We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Greek in Alabama? Yep, y'all Come get it!”
Review of Olive's Torch - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Olive's Torch
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Tuscumbia, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic Greek in Alabama? Yep, y'all Come get it!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

A Greek couple moves to Alabama...

No, it's not the beginning of a bad joke. But it does explain how an authentic Greek restaurant wound up in the middle of nowhere in Alabama. If you're tired of the same old thing, Olive's Torch is worth the drive. The decor could use a little help but if you look past the nondescript atmosphere and have a seat, you will be rewarded with one of the best meals you can have in this area. And for less than $10 a plate, I might add. Another little tip: Thursday night's special is lamb and potatoes.

Plus, you'll get to hear a bit of the Greek language as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food beats the ambiance”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Overall, this is a great place to eat. The food has always been fresh and delicious. It is clean but not elegant, but you'll return for the food. The Sunday baked chicken special is fantastic and the Greek potatoes must have something magical on them....who knew a potato could be so delicious. Really good pita bread. We had the Thursday lamb also; not my favorite but my friends loved it. Nice baklava, gyros, salads. Give them a try.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreenIsMyFavColor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscumbia, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Ate there with my family a few nights ago. The food was incredible! The service could have been a little bit better, but I think they were just getting their feet under them. I had the pork gyro and it was fantastic. We also had the baklava for dessert and it was out of this world. I have hoped for a Greek restaurant in the Shoals for a while and I'm so glad this one doesn't disappoint!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonalVision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Authentic Greek in NW Alabama”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here twice. This restaurant has no frills, but it has authentic Greek food. The owners are Greek. They are from Greece and have only been here a short time. I have tried the kababs, gyro, pita, baklava, and greek salad. All are delicious. On Sundays they have a baked chicken special which looked wonderful (but I had gyro on my mind that day). And, on Thursdays they have lamb (can't wait to try it). My only complaint is that the booths are a little tight, so next time I'll sit at a table. It is well worth the drive from the Shoals to Leighton. (FYI- It is in the old Four Winds Restaurant.)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthernGirlFromAla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, AL
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“This little place has a great deal of potential”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

It's a 20 minute drive from the Shoals tops. But it's easy to find. The location being a little out of the way doesn't offer a loy of frills, it really doesn't offer any. It has the appearance of a road side dinner freshly painted. What is exceptional is the offerings on menu, and it's growing, according to the owner on a weekly basis. The Shoals area struggles a bit for options. Yes, we have a few places that have offered gyros or even Greek salads, but not spinach pie and kebabs. Not homemade baklava that is to die for delicious.
They serve up a plateful. Prices on meals run $7-$13. They are working on obtaining a wine and beer license. And the owner promises the addition of stuffed grapeleaves and other stuffed vegation, soon. I'm willing to keep checking in.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Americana29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing