complained about but was quieter than their band! The band also took over use of the pool so no other customers could use it. The manager couldn't understand why we were unhappy and wouldn't give us a refund so we could go elsewhere. Staff were arranging drugs for customers and themselves. We asked for a coke to drink were told they would get us one from the shop as run out, 2hours later still no coke. Had to ask again. Room just across from us was being rebuilt, drilling, banging and building work at all hours. Arguments between staff were regular. Heard another customer complain about their bill being over charged.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anjuna hotels

Mumbai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Everything about this hotel was an absolute disaster. The hotel is literally falling apart. Very dirty and smelly linen, horrible horrible service (took about 1.5 hours for a cup of coffee) - their excuse: we dont have enough people, and somebody had to drive to buy coffee.

The pool was filthy. The only good thing was the location but this place is a mess. I paid $30 and I regretted it. really!!! It's NOT worth even $30

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gdonnovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bharatpur, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

I think this hotel is called 'the Village Resort' now - Overall, this place was a 10/10. Lovely location (about 2 mins walk from the beach). The rooms were clean and well stocked (toiletaries, towels, toilet paper etc). Their rooftop is the best part - excellent restaurant!!!

I know I will be back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank applebites2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

My first trip to India. I picked Anjuna Goa, and the Poonam guesthouse by chance, and it turned out perfectly for me. I was very comfortable in Anjuna, and at the Poonam. Traveling alone, I felt safe at the Poonam. It had everything I needed, hot water, fan, ac, frig, balcony, and breakfast. What more could I need? I am returning to the same place this year!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatyCoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anjuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Laguna Anjuna
Laguna Anjuna
#6 of 16 in Anjuna
229 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sai Residency Anjuna
Sai Residency Anjuna
#10 of 16 in Anjuna
31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anjuna Beach Resort
Anjuna Beach Resort
#21 of 66 in Anjuna
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Paradise Guesthouse
Paradise Guesthouse
#12 of 66 in Anjuna
60 reviews
1.0 mi away
Inn Anjuna
Inn Anjuna
#29 of 66 in Anjuna
37 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Banyan Soul
The Banyan Soul
#4 of 16 in Anjuna
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poonam Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poonam Village Resort

Property: Poonam Village Resort
Address: 658 House No | Near Anjuna Beach, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Anjuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Poonam Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Poonam Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poonam Village Resort Anjuna, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing