We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Obviously fresh and handmade”
Review of Famous Joe's Pizzeria - CLOSED

Famous Joe's Pizzeria
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Obviously fresh and handmade”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

First experience with this restaurant . We had this delivered. Even with effects of delivery still good.
I can't wait to now have dinner at restaurant. It will have to be fabulous if delivery was this good.
We ordered Hand breaded mozzarella sticks and specialty margarita pizza.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Llcbarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sylacauga, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“pizza and beer”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

went for lunch on a Saturday. plenty of TV's for watching football. had pizza which was very good. the handmade crust and fresh ingredients is the reason. they have several local beers on tap that are very good. not fine dining, but very good food. i'll come again when in Madison.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dex49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Food is good but...”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was our second visit to this restaurant and we enjoy the food but the service today was very lacking. There did not seem to be a dedicated person at the order counter like our last visit who told us how lunchtime service was handled. Someone came from the kitchen and took our order and was very abrupt with my husband when he was ordering and gave no explanation as to how things worked there at lunch time. It was lucky for us that we knew what to do from the first time, went to the serving station to get silverware, napkins and plates. The woman in the booth behind us was not so lucky, had received her pizza slice on a wooden oven paddle and until she saw me go get our service items she had no napkins etc. The man that brought her slice just sat it down and left. She told us she was so glad to see me go get the napkins cause she had no idea where they were. I know they were busy, but the man who brought her slice could have taken 2 seconds to say "napkins and plates are over there" Enjoy your pizza. But no, just sits it down and states what it is, slice of cheese pizza and walks away.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petunia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
471 reviews
403 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“First Trip Impressive”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a casual place where you order at a window and seat yourself. Drinks are vended from the order window. Located in a large strip mall so there is plenty of good parking. There are tables and booths in this large, clean interior. We mentioned this was our first trip and were given a free appetizer which was garlic knots, small dough knots covered with bits of garlic and what seemed to be a garlic & butter sauce, on the side was a red sauce. We ordered a large 16" custom pizza with ham, Italian sausage and mushrooms. When it arrived, it was much larger than 16" and on a thin crust with a decent amount of toppings. The garlic knots were decent, the pizza very good to excellent with a light amount of sauce, a good chewy crust and excellent flavorful toppings. We ate our fill and ended up taking about half of the meal home. I think the large would be ample to feed four. Our cost was $26.08 which included two drinks with tax not including the tip. The girl at the window (who also delivered the pizza) was very helpful and pleasant. We noticed they offer calzones, pasta, salads and have a bar. Several unusual pizza combinations are listed on the menu. We will return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Pizza!!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

By far the best pizza in Madison/Huntsville area. Every time I eat at Famous Joes it brings me back to the food I so enjoyed in Italy! We frequently Famous Joes about once and week, the staff is so friendly and welcoming and the food never disappoints!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Joe's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing