We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's getting worse”
Review of The Rutledge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Rutledge Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Luverne B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stay here a couple of times a year because we have relatives in the area. Usually a friendly desk person. Perhaps a one of but this last time was a mess. Apparantly the night before they had a full house so many rooms were not ready to be let. We had our 93 three year old mother with us and wanted adjoyning rooms. Although that night they had only about 10 guests, they could not find two rooms together. Probably no one available to clean the rooms. When breakfast came around the waffle maker was not working properly. The attendant/desk clerk, a young lady said it worked before but the batter ran out and that was that. The vending machine was out of water and would not refund the full amount put into it. The young lady also tried to get it back it was a quarter short.obviously not a big thing and one would think that she would offer to give us the quarter out of her register but she stood there as if to say oh well! The rooms have old tube type tv's. They charge a holiday inn express rate, a much better hotel in Mongomery an hour away. Obviously, except for some b and b's they are the only game in town. We will stay ther one more time in case this was a one off. If the next visit is similar we will just stay in montgomery and take the extra hour ride.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justthefcts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 30 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

We booked this hotel because of convenience and a pool,There was no pool as stated and the coffee pot was broken..I booked this hotel for my girl and grandkids to have a nice time on the island.Instead they had no pool to enjoy as it was stated and the coffee pot was broken.It is a shame to disapoint kids that are looking forward to a swim,the pool had been closed for a couple years but the advertisement is with one..Also it should not state it does and the avertisement should be corrected before others come to visit and only find disapointment.We will not book with your hotels if this complaint is not handledI wrote the main office..The air conditioner leaked so the kids had to walk in wet flooring.AS you can tell this was sent to main office but nothing handled with our complaint so I am posting.Thank You

Room Tip: STAY AWAY from this hotel,to many things broken and customer service is not going to handle complain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bee0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

When I arrived they could not find my reservation even though I had a confirmation. The very nice lady said mo problem we can fix that and for your trouble she gave me a reduced rate. The hotel was clean, rooms were musty. In this heat need to have air conditioner on in rooms. They had. Wedding party there over the weekend who left a lot of there rooms still needing to be cleaned. My toilet seat was even lose. Bed slept good and pillows were fine. In the morning I was the last customer to check out and the coffee was gone so the lady running everything made me fresh coffee nod even offered to make me a waffle. Felt like I was at home. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has no competition so there is no reason for them "to step it up" - at least in their opinion. Not to mention the "offshore" resident covered in tats and asking people for money at the front door. Continental breakfast was stale. Don't stay here again unless absolutely necessary.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank AmyC522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This property is a good place to stay if you find yourself in Luverne or Rutledge Alabama! Clean rooms and lobby, usual sweet rolls and cereal for breakfast, and friendly staff make this a real value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

GuestHouse Inn is south of Montgomery, AL. located in the country. Nice clean hotel and big rooms. All the rooms have a small refrigerator and some have microwaves. The breakfast consist of the normal cereal, muffins and waffles, nothing special. We were in town for a relative's wedding. They got married at the Old House at Meriwether. That is the only reason we stayed here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcgatormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I found this to be a great place for our trip, it came recommended by a friend and the rooms were very clean and the staff was wonderful, not expected to find this quality of lodging in such a small town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luverne
18.3 mi away
Best Western Troy Inn
18.1 mi away
Quality Inn of Troy
22.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Greenville
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutledge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutledge Inn

Address: 1701 Montgomery Hwy, Luverne, AL 36049-4509 (Formerly GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rutledge)
Location: United States > Alabama > Luverne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Luverne
Price Range: $66 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Rutledge Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Rutledge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing