We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Flavor!”
Review of Saffron

Saffron
Ranked #24 of 184 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Flavor!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We have been 3 times now and have yet to be disappointed. The chicken tikka masala is our favorite! There are layers and layers of flavor in every dish we've tried - especially the lentil soup! The young man who serves was mentioned in an earlier review as being rude. I disagree, I feel like he is uncomfortable and maybe a little socially awkward - he is a teenager, that's very common. He has come a long way since the first time we went and was very polite and attentive the last time. He is clearly very proud of his talented parents! The young lady that serves is also very charming. A very hard working family! It's also a nice atmosphere and very clean.

Madison is sorely lacking when it comes to decent restaurants, I would love to see our community support one of the few decent places to eat that's locally owned rather than opting to eat marginal food at a chain restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EatGoodFood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    3
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
708 reviews
432 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
“Chicken Curry Take Out”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Last weekend we were at the new ice cream shop across the parking lot from Saffron's and decided to get curry chicken take out. I found the food to be on par with other good curry I've had from Indian joints in the past. I can't speak on anything but take out. $12 per entree. It's the furthest Indian restaurant of the 3 we know of so we won't return often but I believe we will indeed return to try the dining in experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kkibby43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not a fan of Indian but I liked this place”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

I suppose I've had low quality Indian buffets in the past and not liked them. This was different. Food was great with distinctive spices and flavors made to order mild to spicy. Decent service. I plan to go again.

Helpful?
Thank bamasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst Mother's Day Lunch Experience”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We validate other terrible reviews for this restaurant. This restaurant has terrible service as well as the food is not appetizing. We went with our family for Mother's day lunch. The servers were very rude. They were not taking menu orders. The lunch buffet was not tasty and was not up to par. The young server was extremely rude. Instead of having a memorable Mother's Day lunch, we walked out with very bad taste in our mouth. My advise is to save your money and go some where else. We will not visit this restaurant again.

Rakesh Gupta

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RKG2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
1 review
“First experience with Indian food and I'm addicted for life!”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

My husband and I first tried Saffron when it first opened and we have been addicted to it ever since. Now its our weekly sunday brunch. Not really sure where the negative comments are coming from because every single time we go, our servers are always smiling, our plates are always cleared out, and our water glass are always filled. The food is excellent and the variety of vegetarian dishes is outstanding, just come early because a lot of people do come for the lunch buffet and you don't want to get in line and there's no food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sensibleFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing