We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The epitome of southern hospitality: this nostalgic experience will take back to the turn of the 20th century.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magnolia Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnolia Springs Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The moment you enter the quiet little enclave of Magnolia Springs you are the instantly impressed by the impressive oak lined streets. Magnolia Springs Bed and Breakfast just happens to be on the best corner lot in the entire community. Looking out the front windows, one feels like you can just reach out and touch the 100 year old oaks even though they are all on the street edge. However, if you were impressed by the aesthetics of the exterior of this gem, you will be overwhelmed and speechless by the details inside. The Innkeepers are the friendliest hosts you will ever find and the smell of fresh baked cookies immediately caught my attention. A 14 foot meticulously decorated Christmas tree dominated the lobby. I swear there were a thousand ornaments hung on it with everyone of them unique. The stained line tongue and groove paneling inside is amazing but the true gem is the endless supply of ultra rare curly pine adorns every door trim in the house...I've been to many historic homes all over the world and this house showcases the finest examples of rare southern pine I've ever seen anywhere. If you're looking to be spoiled by service, you're in the right place. The innkeepers are a wealth of knowledge about the area and their 3 course breakfast was impeccably prepared with the freshest ingredients available. A stay here is a must if you're in the Gulf Coast region and I will make this a regular stay when I'm in the area. Thank You!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BamaCoug6008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 239 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

We loved the house, the hosts David and Eric, the breakfast, the majestic oaks, the boat tour of the Magnolia River, Jesse's Restaurant was excellent a short stroll down Oak St., and the peace and quiet. Southern hospitality with great class!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingwoolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We spent five days at this wonderful place to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary, it will be something we will remember forever. A wonderful place in a beautiful setting, and to top it off there is Eric and David. From the moment you walk into there home you feel like you are a member of the family, and it does not stop with the welcome. The breakfast everyday is a joy with true southern charm, it starts your day with sunshine and laughter. The inn is both comfortable and breathtaking, our room was a warm place to go after a long day of having fun.
All about the Inn, the food, the location and the architecture are great, but the best part of it all was the warmth shown by David and Eric.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We, a couple from Switzerland, stayed 6 nights in this beautiful bed and breakfast, surrounded by old trees and quietness. The hosts, David and Eric, are the best example for highest standard southern hospitality. The breakfast is prepared by David himself, a great cook; every day you get fresh fruits as entrée and a fabulous second plate which gets you almost through the day. David and Eric are hosts with great passion and heart. They love their house and they care for it which you notice in every single room. The historical, over 100 years old house is in 20 minutes driving distance from the Sea (Gulf Shores) and in walking distance from beautiful rivers on which you can take a ride by boat which we did and recommend warmly. You can see pelicans, eagles, and some times also dolphins and a lot of very nice houses.
As summary: The Magnolia Springs B&B is a place where everybody should go to who travels around that area. We hope to have the possibilty to visit David and Eric once again. Thanks a lot for this wonderful experience. Christine & Kurt, Zürich

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfastboy, Owner at Magnolia Springs Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

We enjoyed hosting you all the way from Zurich, Switzerland. By spending several days in our area, you were able to see and do so much. We have noted your preference for hash-browns rather than southern grits or "porridge" for your next visit...Ha Ha! We'll also cook some royal red shrimp for a tasting of local fresh gulf seafood. Hope to visit your country one day soon. Thank you so much for supporting us and taking time to submit your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Based on other reviews, we made reservations as a stopping point on a trip to Seagrove Beach, FL. We weren't disappointed.

The town was really quaint and the B&B was located on a street that was almost like a cathedral of live oaks. The B&B was well appointed, fitting the town nicely, and laid back. We stayed in the Harding Suite; nice and cool compared to the temperature outside. The bed was great-got a great night's sleep.

After a long drive from Texas, we took a bike ride through town to get a little exercise-quite a varied collection of historical and newer homes all along the Magnolia River many with great views. We were hungry and Eric recommended some restaurants and we ended up eating at the Tin-Top in Bon Secour-a really good choice.

After a great night and an early morning jog through town, David made a fabulous breakfast with plenty of fruit and some evil but tasty apple dumplings. They gave us good directions to Gulf Shore and we were on our way.

Would definitely go back again as a stop along the way and it made me want to explore the area a little more. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BiztravelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed three days for our Fifty year wedding aniversary, What a warm welcome, thought we were with family, David and Eric gave us all the we needed for a fantastic experience, and more. We were walking distance to a great reastraunt, short driving distance for shopping and site seeing.
The House, such a beautiful old home, she was handled with such grace by these two owners, who as you can see love her so much.
We would just sit on the veranda in the mist of these great oak trees each morning and evening just rocking away, watching residence walk by and so very friendly, they would wave and talk as they passed by.

Everthing was fantastic, breakfast to die for each morning something different. Don`t miss the this great B and B it's worth the trip to the Magnolia Springs Bed & Breakfast

Leland and Sally Crochet
Houma,La

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leland C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfastboy, Owner at Magnolia Springs Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Leland, we so much enjoyed meeting you and the wife on your 50th Anniversary. We often host folks from Louisiana. We love LA & hope to visit your B&B in Houma one day soon. Thank you for submitting your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Susan and I would like to thank David and Eric for the most pleasant time we have ever had staying at a place like this. They made us feel at home. They spoil you and serve a breakfast that is out of this world. My mom would say that the greatest complimant was when we licked the plate clean, I was tempted. We will be back.

Thanks Again.
Susan & Lawrence guidry
Houma, La

Room Tip: All are worth the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfastboy, Owner at Magnolia Springs Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for the sparkling review. B&Bs truly offer "A Better Way To Stay". If you felt comfortable and at home, enjoyed the visit and left feeling a little more rejuvenated, then we couldn't be more happy. Please visit us again soon & surrender to the temptation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magnolia Springs
19.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mobile-East Bay/Daphne
10.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fairhope
5.6 mi away
The Hotel Magnolia
The Hotel Magnolia
#1 of 1 in Foley
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Springs Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Springs Bed & Breakfast

Address: 14469 Oak St, Magnolia Springs, AL 36555-6800
Location: United States > Alabama > Magnolia Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Magnolia Springs
Price Range: $149 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and be whisked away from your worries and immerse in luxury. Visit Magnolia Springs B&B, a South Al B&B inn and historic hotel on the National Register of Historic Places known as the "Sunnyside Hotel". Searching for great romantic weekend getaways in Alabama for a honeymoon, anniversary, special occasion or retreat? Be sure to remember us when considering Alabama Bed and Breakfast Inns. Uniquely furnished for your comfort, each of our five guest rooms features original pine walls and floors and has:• luxury high thread count linens• Private baths• Cable television• Telephone• Complimentary high speed wireless internet• Iron & ironing board• Lighted magnifying mirror. Guests also enjoy:• Three-course Southern breakfast• Well-stocked refrigerator in the dining room• Afternoon teas• Evening desserts• Nightly turn-down service. We are your Alabama Beach Vacation Destination Place. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing