We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveler rating
10
16
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
16
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews panama city beach sweet rolls waffles fresh fruit one night stay room was clean cereal montgomery opp florida
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 32 of 32 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Here's the deal - between Montgomery AL and the Emerald Coast there aren't many places to stay. We live in Nashville, and leaving to go to Panama City Beach after work on Friday means that it's good to find a place to split the travel up. It's a 5 hour drive to Luverne, AL - perfect.

The GuestHouse is not a fancy hotel. But for $65 total for a two-queen-bed room we got a good deal. It was clean, the room wasn't cramped at all, the amenities were fine, they fed us breakfast. The breakfast was sparse, by the way, just continental. Oh well.

Let's face it - nobody is coming here to see beautiful Luverne, Alabama. This is a bed on the way to Florida. And for that it served the purpose well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mdchaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was adequate, with waffles, cereal, pastries, and oatmeal. One yogurt and an apple available. Room appeared clean, with no mystery smells. Beds slept very well. Compared to the $129 rate up the road, a $60-something stay here was exactly what we wanted! Our only concern was the "company" that hung out in the lobby and parking lot. Can't complain about the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

The GuestHouse Inn is one of the cleanest, nicest Inns in all of South Alabama. The owners are supernice people who will go out of their way to make your stay a pleasure. I always make it a point to stay at this location any time I travel to Luverne.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samtuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

My spouse and I were traveling for business and pleasure, so our schedule was tight and we were tired! We settled in on a dark, rainy night and it was so quiet and comfortable. Suddenly we realized that our heater didn't work. We called management and they checked the problem and immediately relocated us to a very nice room with their apologies. The "help" was cordial and professional and very personable and friendly. The breakfast bar provided a nice warm meal to help us brace the inclement travel. (Also, the little BBQ restaurant right on the grounds provided delicious, affordable food for dinner that evening, so we didn't have to travel far or eat fast food.)

Finally, inasmuch as the Rutledge Inn is now run under the auspices of Best Western, I have to say that it has retained the flavor of a locally run, friendly hostel for travelers. We would recommend this little "bright spot on the highway" 100%. It doesn't have that franchise feeling. It's a real 'home away from home'.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AikenSouthron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews