We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doors would not lock!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Huntsville Airport/Madison
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Madison
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
1 review
“Doors would not lock!!”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We reserved 2 rooms for 4 and 5 night stays for out of town family. Both rooms experienced the same problem, the doors would not lock. Maintenance had to be called every morning before leaving the rooms so they could be secured, then upon return and after the maid service had come through the doors would be found to be unlocked. The management was unapologetic and unprofessional. They actually accused our guests of being negligent and not closing the doors correctly. They would not accept any responsibility for the defective doors and we found them to be arguementative and abrasive. They took the position that if nothing was stolen, then no harm no foul. The rooms also have thin walls and the noise from other guests can be heard which makes for poor sleep quality. After several face to face discusions and phone calls they finally gave our families a $40 discount for their stays, but this was only after they learned that my wife and I live here and we're in a position to hurt their business. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    78
    81
    44
    35
See reviews for
137
44
18
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
215 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for business. It was nice to have a Ruby Tuesday and a Cracker Barrel in the parking lot. Other than that, the room was ok, but you could hear through the walls.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MO_outdoor_adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
596 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

I hate not giving a hotel the highest rating and I really have to have a good, valid reason to do so. Not something like "there wasn't an elevator" or "they didn't take pets", all things that a person should know by reading the information about the hotel. This was a good hotel, in need of some simple, inexpensive, things that would really make it much, much better. I had assignments in Tanner and Huntsville, AL and Madison was right in-between those two cities. It was the perfect location for me, I just wish I would have had a better experience for the four nights that I spent at this hotel.

The general condition of the room was good and it was clean and bed was excellent and it had one of the most comfortable pillows that I've ever had in a hotel. But, the bathroom wasn't as clean as I've come to expect in modern hotels. There were several hairs all over the floor like whomever was cleaning the floor wasn't really paying attention to, and turning, the rag that they were wiping the floor with. There was also a greasy film on the flat surfaces like they were "cleaned" but not wiped dry to polish the surface. Also, the bathtub was thee most slippery surface that I've ever experienced. I would highly recommend asking for a bath mat if you can, it's seriously a harrowing experience taking a shower in the tub in the room that I had. Maybe other rooms don't have this trouble, but it was over-the-top slippery with no rough surface or anti-slip tape or anything on the bottom of the tub. The greasy film on the surface added to the shower fright. The shower faucet handle was on the verge of falling off and all it needed was to be tightened with a screwdriver, another thing that really should be checked, and fixed. There were a few little things like that, that added up to a disappointing stay for me.

The public stairs weren't vacuumed or even swept in the four days that I was there. I was on the verge of doing it myself and probably should have, just because sometimes a person has to do the right thing themself if they want to get the job done. The same dirt and leaves and cigarrette butt and dried, coiled worms were on the floor every time I went in there. I'm a stair person so I always take the stairs. Sometimes they're as clean as the rest of the hotel, in this case, not so much.

The workout room was excellent with a reclined exercise bike, an eliptical machine, and a treadmill, all in front of a nice flat-screen tv. They also had a rack of dumbells which was a very nice touch. The outdoor pool, unfortunately was closed. I never did find out why but I would have used it if there wasn't a sign on the door saying that it was closed. The temperature was in the 60's and 70's so I was hoping it would have been open.

The TV worked great, but there were limited channels like the very basic cable service was chosen. I always work for hours at a time in my hotel rooms and have the TV on in the background and it was disappointing for one of the most high tech areas in the world (the Huntsville area) to have a hotel with such basic cable in the rooms. And, speaking of disappointing technology, my wireless was one of the slowest that I've experienced, and, in fact, quit working the entire last day that I was there. As I mentioned, I work from my room for hours at a time and after trying and trying to get it to connect; re-boot after re-boot, I finally had to go down to the front desk and get a cable to connect to the wall outlet. That worked great and helped me finish my project. It was touch and go there for a while. I admit that I should have had a backup cord with me but I've never needed one before.

The breakfast was good with some "folded egg" patties and sausage patties, packets of oatmeal, cereals, excellent green tea, which was appreciated. I prefer hard-boiled eggs to these "egg products" because I know hard-boiled eggs are real and don't have any added ingredients or trans-fat or sodium, etc, in them.

Unfortunately, unless I was in a pinch, I probably wouldn't stay at this hotel again, mainly because of the horrendous door-slamming noise. The front desk woman was super nice as was the gentleman there when I left. There is a Ruby Tuesday's and a Cracker Barrel right there if a person is interested in such restaurants, otherwise there is a wealth of restaurants and fast food places and grocery stores and shopping right across the freeway a two-minute drive away. It's a really great area with lots to see and do.

Room Tip: Be prepared for some of the LOUDEST door-slamming that you've ever heard. I simply can't be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottyG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2011

This hotel was perfect for our stay! It's located right off the highway and super close to the airport, hotel was beautifully decorated and clean..smelled great also! Hotel staff was very helpful on giving us recommendations to the local restaurants and directions to where we had to go everyday. I will definitely be staying here when I visit Huntsville again. Room was comfy, shower was great..we had hot water. Breakfast was wonderful, it was nice to have sausage and eggs at a free continental breakfast. Mostly impressed by the staff, went out of their way to make sure everything was satisfactory!

Room Tip: Noticed this hotel constantly has great deals on suite rooms if you book them online through their w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

My family stayed at the Baymont in Madison,Al May 13-15. This is the second weekend we have spent at the hotel. Saturday morning I took a shower and the water was cold. I called the front desk and reported it.

Sunday morning I experienced the same cold shower. I spoke to the clerk and he said he had told management multiple times and explained any time they book more than 30 rooms there was no hot water for showers in the morning. He insinuated this was a ongoing issue and the management was not acting.

We asked to speak to the manager and were told the manager would be there in 15 minutes. Over two hours later we explained the situation to what we were told was the manager and after explaining it she told us she was the assistant manager. Interestingly we had asked for the name of the owners and this assistant manager was one of the two owners.

We were told the manager would be calling our hotel room in 30 minutes. No one ever called and we spoke to the "assistant manager" 3 more times. I was finally able to talk to the manager that afternoon about 2:30 via phone after we had already checked out. He discounted our rooms but insisted he had no problem and that no other customers had complained. I know that to be false as my mother was speaking with the clerk when another guest explained he had no water at all and we spoke to other guests about the cold showers at breakfast.

In addition the side door 20 feet from our room was unlocked. The door had one of those bars you push in to open the door and they had placed packing tape over it so it wouldn't lock. Anyone could walk into the hotel bypassing the front desk and the camera. I've stayed in many hotels and that would be acceptable at none of them. I took video of this and will be sending it to the corporate office.

The hotel is poorly run. My mother woke up early and finding the cream curdled had attempted to find a employee just after 7:00. She rang the bell and knocked on the door and was not able to find anyone. The breakfast ran out of milk before the 9:00 (early) cut off and we were told they were out of milk. There is a gas station with milk within 70 yards of the hotel entrance but no attempts were made to resupply the hotel. There were several beer cans and other trash in the parking and some just outside the side door mentioned above. They were not picked up during the 48 hour period we were there.

The explained I would be reviewing this hotel and calling the corporate office and the manager told me I could call "Washington D.C." The manager spoke poor English and was rude to me and my mother. According to him he does not have a problem and no other guests complained about the hot water. However a quick glance at the reviews on hotel.com show at least two people going back to November 2010 have complained about the same issue.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chamac45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madison hotels

Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I stayed here mainly because after several tornadoes went through the area, the hotel brought in a generator so there was power (most hotels in the immediate area did not). The room seemed recently refreshed; the carpeting was nice and things felt new. My room was a suite so there was a little kitchen with a stove and real refrigerator, but no dishes or cooking utensils or even soap so it was kind of worthless. The matress and pillows were rock hard. The floors were thin, so I heard every footstep of the people in the room above me. Despite the new feel of the place, the towels were dingy and threadbare. Free wi-fi worked very well. No convenient outlet by the bedstand to plug in a cell phone overnight (pet peeve of mine).

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EEpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2010

We headed down to Huntsville, AL for a family wedding. We had booked 2 king bed suites from the Baymont Website. It looked like a great deal! When we arrived at the hotel for check in, we asked for adjoining rooms. They advised that they only had queen bedding in the adjoining rooms, so we took them instead. Once we got to the rooms, they were NOT suites and when we questioned it they said that they didn't have adjoining suites of any kind. After consultation with the rest of our family, we decided to swtich to the suite rooms. At that time, there was a different employee at the front desk and she advised that they did not have King bed suites at all at the hotel and that there weren't enough suites to satisfy our booking. We asked to see a suite, in order to decide if we wanted to switch one of the rooms and that's when we found out that the suite she let us see what adjoining to the one beside it! Perhaps the people working at this hotel should be a little more educated with their product! The kicker was that the people who checked into the adjoining suite checked in AFTER us and we could have had what we had asked for, however the customer service was awful so that didn't happen. We were also not impressed with breakfast... it was very random and as the week went on the options went from bacon and eggs and fruit and a variety of yogurt to simply plain yogurt, toast, and coffee. I would NOT stay at this hotel in future and NOT recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCat80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Madison-Huntsville Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison
Hampton Inn Madison
#1 of 13 in Madison
355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Huntsville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Huntsville Airport Madison
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison
0.9 mi away
Madison Inn and Suites
Madison Inn and Suites
#13 of 13 in Madison
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Huntsville Airport/Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Huntsville Airport/Madison

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Huntsville Airport/Madison
Address: 122 Cleghorn Blvd, Madison, AL 35758-8806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Huntsville Airport/Madison 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Huntsville Airport/Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing