We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cold Hole in Jessie's never disappoints!”
Review of Jesse's Restaurant

Jesse's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Highway 49
Description: Jesse's is a unique and eclectic dining experience located in the quaint village of Magnolia Springs. Our main dining room is located where the Post office was housed in the late 1800's. Jesse's..."The Steakhouse Destination" for our guest who appreciate dry and wet aged steaks, fresh local seafood and signature entrees from our Executive Chef Jeremiah Matthews. Jesse's has an extensive wine menu with over 100 different wines to choose from and signature cocktails. The new owners, Steve and Angie Coltharp, have worked with their Chef to ensure every item is not only made in house, but is of the highest quality ingredients. Jesse's has been listed by several periodicals: Southern Living, Coastal Living, Mobile Bay Monthly, and most recently Coastal Alabama. Jesse's is casual fine dining at it's best and we are kid friendly. Located 20 minutes from Fairhope, Gulf Shores, Orange Beach just off of highway 98 and highway 49. Call to make reservations or you can make them on line through our website.
Pace, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
“The Cold Hole in Jessie's never disappoints!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Myself along with family and friends have been making the 1.5 hour trip to this hidden gem several times a year.(for many years) We have eaten at Jessie's, which we like, but the less formal Cold Hole is more our style. You have the options of bar seating or tables. TVs spread through-out. Majority of patrons appear to be locals! Always a positive. Several of the servers/ bartenders have been there for years and they are always friendly and helpful with selections.
Now for the food! Great menu..something for everyone. We have never had a bad meal...some better than others..but always solid...yummy, fresh, well seasoned and ample entrees. My husband and I had a favorite entree the past few years... The lamb chops! So tender and juicy. Cooked with a great crunch on the crust and full of flavor! But..they have added a couple dry aged steaks in the past year and it's become our other favorite! Wish all decision were this fun to make! Any seafood special we have had has been just as advertised..fresh.
Worth the drive from Gulf Shores to get away from the overcrowded restaurants.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoggyDollarGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    43
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You should try it”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the beautiful B&B Magnolia Springs in 5 minutes walkimng distance from that restaurant. The service in Jesse's was excellent and the dinner wonderful. They also have a gluten free menu card. Bravo!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
2 reviews
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I had been told for years how good the restaurant was supposed to be. It was mediocre in my opinion, Once our food finally arrived, after an extensive wait, my steak was overcooked and cold. My wife had snapper which she said was good. It will not be on the top of my list when I return to the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Charming setting in South Alabama”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Jessie's is a lovely building in Magnolia Springs, a few miles from Fairhope and about an hour's drive from Pensacola. We arrived at 7:45pm on a Saturday night to find the parking lot and one of the dining rooms full, but several tables available in a second dining room (which was far less charming than the other).

Among the items we sampled, the shrimp and grits was by far the best: superb, with creamy cheese grits, large shrimp, and a sauce full of wonderful flavors. The crab cake suffered from too much filling, detracting from the fresh crab. A stacked tomato caprese salad was beautiful, but the red and yellow tomatoes were lacking in flavor at a time when fresh tomatoes were still in season in the area. The duck and goat cheese spring rolls were interesting, but heavy. A peach crisp was small, but delicate and delicious.

Next time we would probably take the advice of our server and try the beef, which seemed to be a favorite of diners at neighboring tables, or perhaps the fresh catch of the day, which sounded good but over-priced. Most of the steaks are served in very large portions: an option of a six ounce steak would have been appreciated.

Our server seemed eager to rush us through dinner; when we left, shortly after 9:00pm, we realized that the parking lot was empty and we seemed to be the last to leave, so if you plan to dine here, know that the place shuts down early, even on a Saturday night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartsoSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“I highly recommend this place”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My wife and I went last night (9/5/13) for our four year wedding anniversary. We could not have been more pleased. We started off with the prosciutto wrapped mozzarella which was superb. We each had the baby green salad which was great. I had their famous whiskey steak with smoked gouda grits. My steak was prepared perfectly and the grits were an excellent compliment to the steak. My wife had the shrimp and grits. They were jumbo shrimp resting on top of a pile of the smoked gouda grits with conecuh sausage and red and green peppers. All covered with an awesome sauce. We finished with coffee and the best tiramisu we have ever had! We will definitely be back in the near future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MowerManZ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jesse's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing